Hypocrisy for thee

Boom! Due to overwhelming and exhausting commitments in meatspace I’ve been forced to take a few days off blogging, but there’s always somethchoices2-copying (arrgh! there’s always something!) that drags me back to it.

This time it’s Sarah Palin’s sorry-ass admission that despite her absolutist anti-abortion position when it comes to other women, she herself considered aborting her last pregnancy:

Palin revealed more Thursday night, saying she was traveling when she got the result of the amniocentesis that revealed the chromosomal abnormality.

“There, just for a fleeting moment, I thought, I knew, ‘Nobody knows me here. Nobody would ever know.’ “

Palin has long been a staunch supporter of abortion restrictions, and she pointed to her own “moment of doubt” to illustrate her support for carrying pregnancies to term, regardless of the circumstances.

“Just for a fleeting moment” — though one couldn’t be blamed for wondering what kind of speedometer measures as “fleeting” a time period long enough to include considering amniocentesis, having the test, and waiting for results. (By those standards my truck breaks the sound barrier in 2nd gear.)

Amnio is typically done on older pregnant women, and it’s done for one reason: to determine if there are fetal abnormalities so the pregnancy can be terminated if the woman so chooses. It also carries some risk to the fetus, whether it’s normal or not. It’s definitely not the kind of test someone would get if they were determined to carry a pregnancy to term regardless of fetal disposition, the prevailing attitude of anti-choice absolutists like Sarah Palin.

So it doesn’t look like Palin greeted this pregnancy with the unequivocal, unrestrained joy that she thinks should be the only choice for other women.

Some call this “hypocrisy” and I can’t say I disagree. We know all about this “choice for me but not for thee” routine.

It’s irrelevant that Palin ultimately chose to carry the pregnancy to term — the operative word is “chose“. Sarah weighed her options and made a choice, in a situation where, according to her, there should be no choice other than delivering a baby.

And that’s hypocrisy, with a capital “H” and a capital “YPOCRISY“.

26 Responses to “Hypocrisy for thee”


  1. 1 Torontonian Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    I said elsewhere that I’m surprised she didn’t let her
    husband know she was 11 weeks pregnant. I thought that’s
    what married couples do, SHARE!

    If she’s devious and secretive around her husband, can
    anyone trust her about anything at anytime?

    Would you want her to inherit the “football” when the
    president dies and she decides to go off the deep end?

    She’s gone off the deep end enough times to make
    Esther Williams envious.

    I love my avatar at this blogsite. It’s a very
    accurate depiction of me. Thanks, JJ.

  2. 2 JJ Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Torontonian – There were a lot of indications that Palin was anything but pleased with the pregnancy. She went to great lengths to keep it hidden, and then there was that bizarre incident where she flew around the country leaking amniotic fluid, which isn’t what most pregnant women (who cared about the pregnancy) would do.

    This isn’t too surprising, really. I think it was at Andrew Sullivan’s blog where I first read that she’d had amnio, and I thought: “Busted.” But that was during the election campaign and there was so much else going on, nobody really focused on that.

    She’s a hypocrite. Which should surprise no-one.

    Re the avatar — unfortunately I can’t claim to be the creative genius who comes up with the avatars. WordPress assigns them automatically to each IP address or email. (How is it an accurate description? Do you have a tail??)

  3. 3 Torontonian Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    I have no tail but I can get an angry expression and clenched fists and–with words–I stick my tongue out when angry.

  4. 4 JJ Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    :lol: You stick your tongue out when you get angry? :lol:

  5. 5 Torontonian Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    What I meant was that my words are equivalent to sticking out
    my tongue. Kill them with words. Sorry if I didn’t make it
    clear the first time round.

  6. 6 Reality Bites Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I bet women try to get him angry during sex.

  7. 7 fern hill Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Ooh, SHE’s riled. Sez I’m moving goalposts. I didn’t make it past the first para of this.

  8. 8 JJ Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    RB – :lol: Oooh, angry sex. Is that like a grudge fuck?

  9. 9 JJ Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    fern hill – She’s losing it, she’s becoming incoherent. Next up: that picture she posts repeatedly: “LOOK! Brains sucked out! This is what Teh Feminists support!!!”

    I wonder why this bothers her so much. I was half-kidding when I said something in the other thread about it being daunting to have role models compromised. But now, my goodness SaWah, look what you’ve wrought — Big Blue Meltdown! :lol:

  10. 10 fern hill Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    It’s a girl-crush. But a little naughty. SaWah is a fundy, SHE is a fundy catlick. Quelle scandale!!!!

  11. 11 JJ Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    fern hill – I think you’re right, nothing else could explain the incoherent diatribe you’ve set off. She’s going apeshit! She’s not even making any sense in that last little screed.

    Well, enough of this. We must get back to the endless task of conning people into keeping abortion legal. (Huh!??) :lol:

  12. 12 fern hill Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    I just commented at HER place. Maybe this strong reaction has to do with HER amniocentis test that SHE then had to wrangle with.

    It does seem out of proportion, doesn’t it, even for HER?

  13. 13 JJ Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Did she have an amnio? Isn’t she a little young for that?

    I don’t know when they start offering them to women — I was 37 when I was trying to get preg, and my doc told me I was at the age where I should probably have one. I didn’t think SUZANNE was that old.

    Her reaction does seem way out of proportion, extreme even. Hmmmm…

  14. 14 brebis noire Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 2:26 am

    BBW is obviously very conflicted about SP. Loves the f-fetishism, disdains the fundy-ism. Loves the fact she gets so much attention wherever she goes, hates that she’s mostly incoherent and ridiculous, and losing it politically in Alaska.

  15. 15 brebis noire Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 2:31 am

    Also – I can’t believe BBW thinks that most women don’t know the risks of amnio. That is just false – women have been well-advised of the risks for years – I’ve known about them for a long time, and I was never even offered one. I think I read about it in Reader’s Digest or something; and anyways, it is common knowledge among pregnant women.

    When I was pregnant at 32 I was offered a blood test at one point, but the doc told me it had too many false positives to be really useful as a diagnostic test for chromosome abnormalities, so I opted not to have it. I’m pretty sure the blood test is used routinely prior to amnio, so I’d bet that SP had that as well.
    (Am I a hypocrite for being pro-choice and refusing a pre-natal diagnostic test? ;-) )

  16. 16 Reality Bites Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 3:14 am

    If fundies are against having brains sucked out, why do they all watch Fox News?

  17. 17 JJ Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 6:32 am

    brebis

    BBW is obviously very conflicted about SP.

    I agree. Whether BBW admits it to herself or not, it should be obvious to anyone with a functioning brain stem that Palin is, above all, a political opportunist. Apart from the hypocrisy, this whole abortion “confession” has the sound of a fundie dog-whistle in the “We are all sinners” vein. Sarah was tempted, she resisted, therefore she’s even more pure! It’s twisted and it’s bullshit, but that will be how it’ll be read by the fundies. Palin knows she’s lost the support of the upper-tier GOP — now she’s reaching out to the fundie base.

    As far as the amnio goes, there’s no way Palin was unaware of the risk, absolutely no way. The fact that she’d have amnio at all means she wanted to keep her options open — I guess her anti-abortion absolutism only applies to everyone but herself.

    And no, it’s not hypocritical to refuse the test if you’re pro-choice — that’s your choice. But it’s extremely hypocritical to HAVE the test if you’re ANTI-choice.

  18. 18 JJ Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 6:34 am

    RB – Frankly, I don’t think most fundies have to worry too much about having their brains sucked out ;)

  19. 19 Reality Bites Sunday, April 19, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Well they do have some more internal logic than the followers of mainstream religion, who believe the bible is a big fairy tale up until the point where it starts saying things they like, at which point it becomes true.

  20. 20 JJ Monday, April 20, 2009 at 6:09 am

    RB – … until it starts saying things they don’t like again, at which point it reverts to being a fairy tale. Repeat as necessary.

    I get it! :lol: It makes perfect sense.

  21. 21 Reality Bites Monday, April 20, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Well not entirely. When they atart to disagree again they reinterpret or apply historical context, etc. But lots of stuff, particularly in the Old Testament, is considered by all non-lunatic people to not even have a grain of truth in it. Adam and Eve, parting of the Red Sea, the flood, Methuselah living 969 years (along with other impossible lifespans).

    As my ex was told by his religion teacher in Catholic high school, way back in the late 70s or early 80s, “Adam and Eve is a fairy tale for children.”

  22. 22 JJ Monday, April 20, 2009 at 7:15 am

    :lol: That’s what always makes me wonder how fundies & catholics can get along.

    Battling mythologies — the dinosaur-riding Jesus contingent versus worshippers of celibate old men in dresses and funny hats. Works for me ;)

  23. 23 Joe Agnost Monday, April 20, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Having sworn to never visit BBW again (so far so good!) I just have one question:

    is suzzie all-caps upset at SP or is she supporting her?

  24. 24 mouthyorange Monday, April 20, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    JJ – … worshipping celibate old men in dresses and funny hats and the morbid icon of a poor old soul cruelly nailed to a cross. If that isn’t sad and disturbed, I don’t know what is.

  25. 25 JJ Thursday, April 23, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Joe – Sorry I missed your comment, I’ve been smokin’ busy all week and too exhausted to even look at my blog most of the time.

    Anyway, SUZANNE supports SP. Her logic is that SP was “tempted” but rejected temptation, proving that she is even more pure and pro-lifey.

    I call BS of course, it’s hypocrisy of the highest order. But there’s another element to this story that’s been overlooked — SP’s confession is a dog whistle to the Christianists, who believe that the evil world is beset with temptation and resisting it is proof of one’s godliness. SUZANNE is just falling right in line with this.

  26. 26 JJ Thursday, April 23, 2009 at 8:26 am

    orange –

    worshipping celibate old men in dresses and funny hats

    Don’t forget the Prada shoes ;)


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 618,742
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

