Not like the other

Mich. Shooting Suspect Cuts Arm While in Jail - ABC News_1252807176205When Harlan Drake, the suspect in the double murder in Owosso yesterday, arrived at his new home in the county jug,  one of the first things he did was make a jabbering admission that he’d intended to kill a third victim as unrelated as the first two (Intended #3 having since left town), and then try to kill himself:

A prosecutor says the man accused of fatally shooting an abortion protester and business owner here has been taken from jail to a hospital Saturday with a self-inflicted wound to his arm.

When Scott Roeder, the suspect in the murder of Dr. George Tiller, arrived at hscott_roeder_060409is new home in the county jug, one of the first things he did was send out some anti-abortion pamphlets he got from the Army of God, then get on the horn with the media and state that killing abortion providers is justified, and warn that anti-choicers would kill again “as long as abortion remains legal”

“I know there are many other similar events planned around the country as long as abortion remains legal,” Roeder said.

One of these murders was politically-motivated and one was not.   You make the call.

Meanwhile, Christian Newswire?  You know where you can stuff this:

It’s too short a step to go from killing the unborn to killing in cold blood those pro-life advocates like Jim Pouillon

And having said that, I think we’re done here.

(h/t DammitJanet)

39 Responses to “Not like the other”


  1. 1 Bruce Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    It’s no shorter a step from killing the unborn to killing a man who provides desperately needed services to women in genuine need.

    Maybe you’re done, but I have a feeling other people aren’t. They need any martyr they can get their hands on and you’re dealing with people who’s very historical ideal is a dude nailed to a cross, nothing says unbridled martyrdom better than that. And apparently anybody can walk away from that and live forever.

  2. 2 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Very good! Indeed.

    Yes, I have no doubt you’re right. They’ll hang onto this with all they’ve got… it’s their favourite thing, a MARTYR. Nurse Stanek has already been over at RH Reality Check jabbering away like a gerbil in heat. Here she goes:

    “Harlan James Drake epitomized the dangerous, violent, premeditated-murdering pro-abortion movement.”

    Someone give that woman a cigarette, I think she just orgasm’d!!! :shock:

  3. 3 Torontonian Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    I’ve re-read the second paragraph–the one about Scott
    Roeder and I wonder how anyone in jail can send out
    literature and be on the phone and be giving press
    conferences. He’s continuing to poison the air from
    inside the confines of his jail!

    I thought jail was the time the offenders were “shut up”
    in more than one sense of the term.

    I do not understand the American penal and justice system.

    Makes me all the more glad I’m on this side of the border.

    Somebody set me right on this, please. Maybe the Texan
    J A Baker can offer some insight for me/us.

  4. 4 J. A. Baker Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I thought jail was the time the offenders were “shut up”
    in more than one sense of the term.

    I do not understand the American penal and justice system.

    Makes me all the more glad I’m on this side of the border.

    Somebody set me right on this, please. Maybe the Texan
    J A Baker can offer some insight for me/us.

    Hey, don’t look at me. I get just as confused as the rest of you at the intricate workings of our so-called “justice” system sometimes, so I don’t know how helpful my ravings on the subject will be.

    That said, I will offer this: you are correct when you suggest that, theoretically speaking, someone under arrest would have their access to outside communications channels severely restricted. And for good reason, too, as we’ve seen. That Roeder has nearly as much freedom to projectile vomit to the world suggests to me that he may have someone on the inside helping smuggle his word out to the ever-hungry-for-the-latest-salacious-detail tabloid freaks posing as journalists.

  5. 5 hemmingforddogblog Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 2:05 am

    This from, Shrill Jill at SUZY ALL CAPS:

    “And some of us DONT condemn the murder of Tiller the Killer, JA. Justifiable homicide. Good riddance.”

    When I pointed out that you are not allowed to swear on her blog, but she was posting, what basically amounts to an endorsement for murder, she said that some people don’t like swearing.

    *Bangs head repeatedly on table*

  6. 6 brebis noire Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 3:56 am

    More from Jill at ALL-CAPS:

    ” It isnt sign waving and chanting that closes abortion clinics. Its been done with little or no result. You dont send your troops out into the field with instructions to shout at the enemy or sing songs. You would be very surprised to know who supports Army of God and it would shock you to know who agrees with us. I wish there was another way, but if the Govt isnt going to take action there really is no other choice. Im sorry yall feel ive been a troublemaker here so Ill leave u in peace to argue with each other, and abortion will still go on, because talk is cheap and few are willing to do what is necessary to end it. We are stronger then u know and there are more of us then u might believe. See ya.”

    Meanwhile, SUZANNE is obviously mourning the fact that this chance at getting martyr status is not coming through in the end.

  7. 7 Dr. Prole Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Well I certainly hope Jill gets a knock at her door from the FBI. Bitch.

  8. 8 J. A. Baker Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:19 am

    When I pointed out that you are not allowed to swear on her blog, but she was posting, what basically amounts to an endorsement for murder, she said that some people don’t like swearing.

    *Bangs head repeatedly on table*

    This is the same Suzie-All-Caps who hat tips Stalkin’ Malkin for video footage of the teabaggers’ Assault March on Washington™.

  9. 9 J. A. Baker Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:20 am

    I meant to add:

    Double standards go with the territory for HER.

  10. 10 fern hill Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:49 am

    I’m not commenting at SUZY’s anymore. I’m too lazy to look for the link, but SHE published one comment of mine to which SHE responded, calling me by name, I responded to that, and SHE didn’t publish my response.

    Like JJ, I commented there to counter HER outrageous lies.

    I’m not wasting my time any more.

    Fuck her and her dimwit followers.

  11. 11 Patrick Ross Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Wow, JJ, such a “thoughtful” response to this murder.

    Frankly, I’m surprised that you didn’t just try to suggest that Pouillon didn’t wander too close to the shooting range.

    I remember something similar when someone tried to run over an anti-abortion protester with an SUV. You sure thought that was a fun day.

  12. 12 sassy Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 8:50 am

    I doubt that I have much in common with PR but I do agree with him that your repsonse is thoughful JJ. Well said!

  13. 13 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Torontonian – I suspect because it’s the county jug, the rules are more lax. Roeder’s had a non-stop parade of AoG types visiting him, to the point where the FBI is watching. I noticed that once he got a lawyer to actually start working on his defense, he quieted down a little.

  14. 14 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:04 am

    JAB – I have absolutely no doubt that Roeder has a friend on the inside, in addition to County Jails just generally being more lax. It’s Kansas.

  15. 15 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:14 am

    SQ & Brebis – Jill’s a barely-literate white trash POS who thinks eliminationist rhetoric makes her some kind of big shot.

    Before I ever engaged her, I read her real blog, which is in lockdown now that she’s been called out for making death threats against doctors. I almost feel sorry for the nitwit.

    She’s a nothing: far too stupid to waste any time on.

  16. 16 brebis noire Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Heck, I don’t even swear and sometimes SUZANNE deletes my comments or doesn’t post them. There was the time I expressed disgust at Ken the Misogynist’s opinions on women in Afghanistan, and the time I said he “doesn’t make sense”. Seriously – that’s all it took.

    And then there was the time I responded to Jill when she called all feminists “harpies”. I didn’t even call her a harpy, all I wrote was that her screed = harpiness, and I wasn’t published.

    I’ll only post there as long as it’s interesting to me. When it stops being interesting, I stop posting. I find the combination of moral high-horse, deliberate misinterpretations of reality, plus a blatant lack of basic human compassion to be….interesting.

  17. 17 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Dr.Prole – Most of Jill’s comments are cut and pastes from other sources; she’s genuinely dumb. I bet she was out teabaggin’ yesterday! :lol:

  18. 18 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:21 am

    JAB – I haven’t been over to BBW for about a week, maybe more. She kind of lost me with the moderation thing: I find it onerous and hard to carry on a discussion. Also, sad to say but SUZANNE seems to cherry pick which comments she’ll post, and swearing has nothing to do with it. All you have to do is post a link that refutes the point she’s disingenuously trying to make, and it won’t get published.

    It’s too bad, because I enjoyed her brand of wingnuttery and it was always a good opportunity for rebuttal of dumb anti-choice propaganda. But now that she’s censoring, there’s little point. I waste enough time on the internet — I’m not going to waste time typing comments that will never see the light of day.

  19. 19 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Fern – Yah, see my comment to JAB above.

    I find it a waste of time to go there now. What’s the point if my comments won’t get published?

  20. 20 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Patrick – Why thankyou.

    It actually wasn’t a response to the murder as such, but to the quote from Christian Newswire.

    My response to the murder is a little more complex. I worry about something far more important than the anti/pro-choice situation — this man was gunned down while exercising his 1st Amendment rights. THAT worries me, BIG time.

  21. 21 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Sassy – I think CNW is scrambling to make an anti-choice martyr out of this poor guy, and from the information we know, that’s just not what this situation appears to be about. The killer was clearly a psycho — not that Scott Roeder isn’t a psycho in his own way, but his case is obviously political, where the Pouillon murder is not. At least not as far as abortion rights go.

    The fact that Pouillon was killed because of his style of protesting is worrisome, though. Whether you agree or disagree with the guy, it’s his right.

  22. 22 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:43 am

    brebis

    I find the combination of moral high-horse, deliberate misinterpretations of reality, plus a blatant lack of basic human compassion to be….interesting.

    Agreed. As someone who spent years in advertising trying to convince people to buy things they don’t want or need, I am fascinated by propaganda of all kinds, and by how it evolves.

    However, there are other places I can observe it besides BBW. Too bad, she was one person I felt I could actually communicate with, even though we disagreed on almost everything, and for awhile it was interesting.

  23. 23 brebis noire Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I am dismayed and saddened that Pouillon was cut down like that for peaceful protesting, no matter how eye-rolling it might be. I’m saddened and angered by that US trait of reckless gun ownership and promotion, every time I hear of a murder like that.

    But I also find it disgusting that pro-liars like BBW are hoping “the schlub” (HER words) will be considered for canonization. I mean – I’m not even Catholic, but for something like that I’d say: go start your own church.

  24. 24 brebis noire Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 9:48 am

    “However, there are other places I can observe it besides BBW. Too bad, she was one person I felt I could actually communicate with, even though we disagreed on almost everything, and for awhile it was interesting.”

    True enough – and when you find one, let me know. The oppressive and uneven comment moderation has become annoying.

  25. 25 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 10:27 am

    brebis – “Schlub”? :shock: Maybe she meant that in an affectionate way?

    Or maybe she just doesn’t know what it really means.

  26. 26 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 10:39 am

    brebis – I’m not sure what the rules are for canonization, but he was Catholic, and I guess being killed in the “line of duty” (protesting for a Catholic cause) might apply? I wouldn’t have a problem with it. But then, I’m an atheist so it’s all meaningless mumbo-jumbo and voodoo to me.

    There are lots of anti-choice sites out there, but most of them are even more censorious than BBW. However, if she’s going to be that way then there’s nothing that makes her site any more attractive than Stanek’s or any of the other nitwits.

    The one thing that BBW really had going for it was a wide-open comments policy — excellent for discussion and debate. And everyone was civil, even me :P although people would take the occasional shots at each other, but so what? That’s all part of the discussion. One of the biggest reasons I liked her place was that it wasn’t an echo chamber. Now it is :(

  27. 27 fern hill Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I read somewhere that the guy was a born-again christer.

    BTW, Obama issued a statement today, calling the murder ‘deplorable’. Ha. That’ll take the wind of the ‘waaaaah, we’re being ignored’ SHRIEEEK. (Link to short AP piece at our place.)

  28. 28 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 11:18 am

    fern hill – Right, like reformed smokers, born-agains are always the most militant. He also had quite a rap sheet, but it was mostly penny-ante stuff — except the stalking charges :shock: one of which he was found guilty and fined. But this fits the profile of a militant born-again crusader.

    Anyway, of course Pouillon’s murder is deplorable, it sort of goes without saying. So was the other guy’s. Pouillon’s was particularly odious because he appears to have been killed for exercising his free speech rights. It’ll be interesting to hear what the suspect has to say about it all, what it all meant to him.

    There’s something rotten happening in that country.

  29. 29 Jonathan Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    It’s about time a pro-lifer got back some of what they’ve been dishing out for so long. For one of my eyes, two or yours! You pro-lifers killed Dr. Tiller, now one of yours gets killed. You see how that works?

  30. 30 brebis noire Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    “You pro-lifers killed Dr. Tiller, now one of yours gets killed. You see how that works?”

    Er, yes. In Jesusland, that might work. But that’s not how pro-choice people are thinking about this, and that’s not even close to how things happened.

    I know the details of this might confuse you, but please, try to focus.

  31. 32 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Jonathon – No, I don’t see how that works — Pouillon’s murder wasn’t a quid pro quo. Nor do I think revenge killings are a particularly good or constructive concept. But thanks for the input.

  32. 33 Dr. Prole Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Sorry, Jonathan, that’s now how we operate.

  33. 34 dizzlski Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    As for Roeder and his talking to people outside:

    1. There are pre-trial confinement rules which dictate his limited rights.
    2. There has been no trial yet so technically he hasn’t been found guilty; it may suck, but he still has rights.

  34. 35 Bina Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    It also sometimes sucks to be better than them, but hell. I may not disapprove of swearing, or cussing, or blue language (fuck yeah!) but I’m dead set against death threats. That’s where I draw the moral line. So Jill the Ill and Suzy CapsLock can suck on that.

    And here’s something else to suck on: There is NO moral equivalency here, and anyone who tries to find it…won’t. :P

  35. 36 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    dizzlski – For sure, even though he has basically confessed to the crime, he’s still technically a suspect until his conviction.

    No, I don’t think it sucks that he has rights; all prisoners have rights, and that’s the way it should be. I just think it kind of sucks that he gets to disseminate radical propaganda from his jail cell — that seems a little over the top — but I guess it’s his right to decide what he says in interviews and mail. (And it might be helpful when it comes to convicting him.)

  36. 37 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Bina – In fairness to SUZANNE, she’s not a death threat-type of person. Catholics don’t believe in killing anyone for any reason, unless it’s in something called a “just war” (like Afghanistan would probably be). However, her commenter Jill is a definite sicko (on top of being almost too stupid to believe).

  37. 38 Bina Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Fairness to Ms. CapsLock is all very well, but what does it say about her that she lets “justifiable homicide” sickos like Stanek comment, while censoring out pro-choicers who don’t go for death threats, but who do make strong points against her contentions? Kind of a double standard, I think.

    I’m glad you have the stomach to go over there. For me it would be too much like walking around in a sewer.

  38. 39 JJ Monday, September 14, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Bina – I haven’t been over there for probably a week, maybe more. I reached my fetus fetishist saturation point, I guess.

    Also, “Jill” who posts at BBW isn’t Jill Stanek, she’s just some anonymous fetus fetishizing loser. Nurse Stanek is a well-known fetus fetishizing loser.


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 620,004
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

