More DSOTM

Can’t get enough.   From the same concert, here’s what we used to know as “Side One” :

Breathe

On the Run/Time

Great Gig in the Sky

I can just hear the young’uns:  “Side One?  Side?  One?”

I had to buy this album (in vinyl form) a few times over the years because it would get so scratched and worn out from constantly playing on my old Dual turntable. The 70s became the 80s and pretty soon I couldn’t find vinyl and was reduced to buying a cassette tape with greatly reduced sound quality.  But my husband told me not to worry because he’d just read in one of his audiophile magazines that there was a new invention on the horizon that would deliver sound quality beyond our wildest dreams… the “compact disc”.

10 Responses to “More DSOTM”


  1. 1 Niles Friday, October 16, 2009 at 10:06 am

    As someone who detests alarm clocks, their cacophony of ‘old school sound booth fulla clocks going off’ gets me stuck to the ceiling with all claws every-damn-time.

  2. 2 JJ Friday, October 16, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Yes, it was one of those ugly musical assaults that rock bands used to like to spring on their stoned-out fans… that old Alice Cooper song “Black Juju” was another one, with the “WAKE UP! WAKE UP! WAKE UP!” in the middle of a hypnotic, drowsy-sounding break in the music. SHRIEK!

  3. 3 balbulican Saturday, October 17, 2009 at 4:28 am

    The problem was always those little micropops you’d get when the seeds exploded and teeny weeny burning fragments would pit your favourite album. I suspect Inna Gadda Da Vida wasn’t actually THAT long – it just started to skip on our turntables and we – uhhh –didn’t notice.

  4. 4 JJ Saturday, October 17, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Balb – Exploding seeds, grr. If it wasn’t for those bastardous exploding seeds I’d probably still have my T-shirt from the original DSOTM tour in ’72 (or ‘3, whenever).

    Holy cow, I just realized that was 37 yrs ago

    *thud*

  5. 5 Bruce Saturday, October 17, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    I just remembered that aside from the CD, I also have the album on DVD, I don’t think I’ve ever watched it. At least I don’t remember watching it, that actually shouldn’t come as a huge surprise, I may have been stoned and forgot.

  6. 6 Rev.paperboy Saturday, October 17, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Now that we’ve enjoyed the hymns, come watch this week’s sermon

  7. 7 JJ Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Bruce – !!!Pink Floyd on DVD!!! :shock: 8) Now I know what to ask for for X-mas

  8. 8 JJ Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Rev. – And a very good sermon it was, Reverend. Thank you! :lol:

  9. 9 Weasel Monday, October 19, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    DVD Floyd is essential :). Though I’ve always preferred pompeii or pulse to delicate sound of thunder. The sax guy they have in for DSOM just doesn’t compare to Dick Parry.

  10. 10 JJ Tuesday, October 20, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Weasel – If you like Pompeii, you must be a fan of Meddle, one of PF’s most underrated albums IMHO. The first time I ever saw Pink Floyd they played all the music from Meddle and also DSOTM, which had just been released 8) 8) 8) The tickets were 7 or 8 bucks :shock: In those days we got our money’s worth out of a concert.


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 620,404
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

