Turkey time

I know you’ve all been waiting for it.

Sadly, after the Thanksgiving/Christmas season, out of the 13 original turkeys there are only 4 females left.  As soon as I saw them coming up the driveway  I went outside, and look how they start running to me :) — and it’s because they love me, not because I’m feeding them.

12 Responses to “Turkey time”


  1. 1 deBeauxOs Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    They may also sense you’re not planning on eating them.
    :(

  2. 2 Howie Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Love is patient & kind and never hides an axe behind your back!

  3. 3 Torontonian Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    A number of years ago, I used to go to a Christmas dinner at St. Paul’s Church, Bloor St., Toronto.

    One year, I took a short cut through the northern portion of Queen’s Park and I noticed that squirrels were following me.
    I put two and two together and realised that the stream of university students who short cutted through the park and the many others who brought bread crumbs regularly were away on holidays.

    I mentioned this to the people of St. Paul’s and they broke up a loaf of bread into squirrel-size pieces.

    The squirrels and chipmunks were very grateful.

    In the ensuing years, I always made sure to have a loaf or two to feed them on my way to St. Paul’s.

    One year at the dinner, my table was served by Erika Ritter, no less!

    Funny old world, innit?

  4. 4 mouthyorange Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I was walking through Queen’s Park one time and I was carrying a bag or something. As I walked along the path a squirrel came toward me on the path and sat up and looked at me inquiringly. I realized it may have thought I had food in my bag. But I didn’t.

    How would I tell the squirrel I didn’t have any food? Then I thought, well, try telling it the same way I tell my dog. I jammed the bag under my arm to free my hands, and held my hands outstretched in front of me, empty palms facing the squirrel, fingers pointing to the ground.

    The squirrel appeared to have an “Oh” moment and it turned away, no longer interested in me.

  5. 5 sassy Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Nice to see the girls but sad that only four survived THAT season.
    Are you sure they didn’t come running because they knew you had a message from me? ;)

  6. 6 Bruce Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    It’s good to see them come back, maybe the rest of them split off into another colony, or Rafter is the proper term. I’m sure the fact that you’re holding a loaf of bread has no affect on their affection for you whatsoever. There really is something about your place they like. I seem to recall giving you a bad time about feeding them bread as though they had no idea it’s what the rest of us call stuffing :)

    Torontonian, so you’re the reason Queen’s Park is knee deep in squirrels all the time?

  7. 7 Cornelius T.Zen Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Good morrow, all!
    Torontonian – something to note: squirrels are vegetarian, but they live on nuts, you know, the seeds of trees. You would be much more kind to their digestive tracts to feed them raw, unsalted nuts, such as walnuts, filberts and almonds. Peanuts and cashews are NOT nuts, they are legumes (grown on bushes)but will do in a pinch. Bread is processed wheat, and not good for either birds or rodents.
    It’s like humans trying to live on doughnuts. Taste great, very filling, but, nutritionally, a very poor choice.
    They’ll also love you for it! – CTZen

  8. 8 fern hill Monday, January 4, 2010 at 4:36 am

    I’ve always told people that if there is reincarnation, I’m coming back as a squirrel in Queen’s Park. They’ll know me because I’ll be the one who tugs on a pantleg and won’t stop until I get pistachios.

  9. 9 mouthyorange Monday, January 4, 2010 at 4:42 am

    @CTZen – I’m coming to think that processed wheat’s not so good for people, either.

    Got lotsa reasons.

  10. 10 mouthyorange Monday, January 4, 2010 at 4:43 am

    Or wheat at all, is what I meant.

  11. 11 sedum Monday, January 4, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Back in the 50′s, living on my own. I oftimes found it necessary to buy a bag of 13 day old doughnuts for a measly buck in order to survive. I called them the staff of life and still have a fond memory of them but I wouldn’t touch one with a pair of pliers now

  12. 12 Janus Tuesday, January 5, 2010 at 6:59 am

    JJ, were those bread crumbs sage flavored? As in, you know, stuffing? Mmmm…pre-flavored choockies… :lol:


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 615,892
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


