Maher: new rules

From last night’s show, Bill has some excellent advice for the Democrats:

UPDATE: Meanwhile, last night Poor Dumb Sarah was still screeching bumper sticker slogans about “teleprompters” (as she read from a prepared speech…), “professors of law at the lectern” (…from a lectern), and “How’s that hopey-changey thing workin’ out for ya”.   She seems blissfully unaware of the fact that her side just suffered its worst legislative defeat in decades, with her “help”.

“Shut the fuck up while I slap your face for making noise” seems like an almost mild response to her shrieking idiocy.

31 Responses to “Maher: new rules”


  1. 1 Dr. Prole Saturday, March 27, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Excellent.

    I have a love/hate thing with Maher. Last night it was definitely love.

  2. 2 JJ Sunday, March 28, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Maher is The Man. I love him unequivocally!

  3. 3 Bleatmop Sunday, March 28, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Dr. Prole – I love Maher too. He gets it right on religion and politics and some science. Though he seems to have an irrational mistrust of medical science and is an unrepentant misogynist far too often.

  4. 4 Torontonian Monday, March 29, 2010 at 1:35 am

    I’m baffled that so many Americans would turn out in
    such numbers after the train of disappointments that
    they’ve experienced during the last 16 months.

    That Palin still draws a crowd still baffles me.

    I liked the contradiction when she said “teleprompter”
    and her written notes were flapping madly because
    of the breeze.

    I truly think that she is in permanent ice cream
    brain-freeze mode. And the Republicans don’t seem
    to realise she’s digging the grave of “right”
    opposition in the public forum. If they did, they’d
    have silenced her by now but with a chairman such
    as Steele, they can’t even organise themselves to
    save their own party!

    As if she’s baffling enough, her voice is enough
    to set one’s teeth on edge. It’s like being an
    assault with knitting needles on the eardrums.

  5. 5 Brian Monday, March 29, 2010 at 6:58 am

    You just don’t like Steele because he’s black.

    And if Sarah Palin were a man, you’d have no problems with what she says. It’s all hate, hate, hate with you guys.

    It’s pretty arrogant to say that everyone who eats ice cream has a frozen brain.

    If people don’t knit, some people will freeze to death; but I suppose that doesn’t matter to you.

  6. 6 Cornelius T.Zen Monday, March 29, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Good morrow, all!
    Brian: No, we ridicule Steele because he’s a Dove Bar – chocolate on the outside, vanilla on the inside. He’s the least hip black person I’ve ever seen. Fo’ shizzle, homey!
    Sarah Palin is too busy using up other people’s fifteen minutes of fame to have earned her own. She’s the Paris Hilton of the right wing. A clotheshorse with less sense than a real horse. It isn’t hate, Captain Oblivious, it’s ridicule. And we’re enjoying every minute of it.
    Like Will Rogers put it: I don’t have to make this up. I just have to read the papers. – CTZen

  7. 7 JJ Monday, March 29, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Bleatmop – Bill Maher is a misogynist?? Granted, my personal bar for things like that is pretty high, so maybe I just haven’t noticed.

  8. 8 JJ Monday, March 29, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Torontonian – You actually watched the video :shock: So did I, all the way through. *heave*

    That screechy voice of hers, irritating at the best of times, is taking on an edge of hysteria… could be she sees those $100,000 speaking fees swirling in the bowl with the teabagger “movement”.

  9. 9 JJ Monday, March 29, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Brian – Personally, I like Michael Steele, although I think he’s playing the wrong role right now.

    And if Sarah Palin were a man, you’d have no problems with what she says.

    Pardon? There are lots of dumbass men who say the same things she does, and they are treated with equal well-deserved disdain.

    Besides, if Sarah Palin was a man, or if she looked like Golda Meir, she wouldn’t be famous. So spare me the faux-feminist outrage :roll:

  10. 10 JJ Monday, March 29, 2010 at 8:28 am

    CTZen – For some reason, I have always liked Michael Steele — back in the day he was a pretty moderate Republican and no sleazier than the average politician. I always figured him for a potential floor crosser, especially after the GOP lost its shit last year.

  11. 11 willysnapp Monday, March 29, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Bwahahahaha! Apparently Mr. Steele likes to use his GOP expense account to spend almost $2000 in lesbian-themed voyeuristic bondage clubs.

    Brian? Your thoughts?

  12. 12 Dr. Prole Monday, March 29, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Bah dammit, willysnapp is my husband. I forgot to check if he was logged out of WP before I commented.

  13. 13 Luna Monday, March 29, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Bill Maher on breastfeeding: http://www.unapologeticallyfemale.com/2007/09/bill-maher-hates-you-along-with-all.html

    It’s ridiculous. Basically, our breasts are for his enjoyment. Babies eating? That’s gross. Food and breasts only go together at Hooters. Colour me unimpressed.

  14. 14 Janus Monday, March 29, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Luna, that doesn’t make him a misogynist. That just makes him funny. Not your particular brand of funny, maybe, but hey, ya can’t please everyone, and he doesn’t bother to try.

  15. 15 Bleatmop Monday, March 29, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    JJ – Mahar has used the Feminazi term, has described USA’s problem as having become “too feminized”, apparently has a problem with breast feeding (equates it with masturbating), continually critiques Sarah Palin based on her being a woman (bimbo is not an uncommon word for him to use). I also hear him make anti-women comments often enough on his show the lead me to that conclusion. Though perhaps misogynist is a bit strong of a word, but he clearly has some issues when it comes to women.

  16. 16 Janus Monday, March 29, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    Bleatmop, he clearly has issues with some women, but so do I. And I am one. That does not make him a misogynist.

  17. 17 Bleatmop Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 4:43 am

    Janus – I agree that he has issues with some women, but I also think he has some issues with all women, with my reasons listed above. I did back off by saying that misogynist may have been too strong of a word.

  18. 18 Brian Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 9:02 am

    CTZen: No, anyone who disagrees with Steele is obviously a racist. Even more so in your case, because you obviously think the only good black is a blue collar black, hence your Dove Bar reference. You clearly just think Steele is uppity.

    I also see that if a woman doesn’t stay home in the kitchen, or only go out to the PTA and the store, you think she’s a slut, like Paris Hilton; you can’t stand to see a woman “in a man’s world.”

    It is clearly denial when you disagree with this.

  19. 19 Janus Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Brian, I don’t know what drugs you’re on, but why aren’t you SHARING?!? And I mean if you can “see” CTZen as racist and misogynist you really gotta be on something, little man… :roll:

  20. 20 JJ Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Dr.Prole – Will Michael Steele survive this one? Stay tuned… (I hope he does survive, because he is pretty funny.)

  21. 21 JJ Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Luna – I am not one of those people bothered by breastfeeding, but I’m probably in the minority. This issue seems to cut across party lines. Obviously it’s kind of dumb and wrong to object to breastfeeding, but not, IMO, misogynist.

  22. 22 JJ Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Bleatmop – You’re more sensitive than I am, I guess :lol: None of that stuff is what I’d call ‘misogynist’.

    he clearly has some issues when it comes to women.

    Well, he went out with Ann Coulter for awhile… his nads are probably still smarting. (Frankly, I’m surprised he came away from that experience with his nads intact.)

    I get the feeling that it’s not women he has a problem with, it’s DUMB women.

  23. 23 Dr. Prole Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    JJ, I’m sure Steele will survive. He’s a Republican after all. They just love to watch lesbians trussed up in bondage gear simulating sex in public. Just so long as they don’t want to get married.

  24. 24 JJ Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Brian – You’ll find lots of things around here to fight about without looking for a fight where there is none.

  25. 25 Brian Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Janus,

       I don’t actually think CTZen is a racist, or any of that — I never did.  I just wanted to show how ridiculous and stupid it is to respond to someone who disagrees on some policy, or dislikes some politician, that the reason for that is that they are racist, -phobic, etc.

       I think this stems from the person who is for the policy being so for race-based or gender-based reasons (advocating for the oppressed, or whatever), then transferring to the opponent that their reasons must be the same.  But in reality, any position has at least two components, the reason(s) the person holds it, and the position held.  Two people arriving at the same position can do so for 100% unrelated reasons.  Ascribing a motive when only knowing the position held is baseless (as were my allegations about CTZen).

       To wit: Some people are very happy that Barrack Obama is the President of the United States in large measure because he is black.  They are very happy to see the first black president, and so on.  So if someone like me doesn’t like him, they reason that my reason is largely because he is black also.  But my reasons are not related to his skin color, but because of his polices and philosophy.  So when someone alleges that I am a racist because I dislike that Barrack Obama is my president, it is a baseless, and unsophisticated response.  I just wanted to turn the tables briefly, in hopes (however utopianistic…) of assisting those who might be inclined to argue in that way to move to higher ground, as it were.

  26. 26 Janus Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    “I don’t actually think CTZen is a racist, or any of that — I never did.”

    Then don’t say so. Especially don’t say so and then later claim you “didn’t mean it.”

    Your “allegations” about anyone’s “racism” stems from an inability — either intentional or inadvertent — to understand their humor. Your attempts at “turning the tables” have only resulted in a complete trashing of the furniture. Stop it until you actually know what you’re doing.

  27. 27 Janus Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    JJ…Maher dated Coulter???

    I had no idea he was into bestiality…

  28. 29 Janus Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    That’s pretty rich, considering the source. :roll:

  29. 30 Cornelius T.Zen Wednesday, March 31, 2010 at 7:33 am

    Good morrow, all!
    Brian: A clown is a clown, whether he’s white, black or brown.
    Michael Steele is so oblivious, he does not see the irony of convening with fellow Republicans in Hawaii (Obama’s birthplace, and NOT the fiscally most responsible place to hold a convention) to raise tirades against a state-administered medical system (in Hawaii, which has had a state-administered medical system…for forty years! Just ask Rush Limbaugh about how bad that was in his case…)
    Yeah, he’s a nice guy, and essentially harmless. I don’t so much disagree with him as pity him. All that enthusiasm and energy, in support of the insupportable, in defense of the indefensible.
    He’s plainly a token, and I think he knows it.
    I hope that he remains the RNC Chairman. For all his bluster, he might be the only truly human face the Reptilians can muster.
    Hmmm…I seem to be waxing poetic…I hate it when that happens -CTZen

  30. 31 Cornelius T.Zen Wednesday, March 31, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Good morrow, all!
    As for Bill Maher and Ann Coulter, he might have said:
    “Yeah, I dated Ann Coulter. It wasn’t a relationship, it was an experiment. I wanted to observe the mating habits of the praying mantis very closely. I was lucky to get out of that alive. But thanks for asking.”
    Well, it *could* have happened that way – CTZen


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 619,331
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

