You go, girl

Bwahaa!:

A 20-something Saudi female stopped and questioned by a religious policeman as she strolled through an amusement park with a young man apparently had enough and punched the officer repeatedly until he had to be taken to a hospital, the Jerusalem Post reported Monday.

Fetus fetishists and other assorted ass-backward religiofascists who come in their pants at the thought of rolling back womens’ rights: take note.  If this is what’s happening in an atavistic theo-shit hole like Saudi Arabia, you don’t even want to imagine what would happen here.

UPDATE: On the serious side of things, I hope that human rights groups will be prepared to defend this young woman, who may end up paying some heavy dues:

If the woman is charged with assaulting the officer, she could face a lengthy prison term, or a lashing, or both.

(Thanks to RB in the comments.)

7 Responses to “You go, girl”


  1. 1 Jymn Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Awesome stuff. When I worked in Rhiyad, these cops (I think they were called ‘Mattawa’) would drive around in Suburbans with giant loudspeakers. During prayer time, they would search out people not complying with prayers. My first week, I got caught looking in a store window. They were screaming at me for god knows what until I turned around. After several minutes, they grew tired of yelling at me and moved on. The stories I heard of these idiots would make your skin crawl.

    So, you go girl!

  2. 2 Reality.Bites Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 8:57 am

    While I commend her, let’s not forget the heavy price she may pay (from the article JJ linked to):

    If the woman is charged with assaulting the officer, she could face a lengthy prison term, or a lashing, or both.

  3. 3 joe agnost Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:19 am

    This is (sadly) only the beginning for her… that this was in Saudi Arabia means that she will pay dearly for this.

    But if I ignore the terrible position this young lady now finds herself in I can’t help but cheer, laugh, rejoice at the pure awesomeness of this incident!! Way to go girl!

    I really hope more mainstream media pick this story up.

  4. 4 JJ Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Jymn – OMG, I couldn’t take it. I guess when in Saudi Arabia, but wow. Being yelled at by “religious police” would probably make me spin out and burst into flames.

  5. 5 JJ Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    RB – Yes, and thanks for the reminder. This woman will no doubt face some harsh punishment over this event — hopefully there’s a way that human rights orgs can support and defend her. I would definitely donate some money to help out this chick, she sounds righteous!

  6. 6 JJ Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    joe agnost

    But if I ignore the terrible position this young lady now finds herself in I can’t help but cheer, laugh, rejoice at the pure awesomeness of this incident!! Way to go girl!

    I’m hoping there might be a reason for such chutzpah, like maybe her dad is a big shot in whatever passes for their government.

    But from what I can see on Google, this story is getting a lot of play, and that can only help her.

  7. 7 joe agnost Wednesday, May 19, 2010 at 5:18 am

    “from what I can see on Google, this story is getting a lot of play, and that can only help her.”

    Awesome!


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 618,767
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

