Merry Twatsmas, CC

The Wages of Assholery — about 85 Large.

Though I can’t say I’m thrilled with the litigious turn the blogosphere seems to be taking of late, some things are so wrong as to call for serious measures and this was one of them.   That’s what the Law is there for, and sometimes, it even works.

That said, we might want to resist the temptation to get too caught up in schadenfreude; Libel is far from the exclusive preserve of the right.  I’ve seen progressives do it casually and carelessly and almost certainly, unknowingly, but ignorance doesn’t make a statement any less libelous.  Use the Googles, kids, preferably before you hit “publish”.

Congrats CC, may all your Twatsmases be green.

 

13 Responses to “Merry Twatsmas, CC”


  1. 1 Mike Wednesday, November 24, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    I have been giggling all day. Ironically, he threatened to sue me (as a co-defendant when he was in on CC’s outing) once a few years back. As I understand he boasted but never even answered the libel statement served by CC.

    Good riddance to bad trash.

    BTW. How are things JJ?

  2. 2 JJ Wednesday, November 24, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Hi Mike!! Long time no see!

    Yeah I seem to vaguely recall PR threatening to take a run at you — for what, I’m not sure. For calling him an asshole? :lol: I don’t think he gets it, this whole libel thing. To tell you the truth, I almost feel a little sorry for him — his problems are primarily youthful hubris arrogance and dumbness, pushed too far. He is learning the hard way that you can’t fuck around :|

    As for me, things are going swimmingly, thanks for asking!

    How’ve you been doing? I see you over at the Volunteer once in awhile. Not blogging, even at the Converted? (I just checked :P )

    I haven’t been blogging much myself, for various reasons… sometimes it all just gets MEH :|

    Keep in touch, okay?

  3. 3 MgS Wednesday, November 24, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    Of course, now the problem is enforcing the ruling. CC has judgment on his side, but collecting could be a problem … it’s not like PR is likely to have that kind of cash on hand – or even in assets.

  4. 4 Bleatmop Wednesday, November 24, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    I would imagine he will have to go bankrupt, have his assets sold off, then have his wages docked for the next 20 years to pay off the debt. It’s not like CC has to personally collect this money, knocking on this guy’s door every payday.

  5. 5 Reality Bites Wednesday, November 24, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Not to quibble, but isn’t the most appropriate animated character under the circumstances Nelson from the Simpsons?

    Ha-ha.

  6. 6 Joe Agnost Thursday, November 25, 2010 at 7:16 am

    What delightful news! It makes my day… :)

  7. 7 Cornelius T. Zen Friday, November 26, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Good morrow, all!
    Ya know, some days, God DOES get his order right at Timmy’s.
    Now THAT’S satifaction! – CTZen

  8. 8 Cornelius T. Zen Friday, November 26, 2010 at 8:42 am

    And sum day ill lern 2 spel

  9. 9 Reality.Bites Friday, November 26, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Correct me if I’m wrong, JJ, but didn’t you at one point ban Patrick from these premises?

    At the time I probably commended you, but as I look back I think it was actually pretty poor financial planning on your part.

  10. 10 balbulican Friday, November 26, 2010 at 11:01 am

    On Wednesday, Patrick’s facebook status update was one word.

    “Checkmate”.

    That’s either hubris on a scale hitherto inconceivable, or a concession.

  11. 11 JJ Friday, November 26, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Balb – There’s always a 3rd possibility: that he doesn’t know how to play chess ;)

    I rather doubt he’d concede anything at this point. I suspect he’s probably still in the same frame of mind that allowed him to ignore the statement of claim (or whatever it’s called) when it landed on his doorstep.

    I pick hubris (and dumbness of epic proportions).

  12. 12 JJ Friday, November 26, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    RB – Yes, PRoss has been banned from here several times, actually.

    He always starts off being normal, a little contrarian but that’s good, it makes things more interesting. However. He would quickly escalate into his usual bad faith “debate” (if you could call it that when someone says things they know are BS just to start an argument), so at that point he’d get a Time Out, just like any other bratty kid. Then eventually I’d take him off the blacklist and we’d go through the whole thing again.

    as I look back I think it was actually pretty poor financial planning on your part.

    :lol: The last time I banned him it had been apparent for some time that he was using other peoples’ comment sections to say things that were borderline defamatory. It had been going on for a long time. When he started doing it here, I thought Enough is Enough. I was hardly blogging at the time, but I didn’t want this goofball leaving actionable turds in my comments if I didn’t look at my blog for a few days.

  13. 13 JJ Friday, November 26, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Bleatmop – I think that’s pretty much what he’s looking at. As long as he has any kind of income, a wage attachment will follow. He has 2 choices, go on welfare — forever — or go bankrupt. Bankruptcy of course fucks his credit rating for the foreseeable future. (I’ve never filed, but I know many who have. Its ugly.)


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 618,120
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

