Let’s see… how to start… um… *ahem*… okay… It was a dark & stormy night…

…and fern hill was kicking ass all over the place!  W00t!

DJ has the links that tell the entire tawdry tale.

And while we’re giving props to those who deserve, how about an honourary scoop of freshly-minted dogpoop to the Toronto Star, supposedly Canada’s Flaming Liberal Newspaper of Record, for refusing to publish even a Letter to the Editor (let alone an equal-space rebuttal) without a real name from “The Blogger” who drove the entire Penninga article.  Since Penninga referred to fern hill only as “a blogger”, her response to his brainless swill shouldn’t require any name more explicit than “The Blogger Who Made Tim Hudak’s Abortion Stance an Election Issue and Made Mark Penninga Cry”.

Whoops!  Bonus solidarity track: The Good Doctor weighs in.

(Okay, time to hit “publish”… psyching up… come on, this won’t hurt a bit… aaaccckk!!)

35 Responses to “Let’s see… how to start… um… *ahem*… okay… <i>It was a dark & stormy night…</i>”


  1. 1 fern hill Tuesday, July 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Yay! I was having a totally, as the kids say, awesome day and now this!!!! Might need some bubbly.

  2. 2 Niles Tuesday, July 26, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Well, this is a candy bonus to Ms Fern’s Investigative Awesassity aka ‘googling where no news org has apparently dared to google’ badge!

    Good to see you have..uhm..bounced back, Ms JJ. (Someone had to say it after that video)

  3. 3 Beijing York Tuesday, July 26, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Pop that cork, fern! You deserve that super expensive Moet Chandon that the rich bastards drink in foreign movies ;-)

  4. 7 Scott Tribe Tuesday, July 26, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    So uh.. does that mean I can add your feed back to Progressive Bloggers?

  5. 8 Simon Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 12:43 am

    Welcome back JJ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Gawd. It’s about time eh?

    I never lost hope that you would return. But you tested that hope severely. :)

    It’s funny how old blogging friends can feel like family. The progressive blogosphere never needed your free spirit so badly.

    And I missed you terribly…

  6. 9 Mark From Slap Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 3:46 am

    I knew you’d be back, JJ! (Although you held out long enough to make me doubt on my bad days. ;) )

    Give ‘em hell!

  7. 10 FFIB Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 6:35 am

    Yey, the west coast comes alive. This is exciting.

  8. 11 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    fern hill – You rock! I’ve been following your work on this story and have been most impressed with your tenacity at exposing the slime beneath the rocks and making it an Election Issue. (And causing Mr. Penninga some major butt-hurt :p )

  9. 13 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    “Bounced back” indeed… this time without the Ouch! that followed having my 56 year old spine momentarily stretched about 6″ by falling momentum pulling in one direction and a bungy cord pulling in the other. Not for old people! (But I’d do it again anyway.)

  10. 14 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Beijing – Yay! Here’s a toast to our intrepid investigative reporter, pseudonym & all.

  11. 15 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    orthodox – Thank you! I look forward to getting back into it!

  12. 16 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Buckets

    We knew you’d be back.

    LOL

  13. 17 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    OB – Ahhhhh! The Amazing Dog Dancing Merengue! My favourite!!!

  14. 18 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Scott

    So uh.. does that mean I can add your feed back to Progressive Bloggers?

    Do I make the cut? It seems like a pretty exclusive club lately… ;)

  15. 19 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Siiiiiiiiiiiimonnnnnnn!!!!

    I never lost hope that you would return.

    At first I figured I would eventually get back to it after a break. But as time went on, I wasn’t so sure that my “free spirit” was all that welcome in the progress-o-sphere, so for awhile I lost interest. But I was driving everyone nuts with my blathering… a blog is at least a good way to vent frustrations and express amazement at the utter dumbness of things…

  16. 20 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Mark – I quit for 7 months to the day, which was long enough to totally lose interest in blogging, and then change my mind :P

  17. 21 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    FFIB – I have been practicing my latte-drinking so as to make the cut

  18. 22 JJ Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Balb!!!

    Your return has made my day.

    As yours did mine. (And I still harbour secret hopes that Conucopia will someday be resurrected ;) )

  19. 23 Torontonian Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Welcome back, JJ. It’s good to see you
    blogging again. I’m looking forward to your
    posts.

  20. 27 Paperbaghero #38 Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 6:33 am

    I previously uploaded to your blog a u-tube link of my one-of-a-kind original song (but in a good way) entitled “THE BALLAD OF MARC EMERY vs THE DEA which is a genuine protest song the likes of which is pretty rare these days, and my style never heard of before. Anyway I’m getting no hits – alright, 18 in a year and change, and I suspect most of them were cops – so I’m looking for links. Still. Marc Emery’s has got to be among the greatest miscarriages of justice I have ever experienced and certainly cause celeb in Canada, all the moreso given the last couple of federal elections. So I’m still looking for links, and the song seems like something that might be right up (down?) your alley. So if you missed my first link please consider giving it a listen if you’ve a free twenty minutes over the course of a few days and maybe consider giving it a review and even a recommendation and, you know, link.

    Thanks, #38

  21. 29 J. A. Baker Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    “The Blogger Who Made Tim Hudak’s Abortion Stance an Election Issue and Made Mark Penninga Cry”.

    Shouldn’t that be “The Blogger Who Gave Mark Penninga A Severe Case Of Butthurt?

  22. 31 Scott Tribe Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    JJ:

    A) I wish there was way to reply to individual posts and have them threaded.. instead of having it end up here at the bottom (or I’m completely missing where to reply)

    but b) nope.. as a former member who left in good standing, if you want back on, you’re on.

    • 32 JJ Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      Scott – (a) I changed the comments to “threaded” just for you :P I seem to recall trying this before, and everyone complained about it so I changed it back. We’ll see how it goes.

      (b) Okay — maybe you could quarantine me in the section labeled “PINO” so I don’t contaminate the purists. (I keed, I keed.)

  23. 33 jkg Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    If I may be able to add to the chorus, it is great to have you back JJ! Something tells me that being out of the minority rabbit hole and into the brave new political frontier, you will have quite a few things to say, and I will be pleasantly waiting for them :).


  1. 1 The Queen of Snark returns « The Words on What… Trackback on Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at 10:19 pm
  2. 2 Anti-Choice is Anti-Awesome: Weekly Reader Trackback on Monday, November 26, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 615,929
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


