From the “You’ve Come A Long Way, Baby” files

Read it and weep:

A bus driver told Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard to get on a separate bus from other Government leaders after mistaking her for one of their partners during the recent Pacific Forum, TVNZ has reported. [...]

An anonymous police source told TVNZ a bus driver stopped Ms Gillard as she was getting on the bus with other leaders and told her to get on a bus with their partners.

It said the mistake was cleared up when an aide told the bus driver he was talking to the Australian Prime Minister.

Well, this is nothing if not timely.  Last week I had a discussion with a male friend who insisted that after all these years of “Wimminslib” things couldn’t possibly still be different for women.  Think this will set him straight?

6 Responses to “From the “You’ve Come A Long Way, Baby” files”


  1. 1 Luna Wednesday, September 14, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    That’s hilarious, in an lolsob way. When I worked at the church, our pastor used to get mail for “The Pastor’s Wife” regularly. She enjoyed writing back that she was heterosexual and single, but if that ever changed, she’d pass it on to her wife. :)

    • 2 JJ Thursday, September 15, 2011 at 11:50 am

      Haha! I laugh, but this kind of thing is so commonplace that it doesn’t even surprise me or even offend me. I used to have a big old battered up 4×4 pickup with a winch on the front, and guys were always taking it for granted that it was my old man’s truck. Now I’ve got a newer truck with a nice paint job, and nobody makes that mistake. The power of cosmetics!

  2. 3 Beijing York Thursday, September 15, 2011 at 4:22 am

    As they say in the UK, I am gobsmacked.

    • 4 JJ Thursday, September 15, 2011 at 11:53 am

      No kidding, eh. It also kind of amazed me that having been assigned to drive these dignitaries around, the bus driver wouldn’t make sure he had some idea of who was who. Because you never know when a woman might sneak in :|

  3. 5 Peter Thursday, September 15, 2011 at 8:03 am

    after all these years of “Wimminslib”

    Did he really use those words? What a hoot! I take it his hair is very grey, if he has any left at all. Does he grin foolishly and drool when someone mentions Woodstock?

    But it can happen to all of us. To my horror, I actually found myself saying to my teenaged son on the subject of today’s youth fashion that it was not always easy to tell the boys from the girls. The minute the words were out of my mouth I knew I fully deserved the look of abject contempt they earned me.

    • 6 JJ Thursday, September 15, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      :lol: Uh yes, “wimminslib”. He’s an utter troglodyte, and grins foolishly most of the time regardless of the topic of conversation. (I doubt Woodstock would impress him to the drooling point, though — he’s pretty conservative :shock: )

      it was not always easy to tell the boys from the girls.

      I don’t know if you’re old enough, but I remember Old Farts saying that about my generation and how we rolled our eyes about it. But looking back, wow, I think kids must have some kind of radar so they can always tell who’s what :-?


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 619,357
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

