GOP Presidential Primary Field: Now 16.6% Less Sane

Or to put it another way, 83.4% Batshit (and the jury’s still out on Ron Paul).

Jon Huntsman, the only thing between the GOP Presidential Primary Field and its own category in the DSM-IV, has left run screaming from the building:

Jon M. Huntsman Jr. informed his advisers on Sunday that he intends to drop out of the Republican presidential race, ending his candidacy a week before he had hoped to revive his campaign in the South Carolina primary.

Mr. Huntsman, who had struggled to live up to the soaring expectations of his candidacy, made plans to make an announcement as early as Monday. He had been set to participate in an evening debate in Myrtle Beach.

Another one bites the dust.  Not that it’s unexpected:  in that field, Huntsman was like the Head Counsellor at a summer camp for crack babies.

这么久 …

That means so long, Jon Huntsman!  Get yer Romney endorsement in, early and often.

19 Responses to “GOP Presidential Primary Field: Now 16.6% Less Sane”


  1. 1 Luna Sunday, January 15, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I wonder how much money he blew on that run.

    • 2 JJ Monday, January 16, 2012 at 8:18 am

      They are all multigazillionaires, its a drop in the bucket to them anyway.

      Presidential elections are getting ridiculously expensive, though… Obama will apparently spend over 1B on his re-election this year :shock:

  2. 3 RossK Sunday, January 15, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    JJ–

    I’m not so sure that 16.6% and or the IV are really the numbers you are looking for.

    Why?

    Because if this doesn’t drive them Bat Guano Uber Alles Deluxe, I don’t know what will.

    .

  3. 5 bleatmop Sunday, January 15, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Well, at least now the GOP can go ahead an finish alienating any moderate republicans. I mean, when Mitt Romney is the most moderate candidate left, you know you got problems. Can you imagine if Obama actually lost to any of these guys?

    • 6 JJ Monday, January 16, 2012 at 8:20 am

      I can’t imagine Obama losing to any of these guys, even in a year when the economy sucks so badly. That’s really saying something about the republican field — it should be the GOP’s to lose this year

  4. 7 hemmingforddogblog Monday, January 16, 2012 at 1:28 am

    I lost interest after Bachmann dropped out…

  5. 9 fhg1893 Monday, January 16, 2012 at 7:06 am

    I seem to remember reading something about how Huntsman was going to spoil Ron Paul’s nomination.

    Ah, here it is: http://www.infowars.com/obama-ally-huntsman-is-the-establishments-ron-paul-spoiler/.

    A reminder that I need to take anything published by Alex Jones with a truckload of salt.

    Speaking of Ron Paul. Ron Paul is probably America’s last chance to avoid financial catastrophe, though, it might already be too late. And if he’s lying, I believe him, but if he’s lying, America is doomed. No other candidate has promised to cut back as much, or as quickly as Ron Paul. And America absolutely must cut back as soon as possible.

    You see, what America is facing is the strong possibility that the world will abandon the American dollar as its reserve currency. How we go to this point is a little complicated, but it boils down to approximately this: America has borrowed some ammount of money that needs scientific notation to express properly. 15 trillion dollars may not seem like a whole lot because this is old news, the debt has been known for quite some time, but you have to realize that 48 our of 50 states are similarily awash in red-ink. The debt is almost 100% of GDP, but that’s only the US Federal Government, that’s ignoring the debt that the states themselves have incurred!

    So far, this has been no problem at all for one simple reason: everything can be traded for American dollars, and the only government in the world allowed to print American dollars is the US government. So in order to pay its debts, the solution has been simple: just print more money.

    But doing so brings down the buying power of each dollar printed, it devalues the currency. More and more money is needed to buy the same thing. And there are a lot of US dollars now in circulation because of this.

    So imagine if you will, what exactly happens if say, China, advises the US that its money is no good, and it needs oh… something else to pay its debt. Something like… gold. Or more likely, oil, which the US doesn’t really have. Why would China do this? Well, China is holding huge ammounts of US government debt, as are a few other countries. As more and more greenbacks are shoveled at these countries, they start to ask themselves what these dollars can really buy? Increasingly, the answer is not much. Once a few more countries cease to accept US dollars, it seems likely to domino, and soon, everyone holding US debt is going to be demanding something other than US dollars to pay off that debt. I’m guessing that one of the possibilities is that they plan to pay a lot of it with stuff coming from Alberta, but that’s just speculation on my part. See the Amero for one possibility.

    The ultimate result? Debt default. That’s bad. Why’s that bad? Well, OPEC currently sets the price of oil in US dollars, meaning the American dollar is always good to buy oil anywhere in the world. Let’s say that OPEC decides to adopt a different currency to price its oil say… the Chinese Yuan. So now, in order to buy any oil from anybody, the US government must first buy Chinese Yuan. And the Chinese government won’t accept US dollars in exchange for Yuan. So now the US can’t buy any more oil. 300 million Americans suddenly can’t drive anywhere, can’t heat their homes, and are without power. And 1/3 of them are armed to the teeth.

    It’s hard to say exactly what the result will be, OPEC could go with the Euro for instance, and Europe might continue to stubbornly accept US dollars for a while. But whatever happens, you can be certain that the result won’t be pretty. Could be as bad as World War III, but that’s hard to see at the moment.

    By drastically reducing US liability, closing overseas bases, and using the money to slash the deficit, Ron Paul might just be able to make the US dollar worth something again, and pull the US back from the brink. And even if he can’t, by doing so, a Ron Paul presidency might be able significantly mitigate a financial catastrophe. Four years ago, his chances of total success were quite high. But thanks to Bush Junior, there was no chance against Obama, who incidentally, has done nothing to reverse the trend of increased government spending.

    The US has one chance: Ron Paul, and even then, it’s a hail-mary pass. And make no mistake! Ron Paul, if he follows through on his promises will bring some pretty serious pain. With a little luck, it won’t be catastrophic. But who’s in front? Mitt Romney – the corporate raider – who believes in the “right” for corporations to get rewarded for doing absolutely nothing. Uh oh…

    Either President Romney or President Obama will continue to drive the country off the financial cliff. Ron Paul, and Ron Paul ONLY could potentially pull the coutnry from the brink.

    But wait, there’s more!

    What does this mean for Canada? Well, lets have a good long think about what would happen to OUR economy if the Americans were unable to buy our oil..

    Now, think about a certain pipeline project currently undergoing public consultation…

    • 10 JJ Monday, January 16, 2012 at 8:43 am

      Actually, of all the candidates, I sort of like Ron Paul. I just don’t like his anti-choice (and now, apparently, anti-gay) views and don’t understand how any libertarian can hold such views. Maybe it’s just because he’s an old guy? ;) :lol: But his views on drugs, war and smaller govt, I like. (Although I’m still enough of a statist that I want gov’t a teeny bit bigger than drown-in-a-bathtub size.)

      Off topic — I am having trouble responding to your comment about your shotgun in the “prozac” thread: there’s no “Reply” button. But I did see it and I will reply when I figure out how :P

  6. 11 fhg1893 Monday, January 16, 2012 at 10:38 am

    *deep breath*

    Well, like Ron Paul, I’m not a big fan of abortions. I have children, and I guess they were alive to me in utero. I find the idea, especially of late term abortions gut-wrenching and horrifying. That being said, I respect the freedom of an individual to choose – certainly in cases of rape, cause that shit ain’t fair, and certainly in cases of medical necessity. I’m not in favor of placing limits on a person’s right to choose, despite my feelings, I understand the necessity. But you can’t make me like it, it’s an awful, awful choice, and one I really don’t like having to make. Given my pro-hunting stance, I’m not against killing, even a human being. But respectfully, and I do mean, respectfully, I think we’re fooling ourselves if we persist in the denial that what we’re doing isn’t the taking a of an innocent life. But as I said, and I really mean it; I’m not prepared to say that taking that life is wrong. Wrong for me and mine, yes. Wrong for you? That’s up to you.

    I do suppose it is a way of avoiding the issue to say that it’s a decision better left to the states to decide. I’m somewhat inclined to agree with Ron Paul’s point of view on state’s right. I know Ron Paul personally doesn’t like abortions, but I’d resist calling him anti-choice, I believe that he’d put his beliefs aside, and as President remain neutral about it. In other words, let the states decide.

    Onto lighter topics! Paul isn’t anti-gay in the slightest. Wherever did you get that idea? Again, like abortion, Ron Paul simply wants the Federal government OUT of the equation, and let the states decide for themselves. He voted to repeal “Don’t ask, Don’t tell.” I think I can say with some authority that he believes in the rights of the states to decide for themselves, and the Federal government’s roll needs to be constrained to a strict constitutional interpretation.

    We let the thread go on too long, we broke WordPress! :-) :lol:

    The “reply” button is under the comment that starts, “Hi Peter
    Thanks for the link, great article and as you said, the last sentence is…”

    • 12 JJ Tuesday, January 17, 2012 at 6:29 am

      No need for the *deep breath*, I don’t care if people are anti-abortion as long as they’re not trying to impose that view on people who don’t share it. Ha, even my boyfriend is anti-abortion — he’s just not a crazed fetus fetishist. But it’s one of those topics we avoid talking about, sort of like I avoid talking about firearms with my feminist friends. I get along with everyone :) as long as they Stay Out Of My Face :evil: and don’t tell me what to do.

      That said. I suspect Ron Paul’s anti-choice-ness is more about opposing the Federal Law Roe v. Wade than it is about fetus fetishism. His alleged homophobia and racism is something new that I still have to check out, but I instinctively & automatically cool off towards someone when I hear something like that about them.

      • 13 fhg1893 Tuesday, January 17, 2012 at 7:18 am

        PHEW! I’m relieved. I know it’s a touchy issue, and even if I wanted to pick that fight (I don’t) it’s not a batttle I can win. I’m deeply conflicted about it, and it’s good that we continue to see eye-to-eye, more or less. So, I try to be hands-off wherever, and whenever possible.

        I said else where that every presidential candidate had been at one time been accused of racism, so are you really surprised that the charge is being leveled at Ron Paul as well?

        There is probably something from his past that has got the left-wing in a tizzy, and I think it is this. First, the left wing tends to be hyper-sensitive to anything that even looks like racism, even if it’s not. Islamaphobia and all that comes to mind. Second, I think if Ron Paul was the nominee, he’d stand a good chance of beating Barak Obama, and that has a lot of people, most notably from the establishment very worried. Obama derangement syndrome notwithstanding, I don’t think Romney will beat Obama. As you say, the add write themselves, and once the campaign really gets going, I suspect that Obama will be able to cruise to a relatively easy victory over Romney.

        With Ron Paul on the other hand, the more America sees of Ron Paul, the more they like him. If he’s the nominee, the media will have to stop ignoring him, and that’s really going to freak out the establishment. I’m sure he’s said a controversial thing or two in the past, but nothing that should make him unelectable. Unlike say… Santorum.

  7. 14 J. A. Baker Monday, January 16, 2012 at 11:36 am

    the only thing between the GOP Presidential Primary Field and its own category in the DSM-IV,

    There’s still plenty of time before the DSM-V is published for “duh Base” to merit an entry there!

  8. 16 sinned34 Monday, January 16, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Ron Paul has about two decent ideas. The rest of his policies are just as batshit crazy as the rest of the Republican field. Just read through his old racist, sexist, and homophobic newsletters to see there is a reason he’s running for the Republican party these days.

    Of those good ideas, Paul has about a zero percent chance of actually implementing them if he were to win the Presidency. And the shit he would be able to push through is every bit as insane as what Bachmann would dream up.

    • 17 JJ Tuesday, January 17, 2012 at 6:09 am

      Hi sinned
      Yeah… I haven’t read any of those newsletters, but I’ve heard about them. I really feel I need to read more about them and cross check the commentary on them before I form an opinion.

      I’m just guessing but if he’s expressed some goofy views about the Civil Rights Act, I suspect they might be more about property rights than racism. (Not excusing, but it does provide context.)

      Anyway, no matter how weird his ideas seem sometimes (especially in the venue of a GOP primary where everyone is trying to out-teabag everyone else), I enjoy listening to him speak. He’s an interesting guy, because he’s different.

  9. 18 Torontonian Tuesday, January 17, 2012 at 5:49 am

    If you take Romney out of the equation and leave
    the others in and compare them to Stockwell Day,
    then Day looks the brightest of the bunch.
    But not by much!


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 620,413
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

