Internets broken?

Is your internet connection fast and frisky today?  Mine neither: it is, in fact, cataclysmically slow.  I was just going to phone Shaw and give them another verbal asskicking when I found this:

Anonymous is claiming responsibility for a cyberattack against Chinese websites — one that may also be having an impact on Internet speeds across the world.

Networks in North America, Europe and especially Asia were running at significantly lower speeds Thursday. Asia’s cyber backbone was especially hard hit, seeing packet loss of 33% or more, according to the monitoring website Internet Traffic Report.

Anonymous, a loosely knit group of hackers, took credit for defacing up to 500 Chinese websites Thursday, according to ABC News.

I guess Asia is getting the worst of it, but looking at the Internet Traffic Report’s Network Overview, which if I’m interpreting it properly, it appears that internet speeds in the Vancouver area really are slower than slug-shit.  (We’re doing better than some places in Ontario, though.  Yeek.)

Oh well, since it’s Anonymous, I can forgive and forget.  (But with an internet connection this slow, don’t expect me.)

18 Responses to “Internets broken?”


  1. 1 Torontonian Thursday, April 5, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    I’m not on Shaw; I use Bell. There has been
    no reduction or throttling of service here.
    I did notice yesterday that the Toronto Sun
    and National Post were having difficulties.

    • 2 JJ Friday, April 6, 2012 at 9:07 am

      You’re lucky. Shaw has been doing it to regular high speed internet users ever since they introduced their Super-Duper-Extra High Speed internet… which is about the same speed as the high speed internet I originally had :evil:

  2. 3 the banana Thursday, April 5, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    All’s well in sunny Manitoba, but my ISP is a local cooperative.

  3. 5 cityprole Thursday, April 5, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    I find that the Intrawebs here on the Island are always sluggish, and so don’t know about a difference..but as you say, Anonymous? Okay with me, I can put up with it…

    • 6 JJ Friday, April 6, 2012 at 9:37 am

      Well, it has been sluggish ever since they introduced their “ultra” high speed internet a year or 2 ago. It started off with just a little occasional sluggishness but it was tolerable, but lately it’s been all the time. This is a pretty obvious ham-fisted attempt to get all their high speed users to switch to “ultra” high speed, I’m even considering it myself. I’ve only held back because it pisses me off to get extorted into buying something that I already bought 10 years ago.

      Shorter Shaw Cable: “Nice internet speed you got there… be a shame if anything were to happen to it.”

      • 7 cityprole Friday, April 6, 2012 at 10:47 am

        I just added a free virus sweeper and did the whole computer scan thing and sure enough now my ‘puter is moseying along at a better clip than before..don’t know if they are related, but …

        • 8 JJ Saturday, April 7, 2012 at 10:23 am

          I spent most of yesterday offline, cleaning up all the garbage in my computer. Antivirus showed there was no problem that way, so it was just due to a lot of extraneous crap left over by surfing the net, especially to the places that have advertising. The Spyware they leave can be almost as bad as a virus for slowing down your computer.
          I must have downloaded 5 different kinds of mac cleaner-outers.
          Anyway, it seems to be working a lot better now :)

  4. 10 Howie Thursday, April 5, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Sic em Anonymous .. we’ll wait.

    • 11 JJ Friday, April 6, 2012 at 9:40 am

      8-) If it was anyone else I’d be pissed… ie. if it turns out to be my cable company.
      But for Anonymous, I’m willing to put up with the inconvenience. 8-)

  5. 12 stageleft Thursday, April 5, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    teh InterToobs was a tad slow when I was downtown at work today, but then I came home and jumped on the fiber connection I had strung into my apartment (paid for in large part by kicking the cable networks out of that same apartment a couple of years ago) and all was good again.

    The most hysterical thing about this story is there are a great many bone heads out there who were just a short time ago saying that Anonymous needed to be hunted down and shot like rabid skunks because they took time out of their busy days to teach Toews a bit of an Internet lesson – now cheering them on for sticking one to the Chinese.

    ….. and yes, I have seen fit to remind a few of them of the hypocracy of their current statements; an exercise that illustrated (once again) that amid their other great many failings the political hyper-partisan set neither accepts constructive criticism gracefully, nor appreciates being reminded of their own personal positions of only a month ago :-)

    • 13 JJ Friday, April 6, 2012 at 9:04 am

      Hi stageleft! 8-)

      Oh no, you must never remind boneheads (of any political stripe, hyperpartisanship is all that’s required) that a little Consistency is a Good Thing.

      Although I would say you’re doing them a service to remind them of their hypocrisy so they can resolve the issue, the boneheads themselves tend to not appreciate this kind of assistance. I can’t imagine why… I’d want to know if I was contradicting myself and making myself look like a brainless dumbass.

  6. 14 sassy Thursday, April 5, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Do you use a Mac? Could it have anything to do with this?

    550,000 Macs infected by trojan virus

    • 15 JJ Friday, April 6, 2012 at 8:57 am

      :shock: Thanks — I scanned my whole system right away when I read this. As a Mac user, I sometimes forget there are viruses out there that target macs, although they’re few and far between. I caught one a couple of months ago, so they are out there.

      Anyway, all was clear, no nasty little bugs crawling around. But thanks for the reminder :)

  7. 16 Wireless Internet Alberta Friday, April 6, 2012 at 4:14 am

    Great many thanks! Your post contains information that brings me a step closer to getting the bigger picture. Cheers!
    Wireless Internet Alberta

  8. 18 John Farnham (@opit) Tuesday, April 10, 2012 at 1:29 am

    Our net connection has been nuts for a while – so much so I changed out the router for a gaming supply style unit.I did hear Telus was fine while Shaw went ditzy nationally – as reflected in wait times to query them.


Leave a Reply

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 618,362
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

