Insult to injury

It’s enough that the government extorts money out of me whenever I log an hour’s work or spend a dime, not to mention the protection money I pay them once a year just so I can live unharassed by them on my own bought-and-paid-for property. But presumably it at least goes into such things as health care, which I can justify, so I don’t mind (too much).

However, I call BULLSHIT when they start spending it* like this.

*Edit for clarification: No, I don’t pay taxes in Ontario anymore (at least not in the last 4 years) but I still get mightily pissed off at stupidity like this.

On the other hand, forget about all that. Montreal Simon’s got it right: wait, watch, point and laugh.

Mike agrees (see update).

16 Responses to “Insult to injury”


  1. 1 Mike Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Yeah, but for some nutters, apparently demanding your tax dollars be spend elsewhere makes you, somehow, against freedom. Because its only freedom when THEY get a platform to spew their crap.

  2. 2 pogge Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 11:01 am

    I can appreciate the sentiment but aren’t you in BC? Your tax dollars don’t support TV Ontario. Mine, on the other hand, …

  3. 3 Mike Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 11:13 am

    pogge,

    JJ cannot stand the IDEA, and if it happens here, it’ll happen in BC.

    Rock on sister.

  4. 4 Beijing York Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 11:52 am

    I fired off an e-mail to TVO and the Minister of Education. I’m no longer in Ontario but it does set a bad precedent for all public broadcasting.

  5. 5 JJ Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 11:55 am

    pogge – Yeah, this occurred to me after I posted and ran. (TVO??… ahahaha!) It doesn’t really matter — it doesn’t change my opinion that this is a rotten thing to waste tax money on.

  6. 6 JJ Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Beijing – I think I paid taxes in Ontario for so long that I still feel like I’m under their taxman’s thumb 😛

    You’re right, anyway, it’s the principle of the thing and a bad precedent.

  7. 7 JJ Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Mike

    Because its only freedom when THEY get a platform to spew their crap.

    I find it hard to take them seriously at all. Nobody’s stopping her from flapping her yap, just not on the taxpayer’s dime.

  8. 8 fern hill Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Yabbut, JJ, what about all those evul Lie-bruls on taxpayer-funded CBC? Eh?

  9. 9 JJ Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    fern hill – The CBC is a Canadian institution well worth the funding. We need the lieberal CBC to offset the Nazi CTV and Global. 😛

  10. 10 mouthyorange Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    JJ, does this mean you only moved to BC four years ago? Somehow I had the impression you’d moved there ages ago.

  11. 11 JJ Thursday, February 12, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    orange – No, I’ve lived out here for 25 years. The rest of my family is back east & we had some personal family business not long ago that involved paying provincial taxes.

  12. 12 Torontonian Friday, February 13, 2009 at 9:01 am

    The discussion was well intentioned. What brought it down was the selection of some of the participants.
    All that would be necessary for a total derailment would be adding Coren and McVety. Then it would have been a real train wreck.

    I’m glad TVO put it on the air and had a talent–in the person of Steve Paikin–to try to moderate things.

    Imagine how it would have resulted with Coren or Charles Adler in the chair.

    The broadcast did highlight how much Shaidle is in a different league and that’s why we don’t see her in mainstream TV.

    She’s so special and self-important she won’t allow comments on her site. Totally bush league, that woman.

  13. 13 JJ Friday, February 13, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Torontonian –

    I’m glad TVO put it on the air and had a talent–in the person of Steve Paikin–to try to moderate things.

    I haven’t seen it but from what I’ve heard it was a good performance (as in “good for anyone who likes to see creeps like her exposed for the vapid cretins they are”).

    Yep. I went a little crazy yesterday and forgot the most basic rule that sunshine is the best disinfectant. (That’s what happens when you do an insta-post without reflection then head out the door.) The blogosphere isn’t the real world, and when people like that speak in a real world venue, they really do look ridiculous. It’s far better to let them speak and let people see them for what they are.

  14. 14 Mike Friday, February 13, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I am more than happy to say when I am wrong. And in this instance I am wrong.

    Simon, stageleft and balbulican are right.

  15. 15 Beijing York Friday, February 13, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Maxwell’s House has posted the entire program on his site:

    http://maxwell-devin.blogspot.com/2009/02/not-so-slim-shaidle-on-tvo-video.html

    I couldn’t endure the entire hour after 30 minutes. It was, as Simon described, a snooze fest. But I do think that Paiken purposely tried to shut her out, perhaps doing some damage control for TVO. That’s too bad actually because the end effect is that she came across as far more reasoned than she deserves. (Especially with that arrogant twit psychologist almost agreeing with her at every turn.)

    Simon’s dog Kerouc farted during the most contentious bon mots, “radical Islamists”. The context: the young guy from the humanist/atheist group brought up the northern European countries as being successful secular states that also boast the best progressive and compassionate social policies and accommodate diversity; Shaidle pipes in saying that “some of us” don’t think “nanny statism” is something to cheer for and that because of their diversity/tolerance they now are seeing the “rise of radical Islamists” in those countries.

    Paikin quickly directed the conversation elsewhere leaving us without the pleasure of witnessing her idiotic hatred and venom.

  16. 16 JJ Friday, February 13, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Beijing – Thanks for the link. Hahahahaha! I watched the whole thing, more or less (while I was doing other stuff on the computer). Wow, she came across as a real nitwit. I completely recant my position on this. Good work, TVO.


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,323
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


