Commenting at conservative blogs: A cautionary tale

Three words: screenshot, screenshot and screenshot.  Because if you make a comment that proves them wrong, it will not be allowed to stand.

In a post about honour killings, the Blogging Tories’ “Hunter” (famous for her outstanding contributions to society’s Downward Spiral of Stupid), mouths off in one of those standard “Where are the feminists??” rants:

No Honour In Killing!_1248648221397She prattles on brainlessly for awhile, wipes the drool off her chin, and concludes:

No Honour In Killing!_1248648239891

That “feminists are too busy yapping about daycare and equal pay to be bothered with such things as honour killings” came as a surprise to me, having just read not one, but three(3) posts by feminists on this very topic.   I was compelled to advise Hunter of this, with links to said posts at Dammit Janet, Broadsides and ACR:

Climbing Out Of The Dark - Post a Comment_1248625908785

And rather than admit she was wrong, Little Miss Gutless does what these cowardly pieces of shit always do:

No Honour In Killing!_1248648765544

And I’m sick of it.   I’m sick and tired of feminist-bashing assholes mouthing off before they have the facts, especially considering feminists have been agitating against abuse of women in Muslim countries for over 20 years, while conservatives only jumped on the bandwagon after 9/11.

Go ahead:  prove me wrong.

A S S H O L E S !!!

62 Responses to “Commenting at conservative blogs: A cautionary tale”


  1. 1 fern hill Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Ah. Good, you posted links to three good posts. DAMMIT JANET! was getting some hits from there so I looked and your post had already been removed. So I put another link to DJ! in. :evulsmiley: As of a few minutes ago, it was still there.

    But I’m learning. I too took a screen shot of it.

  2. 2 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    fern hill – When I’m dealing with these dishonest cretins, I always screenshot. No exceptions.

    I figure I can always toss the file if I don’t need it, but it sure comes in handy if I do. and with these gutless cowards that’s about 50% of the time.

    I just reposted the links there (plus a link to THIS post), and took a screenshot. Unlikely I’ll need it, but who knows. Screenshotting is like an automatic reflex for me whenever I comment at a conservative site: that’s how gutless and dishonest some of them are.

  3. 3 Dr. Prole Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Good f’ing grief, one of the first posts I ever did on ACR was about Egypt making FGM against the law. That disgusting creature can go straight to hell.

    Bite me, Hunter. Aaaand one more time now, with feeling!

  4. 4 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Dr.Prole – Yeah, seriously. And I don’t know of any other blogger who promotes RAWA as much as ACR does…
    Gee, where are the wingnuts??? Just as I thought: *crickets*.

    DUMBFUCKS!!!

    (I’m seriously pissed)

  5. 5 skdadl Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    “female gentile mutilation”??? Is that really what s/he/it wrote?

  6. 6 J. A. Baker Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    What’s worse is when you realize that there are only TWO purposes in a post like that:

    1) Bash the feminists for alleged “misplaced priorities” (never mind that conservatives are the johnny-come-lately’s on this point)

    2) Demonize all Muslims as incurably violent reprobates worthy only of being shoved into Adam Yoshida’s macrowave ovens.

  7. 7 J. A. Baker Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Arrgh…Weirdpress ate my comment again!

  8. 8 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    skdadl – Yes, that’s what she really wrote. OMFG, what a maroon. Reminds me of my idiot ex, he pronounced the word “genitals” as “GENT-in-als”. 🙄
    Is it any wonder I have no patience left for these people?

  9. 9 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    JAB – I retrieved it from the spam bin. (If you put a link at the end of a comment, it’ll sometimes get caught in the bin.)

    Ew, Yoshida. No wonder akismet thought it was spam. That’s truly one of the most disgusting posts I’ve ever read. SEVERE brain damage going on there.

    What’s really disgusting is that rather than focus on the issue, Hunter uses it as an opportunity to bash feminists… and for what, I’m not sure, since it appears that feminists are as concerned about it as anyone. Those 3 posts are just ones that I happened to read today and yesterday.

  10. 10 skdadl Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    People were writing about RAWA at babble back in spring 2001, when I first got there, before 9/11, before so much of this shit.

    I doubt that this Hunter person could have found Afghanistan on a map before 9/11, and s/he/it probably still couldn’t find Somalia. The rightwingnuts have never done their homework, have never done the serious political support work, have never actually done any work that I’ve noticed except to memorize talking points from American neocon masters of the Segretti rat-fucking school like Karl Rove.

    And they’re all sweaty besides.

  11. 11 RossK Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Uhhhhh…..

    Which organized religion is it, exactly, that does NOT….

    “…..allow(s) males to feel superior?

    _____

    But, to the precise topic at hand, at a time like this I think it is always a good idea to keep the Gilliard Doctrine in mind.

    It goes like this:


    “There’s a tendency for liberals to try and be fair, to consider other viewpoints, so we get baited by them in debates on terms that they set. I’m going to act on the following: I don’t care what conservatives think……..

    (because)

    …..I’m not writing to make conservatives happy. I want them to hate my opinions. I’m not interested in debating them.

    I want to stop them.”

    ______
    Who’s this ‘Gilliard’ person?, you might be asking yourself (or not)…..Well, in my opinion he was the greatest progressive blogger of all time. Honest.

    .

  12. 12 Mike Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Well Hunter and Bridget Pellerin are lying …. well you know. I never heard a word about honour killings from them until it was useful to bash Moooslims.

    They are deceitful cretins, the lot of them.

  13. 13 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    RossK – Thanks for that quote from Steve G (I know who he was and I agree with you 100%), it’s an important reminder.

    “I’m not interested in debating them.”

    Exactly.

  14. 14 Dr.Dawg Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    “female gentile mutilation”

    Sounds downright anti-Semitic. 🙂

    Ah, Steve Gilliard. RIP.

  15. 15 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    skdadl – The primary reason Washington never recognized the Taliban as an “official” government was because feminists raised shit about them. And RAWA was being promoted by feminists long before 9/11 — as you say, even at babble. So I find it irksome that conservatives, who are basically johnny come latelies to the cause of Muslim women, have the temerity to mouth off about feminists. Assholes!

  16. 16 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Mike – It’s not even lying, I’d have more respect for them if they were creative enough to lie — it’s just mouthing off. Mouthing off without knowing what they’re talking about, and themselves having only recently jumped on the bandwagon about the plight of Muslim women. They couldn’t have given a flying fuck about it on Sept.10/2001.

  17. 17 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    Dr.Dawg – Hmm, Freudian slip maybe? 😛

  18. 18 Avatarbaby Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    actually JJ i can’t understand why you bother attempting dialogue with these good housekeeping supremacists.

  19. 19 pale Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    The only reason I knew this was going on was from twitter. LOL.

    We dont cover womens issues…
    I guess that search function is way too much for that fake “hunter” twit eh?

    http://www.acreativerevolution.ca/search/node/rawa
    http://www.acreativerevolution.ca/search/node/killing+women

    And yes I do talk about daycare and equal fucking pay. It is a massive concern to many women in Canada. What a fucking self loathing tart that Hunter thing is.

  20. 20 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    avatarbaby – Well, it wasn’t an attempt at dialogue as much as a (to use one of Daddy Dobson’s terms)”correction”. I’d already seen a post somewhere else dumping on feminists for the same reason (none), and when I saw Hunter doing the same thing I lost my grip.

    I’m not interested in dialoguing with “conservatives” of Hunter’s lame calibre. I enjoy engaging conservatives with brains, but sadly, they’re few and far between.

  21. 21 JJ Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    pale – Oh, a search function… the really pathetic thing is she wouldn’t have made it to your search box because she didn’t even bother checking prog. blogs to see if maybe perhaps possibly she might be Wrong to claim that feminists weren’t speaking out about this issue.

    Lazy slut 😉

  22. 22 J. A. Baker Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Sounds downright anti-Semitic. 🙂

    I thought “Gentile” was the derogatory slur the ancient Israelites used to describe non-Jews?

  23. 23 hemmingforddogblog Monday, July 27, 2009 at 1:26 am

    One of the “rules” at Hunter’s blog is that NO ONE link to leftard blogs. Immediate deletion. (Unless she is a work — no computer access) 8)

    In addition to “gentile mutilation” she talked about “Stepford wife’s”.

    Hunter is the gift that keeps on giving…a lot like SaWah…her hero!

  24. 24 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 2:33 am

    JAB – I think Dr.Dawg was joking in reference to something that comes up on his blog fairly often, that some people are too quick to fly off the handle and call other people ‘anti-semitic’.

  25. 25 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 2:46 am

    SQ – Oh, that’s one of her “rules”, eh? I didn’t know that. Well why not? More information can only be a bad thing, if you’re determined to remain as stupid as possible.

  26. 26 hemmingforddogblog Monday, July 27, 2009 at 3:27 am

    In her book we are elitists. ie educated. She really is an anti-intellectual nutcase. She had a posting a while back ranting about Peter’s principles. (The Peter Principle) hahahahaha

    I shouldn’t laugh, because it really is quite sad…

  27. 27 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Elitism = The belief that the earth revolves around the sun.

    Hunter and her ilk never fail to live down to my expectations.

    It would be sad, if these people didn’t wear their ignorance like a badge of honour, and if that ignorance wasn’t so harmful to society — that’s what I mean by “the Downward Spiral of Stupid”.

  28. 28 herenowgal Monday, July 27, 2009 at 7:29 am

    Can I ask what is probably going to be taken as a very stupid question? However, would someone please explain why the most of the commenters on this blog have to use such profanity when making their points?

  29. 29 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 8:18 am

    herenowgal – We all know each other here, the relaxed conversational tone just reflects that. Why do you ask?

  30. 30 Dr. Prole Monday, July 27, 2009 at 8:32 am

    herenowgal, I write pretty much exactly the way I speak. So, even though I’m apparently an elitist liberal and a certified Docter of Pontification, I’m actually a blue collar shlub who likes to pepper my conversations with the word “fuck” a lot. Plus I have a big crush on Rahm Emanuel and I’m hoping it’ll make me more attractive to him.

  31. 31 mouthyorange Monday, July 27, 2009 at 8:52 am

    The stupidest thing is, for decades conservative women and progressive feminists could agree that violence against women is a terrible thing, when we could agree upon little else. So why, now, would types like Hunter grab an opportunity such as this to turn on progressive feminists? (Aside from the fact they’re not reading.)

    To spin the racism that’s wound into their reaction to woman killings carried out by brown Muslims, of course!

  32. 32 mouthyorange Monday, July 27, 2009 at 8:54 am

    herenowgal — I don’t get the question. Where’s the profanity?

  33. 33 pale Monday, July 27, 2009 at 9:10 am

    herenowgal

    That is a rather interesting question….

    Many of the wingnut blogs say the most hateful, racist, misogynist things. But thats ok as long as there are no swears. Oh MY!
    It’s ok to clamour for torture of the skeery brown folks etc. But they blow a gasket when someone drops the F bomb.

    The progressive blogs, swearing is often ok. Racism, hate, and general assholery isn’t acceptable. (OMG I SWORE!)
    I guess that all comes down to values? Doesn’t it?

    🙂

  34. 34 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Dr.Prole – Rahm! 😯 😉 8) Fuckin’ A

  35. 35 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 11:09 am

    orange

    To spin the racism that’s wound into their reaction to woman killings carried out by brown Muslims, of course!

    You nailed it.
    In their sly, stupid way, they make it quite obvious. Suggesting that feminists should be protesting at mosques in support of Muslim women, besides being just dumb — why protest at a mosque to support Muslim women when half the people inside are, duh, Muslim women — it shows that their real concern isn’t women, it’s Islam.

  36. 36 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 11:12 am

    orange – It didn’t occur to me to check when I replied to herenowgirl, but of the 27 posts before hers, only 3 of them had any swearing in them.

    Interestingly enough, none of the guys swear at all, it’s the uppity women 😯 😆

  37. 37 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 11:15 am

    pale – Funny how there’s always been a double standard in that respect. Right-wingers (I refuse to call these people “conservatives”) can spew the most utterly hateful, eliminationist shit, but it’s okay as long as there’s no “bad words” in it.

    But their hypocrisy is why we love them sooooo much 😈

  38. 38 Frank Frink Monday, July 27, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Interestingly enough, none of the guys swear at all, it’s the uppity women

    Fucking hell. I need to comment more often, tabarnak.

  39. 39 J. A. Baker Monday, July 27, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    Interestingly enough, none of the guys swear at all, it’s the uppity women

    Well, fuck that. I’m not too nice to be a kusottare. 🙂 😆

    But then, that’s how I roll.

  40. 40 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    😆 I thought you were just a Southern Gentleman, y’all 😉

  41. 41 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    FF – Ahh, Tabarnak! One of the truly great Swears. Unfortunately it’s probably under the radar for most “conservatives”, being FRAAAAANCHE.
    (But fucking hell makes the cut.)

  42. 42 Mike Monday, July 27, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Hosti!

    Fuck!

    There we go.

  43. 43 JJ Monday, July 27, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Hahahahaha! That’s the spirit 😉 Oh, the panties’ll be in a twist now.

  44. 44 J. A. Baker Monday, July 27, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Let their panties twist in the wind.

    Douchenozzles.

  45. 45 mouthyorange Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 2:40 am

    JJ – “… of the 27 posts before hers, only 3 of them had any swearing in them.”

    By asking “where’s the profanity” I actually meant to challenge herenowgal’s definition of it, and by so doing, point out that what’s profane isn’t fixed in stone but that different folks will define it differently. If the comments had gone that way and if my fucking godforsaken internet service hadn’t gone down again last night, I’d have added that there’s no such thing as profane — it’s a judgement that humans lay onto stuff. Pale got at it a different and great way in her comment about values. On this blog, swearing is not profane, but racism, hate, mysogyny, and general assholery are. In Québec, words against the church are profane but body words are not.

    I was implying all this — but I realized after I posted my thing that on this thread there wasn’t much swearing and so my comment would also read that way.

    Oh well! Sigh.

    At least the men have redeemed themselves now.

  46. 46 J. A. Baker Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 5:24 am

    You know, it’s funny. There are so many comments on this post that for a moment I thought Twatsy had shown up.

  47. 47 Calgal Wednesday, July 29, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Once again, I give you Naomi Lakritz. She’s a little slow off the mark here, but as usual, really stupid and predictable.

    http://www.calgaryherald.com/opinion/Sisterhood+silence+over+honour+killings+deafening/1838861/story.html

  48. 48 JJ Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Calgal – I missed this comment, sorry.

    One thing all these fem-bashing women have in common is they’re all fetus fetishists. Gee, I wonder if that has anything to do with why they hate feminists so much? They’ve latched onto this issue because the benefits are twofold: (1) slag feminists for not doing “enough”, whatever that means, and (2) vent some racism (and I’m not the type who’s quick to call “racism”, I generally look for any other reason than that).

    I find it irritating that they use this particular issue as a reason to slag feminists — everyone’s against abuse of Muslim women and we’ve all spoken out about it (feminists and others) so I don’t see what the problem is. What else they expect feminists to do? What are they doing? Assholes.

  49. 49 JJ Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    And also – This story about the 4 women killed is a really weird one — it’s far from a slam dunk that it was an “honour killing” or any kind of cultural issue. The details of it don’t look that way. Not that that makes it any more excusable, just that I’m always amazed how quick these right wing assholes are to jump on the “honour killing” bandwagon.

  50. 50 Frank Frink Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Besides it’s completely false for this to be framed consistently, persistently or relentlessly as a ‘Muslim issue’, for several reasons.

    1) There are approx. 1.3 million Muslims in North America and yet 99.99999% don’t appear to be killing wives and daughters in ‘honour killings’. Is there some honour killing epidemic that the MSM is keeping quiet?

    2) Muslims in North American include people from a variety of nations and cultures, including those who were born in Canada or the United States. I’ve never heard of honour killings among the Muslim communities from, for example, Indonesia, Malaysia, Bosnia or Albania. Have you?

    3) There is nothing in the Koran or teachings of Islam about ‘honour killings’. If you believe differently, show me. I’ve never been able to find it.

    4) What might be termed ‘honour killings’ in Canada have happened almost exclusively in families who are of the Sikh faith, not Islam. I don’t believe there is anything in the teachings of Sikhism about ‘honour killings’ either. If there is, show me.

    5) Finally, femicide is femicide and is usually committed, even by nice, white, middle-class suburban men, for some variantion of ‘she didn’t do what I wanted or what I demanded of her to do’. We just don’t call those ‘honour killings’.

  51. 51 JJ Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    FF – Yes, I like the double standard: if it’s Muslim/Arab man on woman violence, it’s something that’s integral to their culture. If it’s white/western man on woman violence, it’s a cultural anomaly. But really it all boils down to “the bitch had it coming”, in every culture.

    I find this obsession with “honour killings” a little creepy — the undertones of “genteel racism” are unmistakable. No question this kind of killing happens even in Canada, but the phenomenon receives disproportionate amount of attention. I have to wonder about people who are so quick to jump on the bandwagon. How about waiting until all the evidence is in? There is a concept known as “innocent until proven guilty”.

    This is just something that right-wing women have figured out they can use against feminists somehow, although I’m not exactly sure what they think feminists should be doing that they haven’t already done. And it’s not like conservative women are doing sweet fuck-all to help, other than pointing and shrieking “honour killing!!!” and stirring up hate against Muslims. If that’s supposed to help then yeah, I guess they’re helping 🙄

  52. 52 deBeauxOs Friday, July 31, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Hi, just came back from 8 days on Manitoulin Island, deliberately without laptop.

    Last week, as the news broke regarding criminal charges, I blogged about the 4 women’s murder, as JJ then fern hill pointed out.

    At another feminist blogsite (ACR?) someone commented that the very violent, bloody murder of Joanne Thatcher on orders from Colin Thatcher could arguably be considered a “honour” killing.

  53. 53 mouthyorange Saturday, August 1, 2009 at 2:46 am

    deBeauxOs – Yeh. The Colin Thatcher situation came to mind for me to in relation to this recent incident.

  54. 55 JJ Saturday, August 1, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Dr.Dawg – Very interesting, thank you. And to think they’re Catholics in Brazil… I thought all killing was against Catholic teaching.

    It reminds me of that old law in Texas where it’s legal to shoot your spouse if you catch them cheating on you. That sounds like honour killing to me.

    The first time I ever heard of honour killing, it was Sikhs involved IIRC. I don’t know when it became Muslimized — I think it’s probably just a matter of that’s where the spotlight has been for the last 8 years.

  55. 56 J. A. Baker Saturday, August 1, 2009 at 11:16 am

    The first time I ever heard of honour killing, it was Sikhs involved IIRC. I don’t know when it became Muslimized

    Probably because uninformed rubes can’t refuse to see the difference between Sikhs and Muslims…

  56. 57 JJ Saturday, August 1, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    JAB – Not only that, but the biggest terrorist attack in Canada was done by Sikhs (the Air India bombing). No Muslim attacks (that I know of).

  57. 58 Ryan Friday, August 28, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Day by day the republican party (not conservative in the least) is showing us new dimensions of stupid. You keep thinking they have hit rock bottom, but boulders keep tumbling down and making more craters.

  58. 59 JJ Saturday, August 29, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Ryan – That’s so very true. I keep thinking “They CAN’T get any stupider than this…” and sure enough… they can.

    There’s no rationing of Teh Stupid, that’s for sure.

  59. 60 J. A. Baker Saturday, August 29, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    There’s no rationing of Teh Stupid, that’s for sure.

    Funny, that’s what John Cole said.

  60. 61 JJ Saturday, August 29, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Haha! It reminds me of that old joke about standing behind the door when the brains were being handed out… some people clearly didn’t get their “ration” of the gray matter.


  1. 1 JABbering Stooge :: There Will Be Fetus Fetishist Persecution Highs :: September :: 2009 Trackback on Friday, September 11, 2009 at 1:43 pm

Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,841
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


