Malicious Tweet

Be careful out there, Tweeps!:

A 127-character tweet about a moldy apartment in Chicago could end up costing @abonnen $50,000.

On May 12th Amanda Bonnen, who has since deleted her Twitter account, responded to a friend with the tweet, “@JessB123You should just come anyway. Who said sleeping in a moldy apartment was bad for you? Horizon realty thinks it’s okay.”

@abonnen only had about 20 followers that directly received the message, but her profile was set to public, and Chicago-based Horizon Group Management discovered the tweet.

Chicago Now reports the company then filed a defamation lawsuit alleging Bonnen, “maliciously and wrongfully published the false and defamatory Tweet on Twitter, thereby allowing the Tweet to be distributed throughout the world.”

Horizon is seeking $50,000 in damages.

$393.70 a character, that’s a steep tweet.

12 Responses to “Malicious Tweet”


  1. 1 J. A. Baker Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Sounds to me like a SLAPP suit. Sadly, that’s pretty typical of corporations these days.

  2. 3 pale Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    It all depends…LOL. If they sent any letters in writing saying that any mold was not dangerous, then….Heh. They may be just embarrassing themselves too. Often these things are in writing.

    I had a landlady that told me the mold growing out of the wall from on top of the baseboards was dirt. (My housekeeping she said) AND that the little witch wasn’t going to pay the damage deposit.
    But she did pay after I tore a strip off her and threatened to call the health dept.

    Landlords are often scum.
    🙂

  3. 4 RossK Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Tweet chill is one thing, but…..

    What about Shill Chill?

    Yup, just in case you missed it, Ms. Holmes is back with some new accusations of her own….

    .

  4. 5 JJ Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    pale – I think it’s quite telling that the first thing they did was launch a lawsuit for defamation… I probably would have considered it a sign that someone needed to go have a look at the woman’s apartment, but maybe that’s just me.

    Landlords can indeed be scum. I’ve been one, I know 😉

  5. 6 JJ Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    RossK – I saw that! What the hell? I feel sorry for her dog, but when you do what she’s doing, you’re putting yourself in the line of fire. (That said, I highly doubt if anyone would be mean enough to threaten to poison her dog… when I saw her dog’s picture at her site I was all “Awwwwww… cute puppie… too bad you belong to an asshole”.

  6. 7 RealityBites Friday, July 31, 2009 at 5:47 am

    I have an interesting similar situation.

    I had mice in my apartment for years – like you could vacuum the closet and four would come out. Brought the city in, they issued an order and they put a trap (one) in my apartment – this after years of my using traps and poison. Twice Sebastien got into the poison and had to be treated (and that costs a LOT of money!)

    Last December the building was sold. We were told the December rent goes to the old landlord. I said screw that. They can’t evict me and they can eat the money. They’ve cost me over two months rent in vet bills, not to mention loss of quality.

    They sent me a collection letter (first contact) in March, which I ignored. They sent me another in mid-June, threatening me with small claims court and the credit bureau. I replied thusly. They made one more threat whining “but you have to pay” and I haven’t heard from them since (granted it’s only been a month):

    Please advise your client that under no circumstances will I be paying the $XXXX demanded.

    For two years, under MeanCompany’s management, I suffered under an intolerable infestation of mice in my unit, and MeanCompany refused to take any meaningful action, even when ordered to by the Toronto Municipal Licensing & Standards Division (Order xxxxxxxx, issued Sep xx, 2008).

    I have considerable photographic evidence of the conditions under which I was forced to live by your client, showing numerous mice, both living and dead, and their droppings. As a result of being forced to deal with the problem myself, on two occasions my dog was accidently poisoned, resulting in veterinary bills far in excess of the amount claimed by your client.

    Should your client wish to pursue this matter in court and/or register this as a debt with Equifax Canada, I will be forced to file a claim against your client myself, seeking full compensation for my veterinary bills as well as recovery of rent paid for accommodations that were not only substandard, but in severe violation of standards. I will also obtain as much media and internet publicity as I possibly can, so that in internet searches “MeanCompany” becomes synonymous with “Rodent Infestation.”

    I suggest it is in everyone’s best interests to simply let this matter drop.

    Respectfully,

    Me

    I could obviously afford the money (it being just one month’s rent) but I’ll be damned if I’ll give it to them without a court order.

  7. 8 mouthyorange Friday, July 31, 2009 at 5:58 am

    RB – Applause!

  8. 9 RealityBites Friday, July 31, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Thank you – I thoroughly enjoyed writing it.

  9. 10 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    RB – 😆 😆 😆 OUTSTANDING LETTER!!!

    You keep telling me you’re not a lawyer… if you’re not, you should be.

  10. 11 Reality Bites Friday, July 31, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    A lawyer would likely be a lot more subtle. My way is more fun.

  11. 12 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Hahahahha, you bad 😉


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,766
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


