VP Joe Biden, hatespeecher

During a recent interview with the Wall Street Journal about foreign policy and eastern Europe, VP Biden Took The LORD’s Name In Vain:

“I can see Putin sitting in Moscow saying, ‘Jesus Christ, Iran gets the nuclear weapon, who goes first?’ Moscow, not Washington.”

You might think, as any normal person would, that Biden’s offhand comment was pretty harmless… oh yeah? Well, here’s something to file under “O” for “Over-reaction”and “Over-sensitive”, with copies filed under “P” for “Persecution Complexes” and “I” for “Indignance High”.   It would certainly be a good article to have on hand the next time you get any backtalk from a wingnut about “political correctness”:

It’s also long been the rule among prudent politicians with national aspirations to say nothing unkind about anybody’s religious faith. But the silence that has greeted Vice President Joe Biden’s use of “Jesus Christ” as an expletive in an on-the-record interview with The Wall Street Journal, suggests that such prudence has been tossed aside.  […]

Of course, as predictably as the sunrise:

Either way, had Biden used the name Mohammed in this manner, Muslims would be crying foul.

Where’s the outrage!?

So where is the outrage about Biden’s hate speech against Christians?

And invoking the name of Jesus Christ is meant to demean and degrade and spread hatred of Christians how, exactly?  It’s like yelling “Muhammed!” or “Gays!” — utterly meaningless (as opposed to statements about Muslims and gays which are obviously meant to foment hatred).Anti-christian bigotry image by Primate_bucket on Photobucket_1248977694723

Apart from comic relief, this article makes the point that in spite of all their bombast about free speech, religious social conservatives are the last people who can actually be trusted to uphold such principles.

NOTE: Pharygula linked to this article, so check the comments.  Haha!

(via pharyngula)

31 Responses to “VP Joe Biden, hatespeecher”


  1. 1 Bruce Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Oh Jesus Christ! Some people really need to lighten up.

  2. 2 J. A. Baker Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Jesus H. Christ on a hockey stick, Mark Tapscott is a whiny shitburger!

  3. 3 mouthyorange Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Jesus fucking Christ. Not that he’d give a shit if we used his name that way! I give the guy way more credit than that. It’s his self-proclaimed followers I worry about.

  4. 4 mouthyorange Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    The nutcase ones, at least!

    I’ve got a friend who is a nun. And she doesn’t give a shit if I say shit or impulsively preface a sentence with, “Jesus, …”. She’s not a nutcase.

    The nutcases don’t just want to control our genitals, they want to control our mouths now. 😆

  5. 5 Frank Frink Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Silly me, I always thought his name was Jesus Fuckin’ Murphy.

  6. 6 J. A. Baker Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Silly me, I always thought his name was Jesus Fuckin’ Murphy.

    What, Jesus is fuckin’ Murphy? Jesus Christ, don’t tell Mark Tapscott! 😉 😆

  7. 7 JJ Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    “Jesus H. Christ” is the expression I use. I used it today when I hit my thumb with a hammer. Then later a 6′ length of 2×4 fell on my head and *other words* were used… words too hideous even for this blog 😯

  8. 8 mouthyorange Friday, July 31, 2009 at 1:59 am

    Christ almighty JJ, did you really hit your head?

  9. 9 J. A. Baker Friday, July 31, 2009 at 6:08 am

    words too hideous even for this blog 😯

    😯

    JJ, you little pottymouth!

    😆 😆 😆 😆

  10. 10 RealityBites Friday, July 31, 2009 at 10:11 am

    I thought his name was Jesus H. Christ.

  11. 11 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    orange – Yeah, I had the 2/4 propped up against the wall and I started doing some other stuff and it fell over and bonked me. And it really HURT! But my head is hard 😉

  12. 12 mouthyorange Friday, July 31, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Jesus. Well, it’s a good thing some of us have got hard heads! We need ’em. 😉

    If you start feeling dizzy or sick or anything, you’re not going to fool around with that, are you?

  13. 13 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    orange – It’s normal for me to feel sick & dizzy 😆 😉

  14. 14 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    JAB – Don’t worry, I won’t say it here. It’s for special occasions only, like sudden pain. (About the only time i ever use it is when I’m doing hammer & nails type work.)

  15. 15 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    RB – What does the “H” stand for? Harold?

  16. 16 Frank Frink Friday, July 31, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    RB – What does the “H” stand for? Harold?

    I had the same thought, JJ. Then I had a second thought that it might just be a Harry S. Truman type of thing.

    Or maybe it’s ‘H’ for Hakim. 😉

  17. 17 Bruce Friday, July 31, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    I checked, there’s no interesting Etymology for the “H”.

    I was being polite, I usually say “Jesus Fuckin Christ”, or occasionally “Fuckin Jesus Fuckin Christ”, followed by another Fuck for good measure. The name doesn’t have any meaning to me other that as a part of our language.

    Sometimes I use “Fuckin Mutherfuckin Fuck Fuck Fuck” but I’m usually alone and in a good mood.

    If I really want to throw people off in public, I say “Gawsh Darn It All To Heck”.

  18. 18 mouthyorange Friday, July 31, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Fucky, fucky, fucky.

    Wasn’t it Horatio?

  19. 19 Frank Frink Friday, July 31, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Most unusual swear I’ve ever heard is “Shit A God Damn”, which you have to imagine being said with a thick New Brunswick Acadian accent since English is, for most of them, their second language. Never heard it outside that cultural and geographic context.

  20. 20 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    😆 Hahahaha, you guys.

    Amazing how creative we can get when something unexpected happens… I also use “Jesus, Jesus, JESUS!“, something I picked up from a bluenoser friend. (“Jaysus, Jaysus, JAYsus!”)

    or Jesus FUCK! Or shitfuck!

    If it’s just an annoying situation, I say “Oh, fuckaround!”

  21. 21 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    OFF TOPIC QUESTION – Is anyone else having trouble getting stageleft? Its taking forever to load, I’m wondering if it’s just me.

  22. 22 mouthyorange Friday, July 31, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Yep! Very slow.

  23. 23 J. A. Baker Friday, July 31, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    or Jesus FUCK! Or shitfuck!

    If it’s just an annoying situation, I say “Oh, fuckaround!”

    It’s funny, I’m starting to become fond of saying “Holy fuckbeans!” I don’t know why, but I just am.

  24. 24 mouthyorange Friday, July 31, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Fuckbeans! 😆 😆

  25. 25 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    “Fuckbeans”?? HAHAHAHAHA!

  26. 26 Frank Frink Friday, July 31, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Yeah, Stageleft has been slow loading. Guess we’re going to have to live with it over the long weekend as the bunker denizens have vacated the premises.

  27. 27 JJ Friday, July 31, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    FF – Maybe it’s just the server is having issues today, at least i hope so. Looks like an interesting open thread going on where people will be telling all their stories of the paranormal & unexplained.

    Can’t wait for SUZANNE to talk about how she started bleeding from the palms and feet as she walked by the Morgentaler clinic.

  28. 28 Reality Bites Saturday, August 1, 2009 at 2:53 am

    While we’re on the subject of swearing, many of you are probably familiar with Battlestar Galactica’s contribution to the English language, “frack.”

    I’ve noticed its use spreading, and I’m wondering if in time it will actually come to be considered a swear word.

  29. 29 J. A. Baker Saturday, August 1, 2009 at 6:44 am

    “Fuckbeans”?? HAHAHAHAHA!

    Ahh, but not just any old fuckbeans, JJ. HOLY fuckbeans! 😆 😆 😆 😆

  30. 30 mouthyorange Saturday, August 1, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Holy fucking fuckbeans.


  1. 1 JABbering Stooge :: Really? REALLY?! :: July :: 2009 Trackback on Thursday, July 30, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,346
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


