Songs in the key of Stupid

Oh my god… the teabaggers have a Theme Song!!!  …and it’s so outrageously goofy that I’m not sure if it’s even real.  But Republican Newt Gingrich seems to think so:

Newt Gingrich said “Don’t Tell Me It Can’t Be Done should be the rallying cry for the conservative movement, this is the anthem for the resurgance [sic] of the conservative movement.

Play it (with sound turned off, if necessary) and read the lyrics:  they cover all the brain-damaged teabaggin’ bases like God, guns, government spending,  judgement day, freedom (except the reproductive kind), battle cries, let’s roll, don’t tread on me, gubmint outta my medicare, Our Children, My Daddy…etc!   This can’t be for real:

Maybe some of the musicians can weigh in with a critique.

(via Pandagon)

25 Responses to “Songs in the key of Stupid”


  1. 1 J. A. Baker Friday, September 11, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    The Stupid! It BURNS!

    Seriously. I literally felt my IQ drop a couple dozen points just listening to that song!

  2. 2 Rob F Friday, September 11, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    This song it is just total crap,
    Just like that conservative rap.
    If it is turned up loud,
    It will attract a crowd,
    Who should all reduce it to scrap.

    This song it’s the worst that I know;
    For its movement’s in a death throe.
    It indoctrinates kids,
    Via the power grids.
    That’s why it really has to go.

  3. 3 Dr. Prole Friday, September 11, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Omg that could be from “Team America World Police”. I may never stop laughing!

  4. 4 Dr. Prole Friday, September 11, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    I wonder if they’ll go on tour with Darlene McBride?

  5. 5 pale Friday, September 11, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    I just keep thinking of WKRP when Johnny Fever reached out and pulled the needle over the record and said…..BOOOOOOOOOOOOOGEEEEERRRR.

  6. 6 J. A. Baker Friday, September 11, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Okay, WTF? All I did was change the post title (and post slug) and that is enough for it to send out a new trackback ping? WTF?

  7. 7 Frank Frink Friday, September 11, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    They key of Stupid. Yeah, I’m pretty sure I’ve played in that a key a few times… usually starting somewhere in between the fifth and sixth brown pop at the practice space.

    But never, ever have we sung Teh Lyrics of Stupid.

    This is just slightly different that “Morans With Sines”. This is “Morans With Geetars”.

    Rob F nails it. It’s tailor made for its audience, the ones who don’t know the difference between capital and capitol.

    btw – I’m assuming (co-songwriter) Steve Amerson is this Steve Amerson. Pretty sure it’s the same guy.

  8. 8 Mandos Friday, September 11, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    It’s not stupidity, it’s nostalgia and resentment.

  9. 9 psa Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 1:38 am

    If cliches were fiber then this would be the runny shits that result from an overdose.

  10. 10 brebis noire Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 4:14 am

    Written by John (Let the Turkey Soar) Ashcroft, maybe?

  11. 11 lulugirrrlll Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 5:42 am

    I am not pressing play and you can’t make me. So there.

  12. 12 CK Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 6:03 am

    I like Rob F’s lyrics better!

    I unfortunately made the mistake of actually keeping the sound on. I know, morbid curiosity is definitely a weakness.

    Who’s Darlene McBride?

    Watch that this song is going to played at American churches now in lieu of the traditional opening hymn! YECH!!!!!!

  13. 13 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Admit it — you guys like it 😯 😛

  14. 14 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Rob F – 😆 Well done!

  15. 15 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Dr.Prole – That’s hilarious — I split a gut at then end when it shows the map of her road trip route

  16. 16 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 7:58 am

    JAB – I don’t know what’s happening with that — I don’t even know how to make trackbacks, I just link to other sites. Trackbacks are too confusing for me.

  17. 17 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 8:03 am

    FF & psa – But as musicians, what do you think of the song as a song? Talk about bland 🙄 that was my first thought (although I’m not a musician).

    How would you rate it against the Eagles’ Boys of Summer? 😛

  18. 18 psa Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 8:38 am

    wow… ‘bouys of summer’ versus ‘the flag is my diaper’. jeez. well let’s put it like this then, in better moments the eagles were able to craft a great song or two. steve amerson’s career relies upon pre-existing brain damage and religious and political soporifics to earn his daily white bread. oh and this song sucks worse.

  19. 19 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 8:42 am

    psa – Yay! I was afraid you were going to say this song sucks just as bad as Boys of Summer. Or *almost* as bad 😯 😉

  20. 20 Bruce Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Oh man, I just happened to be on the G5, which is hooked up to its own stereo, just about blew me out of the room. With all the windows open I had to scramble to turn it down, don’t want to have to explain that thing to the neighbours.

    Reminds me of when the redneck crowd adapted Merle Haggard’s “Okie From Muskogee” as an anthem, not realizing he intended it as a negative portrayal of uneducated Americans. Unfortunately this time, it looks for real.

  21. 21 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Bruce – Sorry about that! I should have posted a “NSFE(ears)” warning. Horrible, isn’t it 😛

    I hate to say it but I think you’re right — it’s real. Looking at pictures from the teabaggers parade in DC today would seem to support this opinion.

  22. 22 Bleatmop Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    I thought the haunting country tune “Freedom Only Counts When I Say So” was the conservative theme song, or did that go out the window when W left office?

  23. 23 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Bleatmop – LOL, I guess that went out with Georgie. Now that they’ve got a Civil War to fight with liberals, they need something a little more rousing to get them all fired up.


  1. 1 JABbering Stooge :: OWW! OWW! OWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!* :: September :: 2009 Trackback on Friday, September 11, 2009 at 7:58 pm
  2. 2 JABbering Stooge :: OWW! OWW! OWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!* :: September :: 2009 Trackback on Friday, September 11, 2009 at 8:08 pm

Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,050
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


