What happened

…between thenimage-3

911-woman-low

15354286

and now?

tea-baggers-washington_independent

081809_rallygun

teabaggers

I sometimes wonder if there’s one definitive moment or event where all the post-9/11 solidarity and goodwill (regardless of politics) hit a bump in the road and went sideways.

I think about 9/11, but mostly I think about what’s happened to us since then.  And wonder how we could go so wrong.

9 Responses to “What happened”


  1. 1 Bruce Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    What happened is everything I feared on the day of 9/11. Remember that article I wrote a few years back that Kate sent her flying monkeys at me over? The one that in spite of her, or perhaps because, got picked up by Salt Spring News and Slate magazine? I should have saved the comments because that was only a precursor to what is happening now.

    I think I’ll give it another look and see about reprising it this weekend. I wasn’t going to do anything this weekend but after seeing the stuff on TV that has been nothing but shows debunking the 9/11 “truthers” as if that’s worth the trouble, maybe we need something more emotional.

  2. 2 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Bruce – I remember it well, it was excellent. I’m pretty sure I’ve got it saved in my document file on my old G5.

    I think what drove the wingnuts crazy was that you said when you were in NYC, it was weird to see so much overt patriotism, and you were right. Compared to Canada, it’s a very different culture, especially at that time. Of course, the wingnutters were too dense to get your meaning: “weird” as in strange, different, is not necessarily “bad”. It’s just “weird”.

    You should absolutely run it again, maybe with some short remarks in the context of the present time and what’s going on.

  3. 3 Bruce Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Wow, you just might remember it better than me, what a compliment. Ok, I’ll dig it up and run it, assuming I still have it, check your email once in a while in case I don’t. 😆

  4. 4 Bruce Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Found the original Word file, I’m good. Just have to put it into context now.

  5. 5 JJ Saturday, September 12, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Awesome! I was about to fire up the old puter and go searching for it 😉

  6. 7 JJ Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Bruce – Nice update with context!

  7. 8 J. A. Baker Sunday, September 13, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    What happened between [9/11] and now?

    I blame Jerry Falwell. 😈


  1. 1 JABbering Stooge :: Must Read Internets :: September :: 2009 Trackback on Monday, September 14, 2009 at 7:59 am

Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,841
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


