Your personality, according to your blog

While surfing around last night in search of something amusing that wouldn’t cause my head to implode (ie. “News”), I stumbled upon “The Typealyzer“, which assesses a blogger’s personality by somehow analyzing the blog’s content… or something like that…

My results:

Typealyzer_1254346395938

Typealyzer_1254347485030

Hmm… Brain Activity in the “Thinking” quadrant is conspicuous in its absence.  Oh well.  What I lack in logic and cognitive ability I apparently make up for in touchy-feeliness.  Yuck.

It would be interesting to see how it performs on blogs that have more than one author.    Go on, give it a whack.

48 Responses to “Your personality, according to your blog”


  1. 1 hemmingforddogblog Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 11:50 am

    The entertaining and friendly type. They are especially attuned to pleasure and beauty and like to fill their surroundings with soft fabrics, bright colors and sweet smells. They live in the present moment and don´t like to plan ahead – they are always in risk of exhausting themselves.

    The enjoy work that makes them able to help other people in a concrete and visible way. They tend to avoid conflicts and rarely initiate confrontation – qualities that can make it hard for them in management positions.

    Hahahaha…we have identical profiles!

  2. 2 JJ Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    YES! We like to surround ourselves with the sweet smell of big wet dogs!!

  3. 3 catnip Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I’d give that one a fail. I’ve gone through Myers-Briggs testing a few times and have always come up as an INFP. The Typealyzer identified my blog an as INTJ.

  4. 4 JJ Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    catnip – I’m afraid you might be right. I done I’ve done M-B testing myself and I usually come up as predominantly logical and math-oriented. Oh well

    (“I done”? How can you tell I’m still woozy.)

  5. 5 fern hill Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    I ran ours, a group blog, though mainly it’s a two-person deal.

    Here’s how we rate:

    ISTP – The Mechanics
    [ISTP]
    The independent and problem-solving type. They are especially attuned to the demands of the moment and are highly skilled at seeing and fixing what needs to be fixed. They generally prefer to think things out for themselves and often avoid inter-personal conflicts.

    The Mechanics enjoy working together with other independent and highly skilled people and often like seek fun and action both in their work and personal life. They enjoy adventure and risk such as in driving race cars or working as policemen and firefighters.

    Some of it is a pretty good description of both dBO and me.

    Well, except for the ‘avoid inter-personal conflicts’ part. Obviously. 😀

  6. 6 JJ Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    fern hill – That’s what I would have guessed for you, either that or “Thinkers”.

  7. 7 Bruce Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    I got the same result as fern hill, I’m not convinced.

  8. 8 pale Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    ACR:

    The doers.

    The active and playful type. They are especially attuned to people and things around them and often full of energy, talking, joking and engaging in physical out-door activities.

    The Doers are happiest with action-filled work which craves their full attention and focus. They might be very impulsive and more keen on starting something new than following it through. They might have a problem with sitting still or remaining inactive for any period of time.

    LOL. um…..

  9. 9 psa Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    We am the mechanics too. which makes sense, if you need your vulgarity emitter tuned up, we’re there.

  10. 10 Scott Tribe Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Hah.. I’ve got one different from any of you.

    I think I’ll post the results at my blog 🙂

  11. 11 J. A. Baker Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Here’s mine:

    ISTJ — The Duty Fulfillers

    The responsible and hardworking type. They are especially attuned to the details of life and are careful about getting the facts right. Conservative by nature they are often reluctant to take any risks whatsoever.

    The Duty Fulfillers are happy to be let alone and to be able to work in their own pace. They know what they have to do and how to do it.

    Well, I for one object to being called “conservati”-…oh wait, they don’t mean it in a political sense… <Emily Litella>Never mind.</Emily Litella>

  12. 12 Torontonian Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Hello JJ. So good to see you back in
    circulation. I hope all is well with you now.
    ——
    I tried several and got nearly the same answers
    as the others above.

    I tried michaelcoren.com, cfrb.com, hannity.com
    cbc.ca, for starteres.

    The results are as pattern-book predictable as
    the taking points of conservatives during
    question period.

    It’s a pity you couldn’t somehow submit your
    cats’ names and see what comes up.

  13. 13 skdadl Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    This seems to be us’n:

    The logical and analytical type. They are especially attuned to difficult creative and intellectual challenges and always look for something more complex to dig into. They are great at finding subtle connections between things and imagine far-reaching implications.

    They enjoy working with complex things using a lot of concepts and imaginative models of reality. Since they are not very good at seeing and understanding the needs of other people, they might come across as arrogant, impatient and insensitive to people that need some time to understand what they are talking about.

    Well, I mean, so ok: “arrogant, impatient, and insensitive.” I can take all that. But that blue triangle that has me completely alienated from all the things I spent my life on, like poetry and caregiving, not to mention teh kittehs — I mean, that hurts.

  14. 14 fern hill Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    I described this process to my sweetie, emphasizing the speediness of the computation. He said: ‘Ah, a fortune cookie.’ I think that’s a good summation.

  15. 15 CK Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    I’m the mechanic. After looking at analysis & brain chart, it’s not such a big surprise for me.

  16. 16 Raphael Alexander Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Mine says that there is only activity in the left hemisphere of the brain. Should I call 911?

  17. 17 Dead Men Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Proved to be completely incorrect for me. I got the exact same ratings as you, JJ.

    I think you should be insulted. 😀

    I’ve taken the actual personality test in two separate places and both told me that I’m an INTJ.

    Ah, the same one that Hannibal Lecter would have… 😉

  18. 18 Peter Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    “Mine says that there is only activity in the left hemisphere of the brain. Should I call 911?”

    If it detected any activity at all, it can’t possibly be accurate.

  19. 19 Alison Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Both Creekside and The Galloping Beaver are apparently tinkers. Not such a bad life really – travelling arrogantly from town to town, impatiently fixing people’s pots and pans whether they want it done or not.

  20. 20 Joules Friday, October 2, 2009 at 6:04 am

    … Apparently, I don’t write in English…
    “Detected language Not enough data to determine language.. The only supported languages are English and Swedish. But stay tuned, we are expanding.”

  21. 21 J. A. Baker Friday, October 2, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Hey JJ, did you know that the Olympics bankrupted Vancouver (even though it won’t take place there for another four months)? Glenn Beck said so!

  22. 22 ellroon Friday, October 2, 2009 at 7:01 am

    I think the scanner for the test picks up quotes and everything else, so a lot of what I’m judged for is not my own wording. (I don’t think I’m an INTJ… I’m married to one.)

    I think I’ll plug it into other blogs though and see what comes up.

  23. 23 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Bruce – You’re a mechanic? No way, I had you pegged as a Thinker.

  24. 24 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:19 am

    pale

    The active and playful type. They are especially attuned to people and things around them and often full of energy

    I think that describes ACR to a T.

  25. 25 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:22 am

    psa

    if you need your vulgarity emitter tuned up, we’re there.

    Another group blog, another mechanic. I wonder if this thing picks up on different writing styles and if that has anything to do with that assessment.

  26. 26 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Scott – I’m not surprised that you would be assessed as the hard working, responsible type, but I’m surprised JAB would fall into that same category since your posting styles are totally different. I figured JAB would be in the same category as me. Hmm!

  27. 27 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:26 am

    JAB – Honestly, I thought you’d be an Entertainer like me. Our posting style, language etc is quite similar.

    It makes you wonder what criteria this thing uses… maybe frequency of posting has something to do with it?

  28. 28 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Torontonian

    It’s a pity you couldn’t somehow submit your
    cats’ names and see what comes up.

    I know what would come up:

    “You are a Kitteh-Blogger, owned by felines who relentlessly assail you with Teh Squeeeee.”

  29. 29 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:30 am

    skdadl – Is that the Thinker category? That’s what I would have guessed for the gang at POGGE.

  30. 30 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:37 am

    CK

    I’m the mechanic.

    Is there more than one blogger on your blog? Just wondering… I’ve only ever seen you writing on it, but so far the mechanics seem to be group blogs.

  31. 31 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:40 am

    RA

    Mine says that there is only activity in the left hemisphere of the brain. Should I call 911?

    After reading your post about Sarah Palin this morning, I’m thinking maybe it’s too late for 911 😯 You might need to be put in a cage.

  32. 32 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:45 am

    DM

    Proved to be completely incorrect for me. I got the exact same ratings as you, JJ.

    I think you should be insulted

    No way!
    I think it’s not exactly correct for me either. I’m less of a touchy-feely type person and more logic and math-oriented (and I say this because I’ve done these tests in meat space, and always scored strongly logic-oriented).

    We are probably still in the same category, it’s just not the one this little test says 😉 good company!

  33. 33 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Peter

    “Mine says that there is only activity in the left hemisphere of the brain. Should I call 911?”

    If it detected any activity at all, it can’t possibly be accurate.

    Wish I’d thought of that 😉

  34. 34 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Alison

    Both Creekside and The Galloping Beaver are apparently tinkers

    Interesting. One single-author blog and one group blog.

    “Traveling arrogantly” — the only way to fly 😉

  35. 35 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Joules

    Apparently, I don’t write in English…

    I got the same result when I ran the test on an empty placeholder blog I’ve got. It said that they detected “Thai” 😯 and were unable to analyze that language.

  36. 36 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:52 am

    JAB – I saw that — Vancouver has been retroactively bankrupted by the 2010 Olympics. Gawd, what a cretin Beck is. But more to the point, what cretins his fans are — they’ll swallow that bullshit whole.

  37. 37 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Hi ellroon! 8) Yeah, it seems to be offside in a lot of ways. It would be interesting to run some of the well known blogs and see what comes up.

    OK, I just ran Daily Kos through it — they are Scientists:

    “The long-range thinking and individualistic type. They are especially good at looking at almost anything and figuring out a way of improving it – often with a highly creative and imaginative touch. They are intellectually curious and daring, but might be physically hesitant to try new things.

    The Scientists enjoy theoretical work that allows them to use their strong minds and bold creativity. Since they tend to be so abstract and theoretical in their communication they often have a problem communicating their visions to other people and need to learn patience and use concrete examples. Since they are extremely good at concentrating they often have no trouble working alone.”

    So much for my theory about mechanics and group blogs.

  38. 38 Chet Scoville Friday, October 2, 2009 at 10:22 am

    I’m INTP (Thinker), apparently:

    The logical and analytical type. They are especially attuned to difficult creative and intellectual challenges and always look for something more complex to dig into. They are great at finding subtle connections between things and imagine far-reaching implications.

    They enjoy working with complex things using a lot of concepts and imaginative models of reality. Since they are not very good at seeing and understanding the needs of other people, they might come across as arrogant, impatient and insensitive to people that need some time to understand what they are talking about.

  39. 39 J. A. Baker Friday, October 2, 2009 at 10:45 am

    JAB – Honestly, I thought you’d be an Entertainer like me. Our posting style, language etc is quite similar.

    Funny you should mention that, JJ. If this post is any indication, I’ve started writing more like CC lately.

  40. 40 Frank Frink Friday, October 2, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    I’m pretty sure Beck was referring to Vancouver, Washington.

    Or as they prefer to pronounce it within the state itself, Warshington.

  41. 41 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Chet – Ha! I guessed you right! I knew you’d be a Thinker! (My second guess was Scientist.)

  42. 42 JJ Friday, October 2, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    JAB – Just back to that video again:

    How can Beck call someone like Pat Caddell a DEMOCRAT? He used to be… a long, long, long, long time ago… but he’s such a right wing whacko now that he was even in favour of the intervention to keep Terry Schiavo “alive” (if you could even call it that). That’s whacked.

    This is how these bozos on Fox get away with this shit — they know their audience is not smart or inquisitive enough to get on the computer and use the google.

  43. 43 Luna Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    I’m apparently a Mechanic. Which is insulting as all hell, because that’s what whatserface at small dead animals gets too. For a laugh, put hers in. Seriously. HILARIOUS. 🙂

    My personal blog though, got ESFP, Performers. Fun.

  44. 44 JJ Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Luna – Mechanic isn’t bad, I’d be happy to be a mechanic. It means you are a rational thinker.

    Oddly, I ran my old blog through it (the one at blogspot), and I got a different answer… 😐


  1. 1 Can a blog tell you and others what your personality type is? « Scott’s DiaTribes Trackback on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 2:44 pm
  2. 2 JABbering Stooge :: A Nerd By Training (And It Shows!) :: October :: 2009 Trackback on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 2:48 pm
  3. 3 I’m Doing Pretty Well For A Guy With Half A Brain « Unambiguously Ambidextrous Trackback on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 6:54 pm
  4. 4 Dreaming of Butterflies » Blog right for your Type Trackback on Sunday, October 11, 2009 at 11:47 pm

Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,050
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


