I can haz separation of church and state

One of the things I like about being Canadian is that nobody has ever suggested that our Constitution was delivered by Jesus Christ…

JC-US-constitution

…or made artwork to that effect.

If you visit the website, you can view the picture in full size (oh joy), roll your cursor over each of the characters in it and get a rundown about who they are and what they represent.

The backdrop is that well-known religious setting, the US Capitol.  The guy in the lower right corner, counting money and drooling, is a lawyer.  The woman on his right is Pregnant and, pointing across the aisle at Sarah and Baby Trigg a Woman and Her Disabled Baby, dreams of having her own special needs child.  Then there’s The Professor, with his smug, intellectual smirk, holding the wicked writings of Darwin and standing next to Satan and The Hollywood Guy (who’s leering at The Pregnant Woman — “I’d tap that”).   I especially liked the writeup with The Civil War Soldier:  “Hopefully it (Civil War) will never happen again“.   Uh yeah, hopefully.

UPDATE: Jebus Painting revised.  (From Wonkette).

‘The Jesus Painting Yesterday’ Produces Obama Campaign-esque Artistic Revival_1254975819779

(via pharyngula)

86 Responses to “I can haz separation of church and state”


  1. 1 J. A. Baker Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 6:10 am

    I can’t seem to access the retard’s website. I think it’s getting slammed with traffic from the Pharynguloids.

  2. 2 Peter Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 6:17 am

    It’s not that we didn’t try. Here’s a pic of the guy we snuck in at 3:00 am on Parliament Hill to correct the secular historical distortions of the Charlottetown Conference. The poor guy had hardly started his first angel wing before security booted him. Man, The Evil One has agents everywhere!

  3. 3 Michelle Bell Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 6:50 am

    JJ, would you pretend I am your long lost younger cousin so I can flee to Canada from the insanity?

  4. 4 joe agnost Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I don’t know whether to laugh or cry…

  5. 5 J. A. Baker Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Oh, and one of the eagle-eyed commenters at Balloon Juice noticed that the black guy is holding a copy of Skousen’s The Five-Thousand Year Leap, aka “The Glenn Beck Bible.”

    And now you know…

  6. 6 Shade Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 7:23 am

    Oh everyone knows that the seperation of Church and State is a filthy lie fabricated by those dirty Liberals.

    (Just to clarify I am being sarcastic)

  7. 7 Torontonian Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 7:23 am

    There is one black in the work near the left rear.

    It’s Frederick Douglass but the comments for the
    drawing doesn’t spell his name correctly!

    Amazingly, John Kennedy is in the work.

  8. 8 Rob F Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 7:45 am

    The Preamble to the Charter of Rights and Freedoms mentions God, and our Head of State is implicitly required to be head of the Anglican Church. In this sense Canada nominally has a state religion.

    However, interpreting the Charter this way would conflict with Section 2. And anyway, the original intent of the authors of the Charter was for a seperation of church and state.

  9. 9 SM Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Don’t get too smug about how the Americans do it. Have you listened to our national anthem in french? There’s some some Cross carrying going on there that I can’t quite figure out why it’s still there….

  10. 10 William Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 8:04 am

    The snarked rollover version is better. 🙂

  11. 11 Chet Scoville Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 8:05 am

    I… I… I…

    *head explodes*

  12. 12 Lilian Nattel Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 8:05 am

    SM–the Croix is a relic from Quebec’s olden days–it’s the most secular province now.

    I’ve seen this painting in several blogs and never know what to say. The U.S. gets crazier and crazier and I worry that Harper and his pals are taking Canada down that path surreptitiously.

  13. 13 Cornelius T.Zen Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Good morrow, all!
    It’s what you don’t see that’s significant. What you don’t see is Ben Franklin, slapping his forehead, saying, “Oy Veh! Who let that meshugana troublemaker in here? How many times we gotta crucify the SOB before he shuts the hell up? We tried that “One Nation Under God” schtick. Got invaded and deported for our troubles. This we need?”
    Obviously theocracies work very well. Witness Puritan England in the Interregnum. (For you historically-challenged out there, google Oliver Cromwell.) Some people will tell you that Hitler and Stalin were atheists. Really. To be atheist is to deny that there is any God. Hitler and Stalin were God to their respective regimes, and their followers displayed all the fervor and fanaticism that a theocracy demands.
    The Founding Fathers, let me say it again, were Deists, NOT Christians. Just read what they wrote in those days. They saw the Constitution as a vehicle of correcting the mistakes of the past, not continuing those mistakes.
    Did not Jesus say, “Do not practice your faith in the sight of men, as the hypocrites do?” Look it up, folks.
    Next up: repealing women’s suffrage, and restoring slavery.
    Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition! – CTZen

  14. 14 J. A. Baker Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Next up: repealing women’s suffrage

    Funny you should mention that, CTZen.

    I wish I were kidding – J. A. Baker

  15. 15 toujoursdan Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 10:20 am

    These people have a big problem. Other historical documents support a separation of church and state.

    The first treaty signed by the U.S. was the Treaty of Tripoli. In Article 11 it says:

    Art. 11. As the Government of the United States of America is not, in any sense, founded on the Christian religion; as it has in itself no character of enmity against the laws, religion, or tranquility, of Mussulmen; and, as the said States never entered into any war, or act of hostility against any Mahometan nation, it is declared by the parties, that no pretext arising from religious opinions, shall ever produce an interruption of the harmony existing between the two countries.

    http://avalon.law.yale.edu/18th_century/bar1796t.asp

    The first line again (for any wingnuts who have comprehension issues):

    “As the Government of the United States of America is not, in any sense, founded on the Christian religion”

    The treaty was ratified by Congress.

  16. 16 ADHR Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Oh dear. This is just… weird. So many, many problems. Reagan’s in it and FDR isn’t? Seriously? Why is Lincoln kneeling? And what the hell is John Adams doing?

    There are actually three black guys — the “current soldier” is black (it’s hard to see as the painting itself is quite dark) and there’s a revolutionary war soldier near the top-left, in the background, who’s black. The only other non-white figures are “the immigrant” near the bottom-left and Sequoyah in the top-left (in the background). This rather lily-white representation might explain why the first black president isn’t there, and why MLK isn’t directly in there, either. And why Jesus is white and blue-eyed, but let’s not get into that….

    Look at the SCOTUS decisions on the steps that are supposed to be reprehensible. Roe v. Wade is an obvious one (check the hyperbole in the description, though), but Marbury v. Madison? Really?

    These people are nuts.

  17. 17 Bleatmop Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Unfortunately, the Ring Wing-Nuts are advocating that we create a theocracy here.

    http://www.bloggingtories.ca/forums/post40273.html#40273

    Full Disclosure: I used to post for the Blogging Tories and used to consider myself one of them. Fortunately, participation in that forum made me realize that I’m not one of them. Mostly because I believe in things like freedom and other left wing liberalfeministatheistfascist stuff like that.

  18. 18 Jasper Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    what every pro-choicer should read:

    http://abortioneers.blogspot.com/2009/10/second-trimester-abortion-provision.html

    When I was a little over 18 weeks pregnant with my now pre-school child, I did a 2nd trimester abortion for a patient who was also a little over 18 weeks pregnant. As I reviewed her chart I realized I was more interested than usual in seeing the fetal parts when I was done, since they would so closely resemble those of my own fetus.

    I went about doing the procedure as usual, removed the laminaria I had placed earlier and confirmed I had adequate dilation. I used electrical suction to remove the amniotic fluid, picked up my forceps and began to remove the fetus in parts, as I always did….

    With my first pass of the forceps, I grasped an extremity and began to pull it down. I could see a small foot hanging from the teeth of my forceps. With a quick tug, I separated the leg.

    Precisely at that moment, I felt a kick – a fluttery “thump, thump” in my own uterus. It was one of the 1st times I felt fetal movement. There was a leg and foot in my forceps, and a “thump, thump” in my abdomen.

    Instantly, tears were streaming from my eyes – without me – meaning my conscious brain – even being aware of what was going on. I felt as if my response had come entirely from my body, bypassing my usual cognitive processing completely. A message seemed to travel from my hand and my uterus to my tear ducts. It was an overwhelming feeling – a brutally visceral response – heartfelt and unmediated by my training or my feminist pro-choice politics.

    It was one of the more raw moments in my life. Doing 2nd trimester abortions did not get easier after my pregnancy; in fact, dealing with little infant parts of my born baby only made dealing with dismembered fetal parts sadder.

  19. 19 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    JAB – I suspect the server was knocked out for awhile by a Pharyngulanche 😯 but as of 3:41pm Pacific, It Is Risen, as they say.

  20. 20 fern hill Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Woo! Jasper makes a linky! Totally extraneous linky, but he mastered the techyness that totally eludes him at our place! Yay Jasper!

    (It is a composite. I’m getting more and more convinced. MJS = Multiple Jasper Syndrome.)

    I don’t want to derail this conversation, but increasingly I’ve been wondering — are people getting nuttier or do the Intertoobz just give the nutterers more exposure?

    tousjoursdan, that’s a great quote/link. Bookmarked!

  21. 21 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Peter 😆 Yes, that was a close one 😯 but the Agents of Evil are on the job 24/7. Evil isn’t a career, it’s a calling.

  22. 22 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Michelle – We’ve done the Underground Railroad thing before, we can do it again for fleeing atheists if things really go sideways.

  23. 23 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    joe agnost

    I don’t know whether to laugh or cry…

    Both.

  24. 24 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    JAB

    the black guy is holding a copy of Skousen’s The Five-Thousand Year Leap, aka “The Glenn Beck Bible.

    I noticed that when I was perusing this work of art last night… it says something about the student holding “the most important book ever written” — I thought they were going to say “the Bible” and I almost fell out of my chair laughing when it was “The 5000 Year Leap” 😆

  25. 25 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Shade

    Oh everyone knows that the seperation of Church and State is a filthy lie fabricated by those dirty Liberals.

    (Just to clarify I am being sarcastic)

    No need for the “/sarc” tag for that one 😉

  26. 26 Jasper Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    I really like this picture, it is so true. You people represent the arrogant professor. Congrats.

  27. 27 Shade Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    JJ
    [quote] I noticed that when I was perusing this work of art last night… it says something about the student holding “the most important book ever written” — I thought they were going to say “the Bible” and I almost fell out of my chair laughing when it was “The 5000 Year Leap”[/quote]

    That’s because the bible wasn’t “written” it was dictated by god. Well that’s my guess on the reasoning anyways.

    (Not sure how the quote system works here so I went for the default one, so sorry if it fails miserably)

  28. 28 Frank Frink Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Theocracy? No, thank you. We’ve already had one here and several generations of my family lived under it. It’s called Quebec prior to approx. 1962. Let it be a lesson.

  29. 29 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Torontonian

    Amazingly, John Kennedy is in the work.

    I was pretty surprised to see him in there too. I thought “Kennedy Catholic” was a term of derision, at least among the hard core papists like our friend SUZANNE.

  30. 30 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Rob F

    the original intent of the authors of the Charter was for a seperation of church and state.

    Says you. Because you’re evil 😈

  31. 31 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    SM

    Have you listened to our national anthem in french? There’s some some Cross carrying going on there that I can’t quite figure out why it’s still there….

    Les Quebecois, ils sont juste un peu bizarres 😉

  32. 32 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    William

    The snarked rollover version is better.

    W00T! We have a winner!
    Thanks, that was excellent 😆

  33. 33 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Chet

    I… I… I…

    *head explodes*

    😆 Before viewing this kind of bad craziness, I usually tie a bandanna *snugly* around my head to hold everything together. Just in case.

  34. 34 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Lillian

    The U.S. gets crazier and crazier and I worry that Harper and his pals are taking Canada down that path surreptitiously.

    To be fair, this kind of nuttiness only represents a small minority even among religious folks, and I think the US for the most part has had their fill of them. I don’t know if this minority of crazies is actually getting crazier, or if they’re just getting louder about it.

    Regarding Harper: I think Harper is too smart to try taking Canada down the ultra-wingnut kind of road… not if he wants to stay in power in this stubbornly secular nation.

  35. 35 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    CTZen 😆 That reminds me of my post about that protest at the Carhart clinic in August… That picture of Jesus cracked me up, it looks like he’s slapping his head and going “OY, VEY! They’re not with me, I picked them up hitchiking…”

  36. 36 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    toujoursdan

    The first line again (for any wingnuts who have comprehension issues):

    “As the Government of the United States of America is not, in any sense, founded on the Christian religion”

    Yeah but that’s from Yale Law, and we know what these people think of lawyers 😆

    EDIT – Just reviewed the link, that’s pretty awesome. Bookmarked for future reference! Thanks!

  37. 37 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    ADHR

    Look at the SCOTUS decisions on the steps that are supposed to be reprehensible.

    Yes, had to love the hyperbole in the one about Roe. “The worst travesty… yadayadayada”” 🙄

    And yet, these same people are still doing nothing to stop the worst travesty of all time, the Tubesock Holocaust. Hypocrites! 😐

  38. 38 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    bleatmop – That’s a creepy thread, but it doesn’t surprise me.

    That Craig dude, what a little friggin fascist jerkoff: “He is assuming that we want to give broad religious freedom – I don’t. I want Canada to be a Christian country. It is my believe that the purpose of a country is for people of shared values to reside in peace. That means that there should be atheist countries, Islamic countries, and Christian countries. I want Canada to be a Christian country.”

    Segregation Redux, nice.

  39. 39 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Jasper, our very own Special Needs Child.

    Jasper, what does that have to do with the post?

    EDIT –

    You people represent the arrogant professor. Congrats.

    And Satan, don’t forget him.

  40. 40 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Shade – Upon taking another look at it, I realize they said “the most important book ever written about America’s beginnings”, so that’s a bit different than just “the most important book EVAH written”.

    Still, Cleon Skousen? BWAHAHAHA!

  41. 41 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    fern hill

    (It is a composite. I’m getting more and more convinced. MJS = Multiple Jasper Syndrome.)

    I think Jasper may have a split personality, probably brought on by the use of large quantities of dangerous drugs.

    Stay away from the balcony, Jasper. You only think you can fly.

  42. 42 Bleatmop Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    JJ – Here’s what worse. That Craig guy happens to be one of the co-founders of the Blogging Tories. Scary huh? Especially considering the actual influence that they have on the party (that is to say that they do have some).

  43. 43 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Bleatmop – I know, Craig is a grade-A nut. He also goes by the name Weaselhouse or something like that doesn’t he? He used to use a picture of an embryo as an avatar 🙄 Anyone who uses a picture of an embryo as an avatar is obviously a fetus fetishist, and if it’s a guy… eww. Male fetus fetishists are just creepy.

    Do you really think the BTs have any influence? I thought they were more like faithful stenographers, predictably regurgitating the daily talking points for the Harpmeister.

    But if that is true 😯 OMFG, that is scary — look at the list of no-minds at the Blogging Tories — the incoherent Dr.ROY? (How mudfortunate.) The semi-retarded Hunter?? “DODO”, who’s so stupid she defies description???

    Jebus. The possibility that any of these people might wield the slightest bit of influence even on the choice of toilet paper in the House of Commons washrooms is unspeakably horrific.

  44. 44 Jasper Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    “Jasper, our very own Special Needs Child.”

    that’s fine with me, my son is a special needs child too. I’m not ashamed.

    “Jasper, what does that have to do with the post?”

    I felt pro-choicers should read it.

  45. 45 Bleatmop Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    JJ – I’m not sure about the specific bloggers you mentioned, although Craig Smith and Steve Tayler definitely have party links. It’s no surprise that they know of the attack campaigns that you see on tv and radio before they come out and that they have the attack campaigns on their site from minute 1. I have no idea how much influence they have, but it’s clear to me that the CPC is listening and communicating with them.

  46. 46 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    We’re all Special Needs Children, Jasper. Just some more than others.

    Re the blogpost you quoted, I’ve read it before, I follow that person on Twitter. I’m not sure what you think I should be getting out of it, though.

  47. 47 JJ Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Bleatmop – Stephen Taylor for sure is connected, but Craig Smith? He seems like a bit too much of a nutcase. Although, they do have some real knuckledraggers in the CPC caucus, no doubt about it. So why not some proto-fascist who’s quite upfront about the fact that he doesn’t want to allow freedom of religion? 😆 SCARY.

  48. 49 J. A. Baker Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Ack! That should’ve been a > instead of a question mark in front of “Ann Coulter!” 😳

  49. 50 hemmingforddogblog Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 1:51 am

    “Les Quebecois, ils sont juste un peu bizarres”

    You people still don’t get it, do you? We are DISTINCT!!!
    *snarc*

    And yes, Quebec was not a nice place under the Catholic Church and Duplessis…blechhhh…

  50. 51 mouthyorange Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 3:56 am

    I love secular Québec. I’ve had some awfully good times there. 😉 😉

  51. 53 Dan Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 8:06 am

    What occurred to me was how many of the people in this picture would be horrified at the depiction of the US as a Christian nation. Thomas Paine, Ben Franklin, Thomas Jefferson are the easy ones off the top of my head.

  52. 54 Cornelius T.Zen Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Good morrow, all!
    “Jesus, as a philosopher is wonderful. There’s no greater role model, in my view, than Jesus Christ. It’s just a shame that most of the people who follow him and call themselves Christians act nothing like him” – Bill Maher
    Christian is as Christian does – CTZen

  53. 55 UU4077 Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 10:28 am

    (I haven’t had a chance to review the other comments so this may have been mentioned already.)

    It’s called “One Nation Under God”, it has Jesus as “God” (I guess because of the Trinity and all that crap) and yet the picture includes John Adams, “second President of the United States and one of the most influentional of the Founding Fathers” – hey, he was a Unitarian!

  54. 56 UU4077 Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 10:33 am

    And, of course, Thomas Jefferson (third Pres … etc., drafter of the Constitution) and wannabe Unitarian!

  55. 57 J. A. Baker Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Good morrow, CTZen!

    “I like your Christ. I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” – Mohandas Ghandi
    Conservative Christians are more like the Pharisees than Christ. – J. A. Baker

  56. 58 Peter Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    People, people, get a grip. Certainly it’s fun to laugh at the bewildering ways some “muricans” have of expressing their religious devotion, but before you all lock your doors and stock up on emergency rations, do try to remember one thing: IT’S JUST A PAINTING!!

    I know a picture is worth a thousand words, but c’mon….

  57. 59 Dr. Prole Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Who invited the wet blanket?

  58. 60 The Maple Bug Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Peter: We know it’s just a painting.

    We also know that there is an extremely large group of people out there who will take it for the absolute truth because they are foaming-at-the-mouth maniacs.

    The painting is irritating. It’s followers are frightening.

  59. 61 Peter Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    The Maple Bug:

    I understand. In debates with JJ and my leftie pal, Dr. Dawg, I hold back because I never want to give their rhetorical hyperbole about racism, capitalism, misogyny etc. (and boy, are they good at it!) any time because I know there is an extremely large group of people out there who will take it for the absolute truth because they are foaming-at-the-mouth maniacs.

    Their posts can be irritating, but their followers are frightening. Especially the ones I’ve never met.

  60. 62 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Peter – 😆
    A conservative with a sense of humour?? 😯 Say it ain’t so… that goes against everything I’ve ever read in the Little Red Marxistleninistislamofascistfeminazilibtard handbook! Oh the humanity…

  61. 63 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Peter

    before you all lock your doors and stock up on emergency rations, do try to remember one thing: IT’S JUST A PAINTING!!

    We want to believe 😉

    Seriously, yes. As I said somewhere upthread, the people who think this way (Jesus delivered the Constitution) are surely a minority, even among people of faith. I doubt if this is some kind of movement that’s about to catch fire (other than the obvious “hair-on-fire crazy”).

    But wow. It’s interesting and I gotta say, extremely humourous, to observe this kind of wingnuttery. I mean really… the most important book ever written about America? Cleon Skousen? 😆

  62. 64 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Maple Bug – You do have a point, but fortunately I think the ratio of foaming followers is pretty small when you look at it as part of the overall population. So while I think things like this are great for a laugh, there’s probably no need for alarm.

    YET

  63. 65 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    UU4077

    the picture includes John Adams, “second President of the United States and one of the most influentional of the Founding Fathers” – hey, he was a Unitarian!

    No kidding? 😆 Like the UUs today? Well, that’s odd. Maybe the artist was unaware of this historical factoid. Then again, he included JFK. (But not Obama… still waiting on that birth certificate, I guess.)

  64. 66 Frank Frink Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    UU4077, some other Unitarians in the painting – Susan B. Anthony and Clara Barton.

  65. 67 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    CTZen

    “Jesus, as a philosopher is wonderful. There’s no greater role model, in my view, than Jesus Christ. It’s just a shame that most of the people who follow him and call themselves Christians act nothing like him” – Bill Maher

    Well ya know… look at that painting. Look at the guy. He looks like a DFH to me… actually, if he was in a black leather jacket and jeans and sitting on a Harley, he’d look like my ex.

  66. 68 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    orange

    I love secular Québec. I’ve had some awfully good times there.

    DETAILS! 😉

  67. 69 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Dan

    What occurred to me was how many of the people in this picture would be horrified at the depiction of the US as a Christian nation.

    Indeed. If you follow the link to JAB’s place, he’s done a good person-by-person rebuttal showing what some of these people really said about religion and government.

  68. 70 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    SQ

    And yes, Quebec was not a nice place under the Catholic Church and Duplessis…blechhhh…

    Found this in the Wiki entry about Duplessis:

    “A founder and leader of the highly conservative Union Nationale party, he rose to power after exposing the misconduct and patronage of Liberal Premier Louis-Alexandre Taschereau.”

    Liberal misconduct and patronage… even in the 50s!! 😯 What’s with those guys?

  69. 71 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    FF – Is that the same Unitarian religion as today? ie. liberal?

  70. 72 mouthyorange Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    JJ – No details, baby. You might just say that sleeping with the enemy can be, uh, well, GOOD … 🙂

    O/T — I am taking off for two weeks. Am taking the train to the Maritimes to visit a friend. SQ and Brebis, if you’re around, I’ll wave at you as the train goes through Québec! I am taking a break from the internet while I’m gone — someone has convinced me to do this for my sanity — so I’ll not be around, nor lurking, neither.

    But know that I will miss you guys! SMOOCH!

    Ta ta

  71. 73 Frank Frink Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Yep. Same Unitarian religion.

    In response to Peter – While I can very much appreciate what you’re saying I am still and always mindful of incrementalism.

  72. 74 Frank Frink Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Liberal misconduct and patronage… even in the 50s!! 😯 What’s with those guys?

    Yeah, and electing (and re-electing) Duplessis and the Union Nationale sure put an end to ‘misconduct and patronage’, non? Just as Mulroney did on the federal scene in the 70’s-80’s, non?

    (Hmm… everything old is new again)

  73. 75 Dr. Prole Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Bon voyage, alter ego! Have a wonderful time! 🙂

  74. 76 mouthyorange Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Thanks, sister!

  75. 77 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    orange – Have a great holiday! Good idea to forget about the internets while you’re gone, you don’t want to be tense on your vacation. But don’t forget to come back! Or we may be forced to track you down 😛 Seriously, have a great one. Hasta luego 8)

  76. 78 JJ Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    FF

    I am still and always mindful of incrementalism.

    Did you see this? 😯

  77. 79 Frank Frink Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    No, I had not seen that, JJ. Can’t say it surprises me.

  78. 80 mouthyorange Friday, October 9, 2009 at 4:04 am

    And hey, JJ, check your email!

  79. 81 Cornelius T.Zen Friday, October 9, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Good morrow, all!
    Comparative Religion 101.1:
    The Muslim looks to Heaven and prays: Dear God, help us to destroy the infidel!
    The Christian looks to Heaven and prays: Dear God, help us to destroy the heathen!
    The Jew looks at the Muslim and the Christian, looks to Heaven and says: Dear God…WTF were You thinking?
    All men are brothers, all women are sisters, all children are family, all life is precious.
    On the other hand, all families are dysfunctional. *sigh* Puts paid to that idea.
    Dear God…WTF were you thinking? – CTZen

  80. 83 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 10:21 am

    CTZen

    On the other hand, all families are dysfunctional. *sigh* Puts paid to that idea.

    😆

  81. 85 Rob F Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Sorry, the link to the Really Clever One isn’t working. Try here.

    Also, am I the only one who thinks the school teacher looks like Palin?

  82. 86 JJ Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Rob F – Oh, that one’s much better! Love the Cthulhu one as well…Got blood? 😯 HAHAHAHA!


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,441
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


