Bill Ayers awarded Nobel Peace Price

obama-nobelErr, I mean, Barack Obama.  (But what’s the difference, right?)

U.S. President Barack Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday for offering the world hope and striving for nuclear disarmament in a surprise award that drew both warm praise and sharp criticism.

The bestowal of one of the world’s top accolades on a president less than nine months in office, who has yet to score a major foreign policy success, was greeted with gasps of astonishment from journalists at the announcement in Oslo.

“Gasps of astonishment”:  which is nothing compared to the chorus of exploding heads that must be resounding throughout the Wingnutosphere right about now… but that’s another story.

My opinion?  A little premature, although depending on how things go, I could see Obama being a righteous recipient of the prize in a year or two.  But if the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded for good intentions and taking the first baby steps towards healing the devastation wreaked on America’s standing in the world over the last 8 years, this is probably about right.

Besides, I can’t resist the blogging hay to be made out of wingnut commentary like this:

"Nobel Peace Prize should be turned down by Barack Obama and given ... to the Tea Party goers and the 9-12 Project" | Media Matters for America_1255104149946

UPDATE: Stay classy, Rush.

UPDATE II: Nurse Stanek’s been into the thorazine:

stanek-lying-as-usual

UPDATE III: Pres.Obama’s response:

Appearing in the Rose Garden, Mr. Obama said he was ‘’surprised and deeply humbled” by the committee’s decision, and quickly put to rest any speculation that he might not accept the honor. Describing the award as an “affirmation of American leadership on behalf of aspirations held by people in all nations,” he said he would accept it as “a call to action.”

“To be honest,” the president said “I do not feel that I deserve to be in the company of so many of the transformative figures who have been honored by this prize, men and women who’ve inspired me and inspired the entire world through their courageous pursuit of peace.”

29 Responses to “Bill Ayers awarded Nobel Peace Price”


  1. 1 Bruce Friday, October 9, 2009 at 8:44 am

    I can only imagine the wingnut reaction, time to break out the popcorn.

  2. 2 harpervalley Friday, October 9, 2009 at 8:45 am

    what the fuck? obama talked and talked about getting out of iraq, only to shift troops over to afghanistan. he argues for medicare but it’s gone no where. the guy is just a politician who’s been raised to messiah height. surely there are far more deserving people.

  3. 3 Rob F Friday, October 9, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I agree that it is premature. But perhaps it was awarded because he is not Bush.

  4. 4 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Bruce – 😆 Popcorn, stat! 😆 I haven’t even checked the wingnut sites yet, I found the Media Matters link immediately on Twitter and thought BAHAHAHAHAHA! They must be going apeshit.

  5. 5 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Scout – To be fair, shifting the troops to Afghanistan is what Georgie should have done years ago — ie., even before sending them to Iraq. Now that Iraq is, I’m not sure what to call it exactly… “finished”?, moving the troops to Afghanistan is sort of a roundabout way of leaving. They’ve always been under-deployed in Afghanistan, so I can understand the strategy in doing it this way (whether that war is winnable or even worthwhile is another story).

    As far as Obama getting the Nobel Peace Prize, definitely there are people a lot more deserving people at this moment in time. It’s almost like the world’s collective sigh of relief that Bush is no longer in power…

  6. 6 fern hill Friday, October 9, 2009 at 9:19 am

    I’m most looking forward to the frothing fetus fetishists’ reaction to the PEACE prize going to the most babykillingest prez evah. Especially those ff’s who promote the idiocy that abortion equals Holocaust/genocide. 😀

    On the prize itself. I dunno. When I heard the news this morning, my first reaction was: ‘I must still be asleep and having a really weird dream.’

    But thinking about it, yeah, it must be the pure visceral worldwide relief of not having Bush around anymore.

  7. 7 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Rob F – Pretty much my thoughts exactly.

  8. 8 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 9:27 am

    fern hill – I hadn’t listened to the news this morning — it’s my day off, no alarm clock 😛 — the first place I saw it was at Prog Bloggers, the post by LeDaro. Knowing LeDaro does humourous stuff, I just assumed it was a joke, so I was surprised when I started going through the posts and found more on this topic 😯

    But thinking about it, yeah, it must be the pure visceral worldwide relief of not having Bush around anymore.

    Yeah. Not to belittle Obama, who has inspired people, and will be a great president if he fulfills even a fraction of all that hope. But it’s a bit premature to award the Nobel Prize on the basis of good intentions.

    Although, what the hey. Anything that makes wingnut heads explode has gotta be good 😛

  9. 9 Torontonian Friday, October 9, 2009 at 9:31 am

    I wonder if Nancy Reagan is still campaigning to have Ronnie
    receive a posthumous NPP.

    I wonder if she’s still “in this world, mentally”.

  10. 10 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Torontonian – I don’t know about Nancy, but some wingnuts are already screaming about it.

  11. 11 Bleatmop Friday, October 9, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I like the quote in the mediamatters youtube video that shows the Taliban agreeing with Rush and Beck on this one. Good intellectual company they keep.

  12. 12 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Bleatmop – Haha! I just went out to my truck to listen to Rush for a few minutes (can’t get Rush inside the house, my home is wingnut-proofed), and WOW 😆 He’s sputtering, he’s stuttering, he’s right off his rocker!

  13. 13 sassy Friday, October 9, 2009 at 10:53 am

    ..my home is wingnut-proofed

    🙂 😉 😉

  14. 14 J. A. Baker Friday, October 9, 2009 at 11:03 am

    (can’t get Rush inside the house, my home is wingnut-proofed)

    😆 😆 😆 😆 😆

    I wish I could say that, but I live with one (my brother). Strangely, though, he’s not a Limbaugh or Beck fan…

  15. 15 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I wish I could get Rush in the house (why!??), but all kidding aside, I really can’t. My truck is the only place I can get the RUSH station.

  16. 16 Peter Friday, October 9, 2009 at 11:54 am

    My opinion? A little premature…

    You think? Maybe a bit like reciting the Apostles Creed a few years before the Resurrection?

    Actually, JJ, I don’t think there are too many wing-nut heads exploding over this. They’re having too many giggles. I’ve never seen so many hilarious quips on so many blogs in one day. The winner?

    “I think they should give him the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. After all, he’s got great chemistry.”

  17. 17 JJ Friday, October 9, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Peter – Ha, not bad.

    While it would be nice to think that most people are just rolling their eyes and chuckling, I’ve also seen a lot of spittle flying around out there (see Redstate, Atlas Shrugs, Riehl and wingnuts of that calibre). But I’ll concede that it’s not flying in the bucketloads I’d expected… especially given the fact that even a lot of progressives aren’t sure if this award was right.

    I’m ambivalent — some of the earlier recipients have already rendered the prize kind of meaningless. Kissinger and Arafat, men of peace? 😯

    The upside is that Obama is donating the prize money to charity, so in that respect, it’s all good.

  18. 18 Peter Friday, October 9, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    But JJ, seriously, isn’t this evidence that the left and most of Europe actually do buy into the idea of American exceptionalism? Even I, with many conservative American and British cyber-friends, know when to say I don’t give a damn what they say.

  19. 19 Jasper Friday, October 9, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    I think Obama deserved this award! Next year I hope George Tiller wins, then the following year maybe Kim Jong Il will win…

  20. 20 Frank Frink Friday, October 9, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    If it’s any consolation, Jasper, Kissinger and Arafat are already on the Nobel Peace Prize winners list.

  21. 21 Raphael Alexander Friday, October 9, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    I little bit premature? I thought that only counted in births and ejaculations.

  22. 22 Jasper Friday, October 9, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    wins Nobel Peace Prize: former Soviet dictator Mikhail Gorbachev

    does not win Nobel Peace Prize: Ronald Reagan

    ..nothing more needs to be said.

  23. 23 deBeauxOs Friday, October 9, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Huh? What did Ronald Reagan fucking do to deserve the Nobel Peace Prize?

    Oh right – I forgot that you’d think that the massacres of civilians and war crimes committed against women and children in El Salvador with the support of Reagan would be an award-winning accomplishment.

  24. 24 JJ Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Peter – Sorry for the lateness of my response here… had a dinner invitation last night, and was too “tired” to blog when I got home 😛

    isn’t this evidence that the left and most of Europe actually do buy into the idea of American exceptionalism?

    That depends. America isn’t like every other country in the world — everything it does shakes the globe a little (last fall was a good example). Whether that means they should be able to play by different rules than everyone else is debatable.

    If you’re arguing that Pres.Obama wasn’t subject to the same rules as previous NPP recipients, and this is evidence that Europe accepts the concept of American exceptionalism, I think it has less to do with exceptionalism and more to do with a worldwide sigh of relief that the grownups are back in charge of the country that affects the whole world with it’s every belch and fart. (ETA – This is not to diminish Obama’s work so far — he’s raised America’s standing in terms of how it’s viewed around the world by extending the olive branch.)

  25. 25 JJ Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Jasper – Really, eh? You think Obama = Kim Jong Il?

  26. 26 JJ Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 10:01 am

    FF – I’m sure Jasper probably thinks someone like Jerry Falwell would be a good choice. (Posthumous choice, I’m pleased to say.)

  27. 27 JJ Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 10:11 am

    RA

    little bit premature? I thought that only counted in births and ejaculations.

    ?eh??

  28. 28 Frank Frink Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 11:27 am

    FF – I’m sure Jasper probably thinks someone like Jerry Falwell would be a good choice. (Posthumous choice, I’m pleased to say.)

    Oh, hell. While we’re at it I also nominate the two Pats – Buchanan & Robertson.

  29. 29 JJ Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    FF – Oh gawd, Buchanan would be right up Jasper’s alley. So would Robertson, come to think of it.

    You know who also should have gotten a Nobel Peace Prize, IMO: Bill Clinton. I think he did a lot of work towards Middle East peace, even though it ultimately didn’t work out.


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,766
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


