Interesting

Bruce has a post up about a Mr. Sub commercial that generated some controversy — so much controversy that the agency responsible has been fired following an outraged letter campaign orchestrated by the Canadian Auto Workers.  (Thinks:  Canadian Auto Workers?  Huh?)

Offensive or not offensive?  Watch the vid, make the call.

5 Responses to “Interesting”


  1. 1 Shade Friday, October 9, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    I actually found it a little amusing. I guess one could argue poor taste? But I’ve seen worse ads.

  2. 2 JJ Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 7:29 am

    “I’ve seen worse” about sums it up.

    As a product sell, it was a failure. The humour fell a little flat, but I can see what they were trying to get across.

    I wouldn’t call it “offensive”, though.

  3. 3 Reality Bites Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    However it needs to be taken in context, I think. There were two other ads – one found a groom surprising his bride making out with his father, and the other had a man in leather chaps sneaking up on his wife in the kitchen and getting conked with a frying pan.

    Taken together I think they’re sending the message that “this is something normal people wouldn’t like or approve of.”

  4. 4 JJ Saturday, October 10, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    RB – I haven’t seen the other commercials, so I’m looking at this one on its own merits. But in that context, yeah, it would seem that they’re implying that “normal” people don’t approve.

    I don’t think that’s actually what they’re trying to say, but the delivery falls a little flat, so I can see how people might interpret it that way. (The looks on the kids’ faces when he said he was gay kind of creeped me out — but then they probably would have had the same looks if he’d said “We’re moving to Hicksville”.)

  5. 5 Bruce Monday, October 12, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    RB, that’s true, but I don’t think the intent was to show a guy cluelessly announcing he’s gay to be any worse than what the other people were doing. At some point gay people have to allow themselves to be part of the larger joke.

    I don’t want to spend my whole life being offended because I’m gay. Back when I was a closeted teenager a buddy of mine started a joke: “What happens when you leave two men gay alone in a room?” Closeted as I was, I was terrified of the answer, which turned out to be: “They redecorate”. That was funny, and a huge relief to someone like me from my best friend at the time.

    There are enough opportunities in this world to be offended without looking for reasons.


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,916
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


