You see Louise? You see?

You see why, when a seemingly-controversial story emerges, bloggers in the reality-based community don’t instantly run around screaming, shitting themselves uncontrollably and hallucinating blindly with their hair on fire

…until they know the whole story?

AFTERSNARK: You have to appreciate the knee-slapping hilarity of “Stumblebumming Retard” Louise choosing to link to me, of all people, in a post about climate change, of all things — a topic I rarely if ever blog about, since I know sweet fuck-all about it.  But then, that doesn’t stop her from blogging about it.

(h/t John Cross at Dawg’s Blawg)

9 Responses to “You see Louise? You see?”


  1. 1 Ed Darrell Monday, November 23, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    There are lots of “whole stories” buried in that stuff. So far, none I’ve seen show anything but straight up, fair play on the science side, and only one minor snark on the manners side.

    When none of the dogs are barking, it’s likely there isn’t even a squirrel out.

  2. 2 pale Monday, November 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    But Louise……It’s COLD outside….I can’t see global climate change from my house!

    I am also waiting for a real report on all of this before I dive in. LOL.

    I think the nutbars eyebrows may get fried off with this one. Again. Good.

  3. 3 JJ Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Hi Ed!

    That was an excellent post, thanks for taking on this “nontroversy” and clearing things up a little. (I think I’ve learned more about climate science in the last 24 hours than I learned in the previous 24 years!)

  4. 4 JJ Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    pale – Ha! Yes, the weather 🙄 … I don’t really follow this issue, but even I understand that “weather” isn’t the same thing as “climate”. Although, from what I have gleaned, I understand “climate” affects “weather”… look no further than all the weird weather we’ve been having in this part of the world for the past decade. Unfortunately it usually manifests itself in ass-deep snow in April, which leads people to bellow “So much for global warming!” etc.

    I have to admit I’m surprised at how many people think climate change is an outright HOAX. Limbaugh was screaming about it today on his show. Wow — I thought the only argument was the cause — whether it’s fossil fuels or whatever — not whether it’s really happening.

    Of course, a lot of people think Obama was born in Kenya, too 😯

  5. 5 J. A. Baker Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I have to admit I’m surprised at how many people think climate change is an outright HOAX.

    Sadly, that includes several Excited States Senators. (I’m looking at YOU, Jim Inhofe!)

    Geez, I’m sounding more and more like CTZen every day, aren’t I? 😆

    Good morrow, all!

  6. 6 fern hill Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Well, if sounding like, and thinking like, CTZen is infectious, I hope it’s virulent. 😀

  7. 7 J. A. Baker Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Goddammit, the stupid link didn’t work. Let me try again: OK Sen. James Inhofe defends “Global warming is the greatest hoax perpetrated on mankind” remark.

    Ain’t modern technology GRAND? 🙄

  8. 8 JJ Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    JAB – A hoax? Like they think all these scientists, and NASA, and all kinds of other reputable organizations, got together and decided to perpetrate a hoax on the world?

    That doesn’t even sound anywhere near reasonable… it sounds about 2 degrees past the safe edge of mentally defective.

  9. 9 JJ Tuesday, November 24, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    fern hill – Everyone loves CTZ! Good morrow!


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,323
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


