Pick me up off the floor

I’m shocked, SHOCKED, I tells ya:

Roman Catholic Church leaders in Dublin spent decades sheltering child-abusing priests from the law and most fellow clerics turned a blind eye, an investigation ordered by Ireland’s government concluded Thursday.

Dublin Archbishop Diarmuid Martin, who handed over more than 60,000 previously secret church files to the three-year investigation, said he felt deep shame and sorrow for how previous archbishops presided over endemic child abuse — yet claimed afterward not to understand the gravity of their sins.

Martin said his four predecessors in Ireland’s capital, including retired Cardinal Desmond Connell, must have understood that priests’ molestation and rape of boys and girls ”was a crime in both civil and canon law. For some reason or another they felt they could deal with all this in little worlds of their own.

“For some reason or other” — and I wonder what that might have been… wanted to keep the party going, I guess.

39 Responses to “Pick me up off the floor”


  1. 1 Bruce Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    For some reason or another they felt they could deal with all this in little worlds of their own.

    In other words, what happens in the Catholic Church, stays in the Catholic Church. I suppose covering up is one way of dealing with it. So how’s that moral authority thing working out for ya boys?

  2. 2 Jasper Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Practically all of the molestations were with adolencents involving homosexual preists.

  3. 3 JJ Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Bruce – Omerta ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    But seriously, there are so many of these things going on that they’re all starting to blend together in one big child-molesting pile of rotten pig manure. I can’t believe they can still go on TV and play holier than thou like that jerk on the Hardball vid. EVIL.

  4. 4 JJ Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Jasper – Linkie, please!!!

    (Besides, “adolescent” is still underage. Homosexuals are attracted to other adults, not kids.)

  5. 5 toujoursdan Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Homosexuals don’t have sex with kids. Paedophiles do. This is a crime of power, exploitation and implicit violence against a child, who by definition cannot give informed consent. I reckon that the people who think homosexuals do this are the same ones who believe that rape is all about sex.

  6. 6 JJ Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    toujoursdan – Well said! People like Jasper don’t understand that rape is not all about sex at all, it’s about power intimidation and violence that just happens to involve the genitals.

    No wonder they’re so fucked up sexually! Now if they’d just stop trying to impose their hangups and sexual weirdness on the rest of us, everything would be alright…

  7. 7 Bruce Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I can’t take this any more, get rid of that bastard. Why should we waste any time at all on someone who’s only purpose in life it to mock the honest efforts of others?

  8. 8 Shade Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Then there’s the fact rather then handing the pedophiles over to the authorities the Church instead protected them.

  9. 9 JJ Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Bruce – Just ignore the little turkey, that’s what I do 90% of the time. RB will be around to kick hiss ass pretty soon anyway ๐Ÿ˜†

    Jasper – You see that? You’re pissing people off with your weirdness. Maybe you need another time-out.

  10. 10 JJ Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Shade – That’s the really disgusting part — the systematic coverup. And while that’s going on, the church allows them to continue interacting with kids!!

  11. 11 deBeauxOs Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Jasper, let me introduce to the heterosexual pedophile ex-priest Charles Sylvestre.

    He sexually assaulted at least 70 girls while assigned to their parishes. He is not the only one. There are many Catholic women who were sexually violated as children by priests.

  12. 12 Bruce Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    It seems I’m the one who always needs the time time out, hot-headed Scots that I am. I never did learn how to deal with people like that, especially when I have no control. I don’t want to do some pretend bemused acceptance of nitwits as if suffering fools is some kind of a fucking virtue. It Ain’t.

  13. 13 JJ Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Bruce – That’s why I ignore him a good deal of the time ๐Ÿ˜‰ I found it was better for my blood pressure.

  14. 14 Jasper Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Ok, I’ll leave. I don’t want to give Bruce a heart attack.

  15. 15 deBeauxOs Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Yes, by all means leave Jasper.

    You wouldn’t want to admit that heterosexual pedophile priests have harmed, molested and sexually assaulted thousands of girls in North America too.

    By covering up their actions instead of admitting what they did and asking forgiveness to the girls they violated, the priests betrayed a sacred trust.

  16. 17 Bruce Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    deBeauxOs

    Ah, yes, interesting how we forget the girls, that happens too, but it’s apparently not so sensational as to hit the news. Sad state of affairs all around.

  17. 18 deBeauxOs Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Bruce, the reason that news stories about the harm and sexual violence wreaked by heterosexual pedophile priests don’t make headlines is that most Catholics give them a pass.

    According to patriarchal religious dogma, it’s always the girls’ fault because they tempt the priests.

    When boys are sexually violated, a different narrative is exploited.

  18. 19 Dr. Prole Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    The apologists for this disgusting institution are just sad. Yes, that’s you Jasper. Sad that you’ll make every excuse in the book for these monsters. “The were gay and only raped teenagers!”. Again, like most of your utterances here, total bullshit.

  19. 20 Bruce Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Oh yeah, no prob, it’s straight sex and the girls led them on. How under the radar can you get in our culture? Jeez, the only thing that creates more bullshit in this this world than belief in deities that sanction our desires is… oh wait, there isn’t anything else.

  20. 21 JJ Thursday, November 26, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Bruce – You’ve got mail

  21. 22 hemmingforddogblog Friday, November 27, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Was listening to the BBC yesterday about the Perv Priests. They were interviewing one (of many) victims. He said the priest sexually assaulted him for the first time at 13. Then, the priest told the boy it was his fault and did he want his family to know about it? This went on for years.

    Has the Vatican thought about castrating priests before they go into training? That would solve their problems. Remember…our tax dollars support these pervs! (Donations being tax deductible and all…)

  22. 23 Reality Bites Friday, November 27, 2009 at 4:13 am

    JJ, I may “kick his ass” but I am very much onside with Bruce on this. What I enjoy about your blog is the atmosphere created by you and your visitors.

    It’s like we’re a bunch of people out for a drink and Jasper’s an obnoxious drunk who hits on everyone, one after another, and no one will call the manager to get rid of him before he vomits all over someone’s cleavage.

  23. 24 mouthyorange Friday, November 27, 2009 at 6:36 am

    “JJ, I may โ€œkick his assโ€ but I am very much onside with Bruce on this. What I enjoy about your blog is the atmosphere created by you and your visitors.” – RB

    Me too, what I love about your blog is the atmosphere created by your visitors โ€” it’s like hanging around in your living room. Like your place has an open door and we can drop in and enjoy each other’s company and good conversation anytime.

    But lately there’s been this obnoxious, disruptive guy who always seems to be there and a lot of conversation swirls around him. To be in the room means to be continually exposed to lots of people arguing with him and talking to each other about him. I don’t mean this as a judgement on what anyone else wants to do, but it’s my personal preference. I don’t want to be around this stuff. It’s not what I come here for. So I’ve been lurking, hoping and waiting that this guy finally clears out of here, and the bad air with him. Which he probably won’t as long as people keep interacting with him โ€” he keeps getting payoffs for being here and being disruptive.

    Hope that makes sense. I love you guys. I’m in a rush this morning and may have said something here that might be hurtful or offensive to any of you, and I don’t want to do that!

  24. 25 Dr. Prole Friday, November 27, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Mouthyorange, I know I should just ignore Jasper but damn! He’s just so fun to kick around.

    That being said, he’s a pedophile-defending, liberty-hating, Limbaugh/Coulter/Bush-worshiping, copy-and-pasting dunce and I would also like it if he weren’t always here vomiting on my fabulous cleavage.

  25. 26 Jasper Friday, November 27, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Dr. Prole,

    If I was single I’d ask you out on a date.
    I think I like you.

  26. 27 deBeauxOs Friday, November 27, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Jasper, sorry to interrupt your big-feeling-coming-over-me-all-funny-like moment there, but what about those heterosexual pedophile priests? The ones who sexually violate girls?

    Did you check my link? No? I didn’t think you would.

    Here’s another link, to US victims of heterosexual pedophile priests.

    http://www.snapnetwork.org/female_victims/women_face_stigma.htm

  27. 28 Dr. Prole Friday, November 27, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Jasper, if I were single, I’d accept. Then I’d take you over my knee and give you the spanking and discipline that you so obviously crave, baby. And then I’d dump you so fast your head would spin. I don’t go out with religious dudes.

  28. 29 Jasper Friday, November 27, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    deBeauxOs,

    Ok the priests were heteosexual. It’s very bad either way.

    Dr. Prole -LOL.

  29. 30 JJ Friday, November 27, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    You know what you guys?

    I think I’m going to make one special thread just to discuss the status of trolls and undesirables and how we, as denizens of this little hangout, want to handle it. Then anyone who wants to stay out of it can stay out of it, and the rest of the threads can be for discussing the topic at hand.

    And if anyone shows up in the other threads and says something stoooopid, I’d advise ignoring them for the time being, or at least not letting it highjack the thread.

    Sound about right?

  30. 31 Dr. Prole Friday, November 27, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Sounds about right. Sorry, JJ.

  31. 32 JJ Friday, November 27, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Dr.Prole – No no no, don’t apologize, you have nothing to apologize for.

    I’m just concerned that threads are getting highjacked and Jasper is becoming *the topic* — I don’t care if people respond to him about the real topic, but some people are getting alienated by all the attention he’s getting.

    I know trolls are fun to play with sometimes and I’m as guilty as anyone for poking them with sharp sticks to see if they twitch ๐Ÿ˜† but I don’t want anyone to be feeling bad because the topic always goes back to one person and becomes of discussion of that person.

    I should ask the guys at stageleft how they manage this kind of thing — they’re the widest open, free speechiest blog around, and yet they don’t seem to have this problem.

    There’s no doubt about it, I attract weirdos ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  32. 33 fern hill Friday, November 27, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Thereโ€™s no doubt about it, I attract weirdos ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    That’s what we love about you, JJ. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  33. 34 deBeauxOs Friday, November 27, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Reminiscing … Remember the time you attracted a full-metal prayer assault instigated by Nurse Ratchett Stank?

  34. 35 Reality Bites Friday, November 27, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    JJ – Thereโ€™s no doubt about it, I attract weirdos

    Yes, and the trolls are driving them off! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  35. 36 JJ Friday, November 27, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    ๐Ÿ˜† ♥ you guys ♥

  36. 37 Frank Frink Friday, November 27, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Damn! RB beat me to it. He’s good. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜†

    That’s what I get for working (a live performance of a reality TV thing) on a Friday evening.

  37. 39 mouthyorange Saturday, November 28, 2009 at 3:41 am

    ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜†


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,935
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


