Test

T52VV5RFYUKX

Nothing, just Technorati bullshit

15 Responses to “Test”


  1. 2 Mark from Slap Saturday, November 28, 2009 at 7:13 am

    For some reason my site isn’t even on Technorati anymore. Not that I found it very helpful to begin with, but I wonder what happened…

  2. 3 JJ Saturday, November 28, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Mark – Technorati changed to some Beta thing.
    You will probably have to re-claim your site, and then they give you a “key” number to post (that’s what this is) so their crawler can find you and confirm the claim.

    Who knows, maybe they provide more useful info now, like the GPS coordinates of trolls, ha!

  3. 4 Bruce Sunday, November 29, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    I gave up on Technorati ages ago, I knew they were going through some sort of change but I got tired of it. So I went to check and see if I’m still there, I am. Not only is my blog still there but they’re picking up the feeds and I’m still the owner.

    And that’s it, no other information. I don’t see the point in it anymore unless you’re in the top 100, and trust me, I’m not.

  4. 5 JJ Monday, November 30, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Bruce – The main reason I used to like Technorati was because it showed who was linking. I especially appreciated this info after moving to WordPress, because WP doesn’t allow javascript so sitemeters can’t pick up where the incoming is coming from.

    Unfortunately, Technorati doesn’t seem to do that anymore, or at least I can’t figure out where to look for it.

  5. 6 Mark from Slap Monday, November 30, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    JJ, you can use Google’s blog search to see recent blogs posts that link to you. It works about as well as Technorati’s search did. Just go to http://blogsearch.google.com/ and type in link: unrepentantoldhippie.wordpress.com as the query (the “link:” bit tells Google to only search for sites that contain a link to yours).

    This works in the regular Google search too, but then it will show you all sites that link to you, so it’ll be hard to see new posts.

  6. 7 JJ Monday, November 30, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Aw, thanks Mark! That’s what Technorati used to show, remember?

    I sometimes get curious because I’ll suddenly get one post that being inundated with hits and it’s obvious someone is linking to me. I just like to know if it’s friend or foe 😛

  7. 8 Bruce Monday, November 30, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Mark, you’re wonderful! I knew about that but could never remember the url, guess I should bookmark it.

  8. 9 J. A. Baker Monday, November 30, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I don’t know why, but for some reason, I seem to be getting a lot of link spam from Technorati…

  9. 12 RealityBites Tuesday, December 1, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Duh! Spam formed into the shape of link sausage.

  10. 13 JJ Tuesday, December 1, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Huh? 😆 Never mind, I’ll use Teh Googles

  11. 14 JJ Tuesday, December 1, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Oh, okay I get it now.
    I get that here once in awhile — a comment that says “What a great blog! I’ll be sure to visit again!” or some bullshit like that, and the commenter’s name is a link to something. Usually Akismet picks it up & sends it to the spam folder, but not always.

  12. 15 J. A. Baker Tuesday, December 1, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Actually, what I’m trying to describe is this: on my dashboard (the page Blogsome dumps me onto when I login), there’s a section that lists the most recent links to my blog. Right now, that’s filled with nothing but pingback spam via/from Technorati.


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,183
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


