Dark

Leonard Cohen will be receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Grammys in January.  Well done!

Cohen’s music, which I love, always reminds me a bit of the writings of William S. Burroughs — the themes are often darkly pessimistic, dwelling on things like creeping authoritarianism, chaos, brutality and despair.   This is vintage Cohen:

10 Responses to “Dark”


  1. 1 Frank Frink Monday, December 14, 2009 at 2:53 am

    the themes are often darkly pessimistic, dwelling on things like creeping authoritarianism, chaos, brutality and despair.

    And he’s also always been largely about sex and religion, and where they intersect. Hmmm… come to think of it, sex and religion also often intersect with ‘creeping authoritarianism, chaos, brutality and despair’. e.g. check the lyrics in the song in the posted video. 😉

    Could really care less about the Grammys but Cohen is certainly worthy of being noted for his body of work.

  2. 2 900ft jesus Monday, December 14, 2009 at 6:43 am

    one of my favourites, that guy. Good for him!

  3. 3 JJ Monday, December 14, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    FF – Oh yeah, sex, religion, death, it’s all wound up with authoritarianism, chaos, brutality and despair. “Don’t Worry Be Happy” it’s not.

    I don’t care for the Grammys either, haven’t watched them in years. (The last time I did, I didn’t know who any of the bands were and they all sounded like screaming shit-hawks circling a burger stand, so I stopped watching.) but I’ll watch to see LC get his award. Hope he does a song!

  4. 4 sassy Monday, December 14, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Huge long time Cohen fan here.

  5. 5 mouthyorange Monday, December 14, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Not me. Don’t like his work at all. I might if I didn’t find something really creepy about it that makes my skin crawl. I feel that there’s a sexist vibe to it that I don’t ever want to be around. I’ve known a few men who love his work and they justify their sexism by quoting his lyrics — lyrics that can be interpreted any number of ways. Some of them have argued to me that he means exactly what they think he means and that he is speaking to them. For them. Yuch.

    So you guys can go ahead and celebrate, for whatever your own reasons are. But I’ve got other things to do.

    Sign me,
    Party Pooper

  6. 6 croghan27 Monday, December 14, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    The CBC a couple of years ago had a series of lectures about Why Cohen Should Get A Nobel.

    He has taken the overtly romantic (“I loved you well, in the Chelsea Hotel”) and united it with the very physical (“Giving me head on the unmade bed …”) opening up new avenues to express emotions that are neither too saccharin sweet nor too physically gritty.

    WTG, Len!

  7. 7 Cornelius T.Zen Monday, December 14, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Good morrow, all!
    Leonard Cohen was once interviewed about his becoming a Buddhist. During the interview, he mentioned something about suffering from depression.
    After listening to some of his stuff (you wanna treat? “Famous Blue Raincoat” – Jennifer Warnes – every track a gem!) I have coem to the conclusion that, if it were not for depression, none one would have ever heard of Leonard Cohen at all.
    First We Take Manhattan – CTZen

  8. 8 JJ Monday, December 14, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    mouthyorange – To each his own! 🙂

  9. 9 JJ Monday, December 14, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    croghan

    He has taken the overtly romantic (“I loved you well, in the Chelsea Hotel”) and united it with the very physical (“Giving me head on the unmade bed …”) opening up new avenues to express emotions that are neither too saccharin sweet nor too physically gritty.

    That’s what I love about his lyrics… not just the range of emotion but the combination of softness and brutality. It’s startling but enjoyable, in the same way as it’s enjoyable to write a well constructed, articulate sentence and throw the word ‘fuck’ into it somewhere.

  10. 10 JJ Monday, December 14, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    CTZen

    Leonard Cohen was once interviewed about his becoming a Buddhist. During the interview, he mentioned something about suffering from depression.

    Ya think?
    😆

    When I drove to Mexico in the 80s I had 3 tapes: Wall of Voodoo, an old John Prine tape and a bootleg tape of a Leonard Cohen performance in a bar somewhere. By the time we got to LaPaz, we were referring to the Cohen tape as the “pass the razor blades” tape. Not the most uplifting stuff, but I love it anyway.


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,758
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


