Apple unveils iPad tablet

Apple’s new shiny cool thing full of awesomeness is here.  Take it away Steve:Vodpod videos no longer available.

24 Responses to “Apple unveils iPad tablet”


  1. 1 Reality.Bites Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Trying hard to see a point to this, and failing. Lacks the real portability of an iPod, and lacks the functionality of a computer or phone.

  2. 2 psa Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    As a Mac nerd I watched the fawning video on the Apple site and… meh. They’d have been better off putting out a really hopping netbook.

  3. 3 hemmingforddogblog Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Have we had enough of Steve Jobs yet? Every week Apple is coming out with a new iPlication. Enough, I say! Let Apple pay for their publicity like everyone else! 🙂

  4. 4 JJ Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    RB – I can’t say I disagree. I haven’t had time to really look into it yet, but from what I’ve seen I don’t get the big deal about this thing.

  5. 5 JJ Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    psa – Maybe it was the big buildup to it, but I too was disappointed. I don’t see what it’s got that makes me need to have it, and I’m a total mactard, I love everything Mac.

  6. 6 JJ Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    SQ – 😆 There’s always so much hype before they introduce a new product now, it’s getting so they can’t live up to it. I won’t write it off til I see more info about it, but so far — meh.

  7. 7 Bleatmop Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    Apple almost had me until they started charging like $5 for a SOFTWARE UPDATE on my wife’s ipod. Not just once, either. Never had to pay for a software update anywhere else, especially not on my blackberry. Sorry Apple, too greedy. Your recent anti-trust actions prove that you’re worse than Microsoft ever was. (Yes, I know I’m talking to a corporation like it’s a real person. I figure it’s fair because they are more powerful that real people).

  8. 8 Bene D Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    I’m not an Apple consumer, can’t begin to afford their products, but I admit I looked at the new shiny cool thing.

    Most of the fun of gawking is the fan response.

  9. 9 Reality Bites Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I’ve got an iPod touch – ordered it the first day it was available. I literally never leave home without it. It fits in my pocket and/or my hand.

    But if I’m going to the trouble of carrying something bigger it means I’m going to be sitting somewhere for a while. If that’s the case, I want a computer that:

    1) Has a keyboard
    2) has a touchpad
    3) can have a mouse
    4) can play any audio or video format I can throw at it without me re-encoding it.
    5) can run any application I want to use
    6) can multitask.

    Now mine happens to be a PC, but it could be a Mac just as easily.

  10. 11 Dr. Prole Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 8:33 am

    It does look really cool and futuristic. It’s the kind of computer that years ago I thought we’d all have by now, along with flying cars and clothes made out of silver space age polymers.

  11. 12 Reality.Bites Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Cool and futuristic can often just be stupid.

    How often have we seen in movies computer displays, holographic advertising, etc. that has no physical presence but just appears in mid-air and you can see through it?

    Samsung has even demonstrated a computer with a see-through screen.

    http://www.computersavenue.com/samsung/see-through-samsungs-14-inch-transparent-oled-laptop

    And yes, it’s way cool. But it’s utterly useless. I don’t WANT to see distracting things on the other side of my display unless it’s a camera viewfinder.

  12. 13 JJ Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Bleatmop – Charging you for a software update?? 😯 Greedheads

  13. 14 JJ Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Bene D – Yeah, the Mactard Club is not cheap to join, but once you do… 😯 I remember laughing at someone in the apple store who told me she had 3 macs… I have 3 of them now, and I use them all for different things (some apps on my G5 won’t work on my new imac).

    They’re addictive!

  14. 15 JJ Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 10:06 am

    RB – That’s my feeling — if it’s something bigger than an iphone or an ipod, I want it to have all the functionality of a laptop.

    This ipad thing looks like it would be a little easier to carry around than a laptop, but not much. My macbook is tiny, only 13″, and I can do anything on it that I can do on my imac. (Actually more than I can do on my imac, because my laptop has photoshop, a version too old for my iMac.) So I don’t see what the ipad has going for it over what I’ve already got.

  15. 16 JJ Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 10:08 am

    SQ – 😆 😆

  16. 17 JJ Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Dr.Prole – Apple stuff looks awesome, and I love how space-efficient it is. They’ve really tapped into something with that “cool-looking and small” thing they’ve got going.

  17. 18 JJ Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 10:17 am

    RB – That see-through screen freaks me out. I don’t think I could work on something like that — too distracting.

  18. 19 Dr. Prole Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Thought you might get a kick out of this, JJ.

    iPad jokes

  19. 20 Bruce Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    I don’t say this very often, but it’s too big for what it does. Hmm, maybe I’m not a size queen after all.

  20. 21 Niles Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    This is for Bruce.

    url=http://instantrimshot.com/

    other innuendo aside of course.

  21. 23 JJ Friday, January 29, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Bruce

    maybe I’m not a size queen after all.

    It’s not how big it is, it’s how mad it gets 😉


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,183
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


