MIA and Death of a Cake

Sorry for the recent lack of blogging.

I usually try not to drift into negativity, but it happens.  My prevailing mood the past few days can only be characterized as an overwhelming sense of ennui punctuated by moments of utter despondency.  No interest in even reading the news, let alone making my own inane comments about it, so I’ve been staying away from this corner of the www.

But so what?  A friend of mine is having a birthday soon, so I tried to bake a cake yesterday.  I put the thing in the oven and promptly lost interest in it, as is my wont these days… until I caught a whiff of smoke…

…and stumbled back to the kitchen to find the oven engulfed in flames, or “fully involved” as they say in the fire fighting business.  The next 15 minutes was spent in a frenzy of extinguishment — the oven was saved, but the cake unfortunately perished in the blaze.  I’m considering giving my friend the charred remains and explaining that this tragedy befell the cake when I tried to light all the candles.  Haha.

I have a few more cakes to burn, but I’ll be back in a day or two.

26 Responses to “MIA and Death of a Cake”


  1. 1 Torontonian Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Come back when you’re ready, JJ.

    I thought the Olympics might have taken up a lot of
    your time or a brief illness.

    Thanks for sharing with us. We’re a patient lot.

  2. 2 balbulican Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Maybe it’s the time of year, or maybe it’s the time of man.

    For heaven’s sake take as much downtime as you need.

  3. 3 Bruce Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Sounds like you need to work something out, we all do that at some point, I’ll wait.

    Setting a cake on fire? Impressive, I would have thought it couldn’t be done, it must have been in there for hours. LOL

  4. 4 Kim Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    We all suffer periods of this depression you speak of, it’s not a progressive world we live in.

  5. 5 mouthyorange Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Poor dear thing. Do what you need for yourself. Do you honestly think we would leave you?

    (Cake on fire. Tee hee hee ha ha ha HO HO HO — HA HA HA HA HA!)

  6. 6 hemmingforddogblog Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    If you need a smile, and who doesn’t (!) take a look at these so called “professional” birthday cakes. You will feel much better…much better…

    http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/2010/02/recycled-wrecks.html

  7. 7 Howie51 Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Hmmm …. apparently a subconscious burnt offering to the god of Ennui Quaker and Crocker. Had it been frosted during the conflagration, you might have been turned to stone bread.

    Cheer up .. things can only get worse, and that’s when friends kick in.

    H

  8. 8 Mrs. Bitch Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    If that’s your kitchen, kudos. You have a lot more grace under fire (mwahahahahahaha!!! wheeze!) than I would to be able to stop and take a picture of your 3-alarm cake.

    Ennui is a minor annoyance, but despondency is a bitch. I hope things are looking up for you.

  9. 9 smelter rat Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Thankfully you caught the fire in time. We went through a house fire 5 years ago, and it’s no fun. Take care, JJ. Cheers.

    sr

  10. 10 lulugirrrlll Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Poor JJ — hopefully it’s just a case of the February blahs. Take all the time you need to get healthy and happy — we’ll be here when you get back.

  11. 11 Janus Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    I ‘sploded a potato in my oven on Tuesday, and it made a big mess, but it didn’t catch fire. How hot did you have that oven, hon?

    Take yer time. We’ll be here when you get back.

  12. 12 psa Sunday, February 21, 2010 at 6:50 am

    much love your way jj, inventor of inferno cake

  13. 13 Bleatmop Sunday, February 21, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I searched the internet far and wide
    To find platitudes to combine
    Intended to heal and mend
    Some ennui or negative zen

    Alas it was not to be
    Platitudes cannot be
    The end to despondency

    Unable to help the circumstance
    Instead I wrote a poem of excellence
    I hope you laugh and do not cry
    At my attempt to fit the rhyme scheme

    (ok, I really couldn’t think of anything for the last couple lines, but I wish you good mental health soon!)

  14. 14 stageleft Sunday, February 21, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    If you’d like I can forward you a copy of the legally binding agreement I have with my oven….. in a nutshell it reads that the party of the first part (stageleft) agrees never, under any circumstances however dire, to try and cook anything in the oven, and the party of the second part (the oven) agrees not to burn said food, the apartment, and everything, and everyone, in it, to a crisp.

  15. 15 Niles Sunday, February 21, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    ….you took the time to take a photo of your burning oven?…while it was burning?

    Please tell me you didn’t do that.

    Or, maybe that you did. Because what that says of your level of cool (or detachment) makes me both very much in awe, and afraid.

    Speaking as one also having a big fog of ennui at this turn of the year.

  16. 16 balbulican Monday, February 22, 2010 at 5:24 am

    Too bad it was a cake and not a Boston Pie.

    Cuz that would have been a Cream-ation.

    Nyuk, nyuk, nyuk. I gotta a million a dem.

  17. 17 Peter Monday, February 22, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Don’t worry, JJ, a true friend would understand perfectly and laugh it all off. After all, who would be so mean-minded as to choose a bloody cake over a dear friendship?

    Unless it was a chocolate cake. JJ, you aren’t going to tell us it was chocolate, are you? JJ, how could you!?

  18. 18 JJ Monday, February 22, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Thanks guys. There’ll be no more burning of cakes — the oven door is closed, chained and padlocked.

    FTR, that is not my oven in the picture — the pic is from the mighty Gizoogle. But it’s a reasonable facsimile of what was happening in my oven.

    And it was a lemon cake, not a chocolate one… this guy’s a good friend but not that good.

  19. 19 JJ Monday, February 22, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    balb

    Too bad it was a cake and not a Boston Pie.

    Cuz that would have been a Cream-ation.

    Nyuk, nyuk, nyuk. I gotta a million a dem.

    Try the veal! And don’t forget to tip the waitress.

  20. 20 J. A. Baker Monday, February 22, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    this guy’s a good friend but not that good.

    Ah, but is he a good enough friend for your fart stew? 😉

  21. 21 deBeauxOs Monday, February 22, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    What the …? Did you mistake the fondue fuel for vanilla?

    8o

  22. 22 JJ Monday, February 22, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    JAB – Trust me the last thing this guy needs is Fart Stew 👿

  23. 23 JJ Monday, February 22, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    deBeauxOs – I had an overflow issue — the cake pan was too small, and it overflowed and caught on fire 😯

  24. 24 J. A. Baker Tuesday, February 23, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    JAB – Trust me the last thing this guy needs is Fart Stew 👿

    Funny, that’s what my dad and I say about each other… 😆

  25. 25 JJ Tuesday, February 23, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    When you can hear each other over the ass-thunder, eh?

  26. 26 J. A. Baker Tuesday, February 23, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Yep. And my mom just rolls her eyes in disgust at us.

    Then again, that may just be her passing out from the odor… 😆


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,187
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


