President Obama: It Gets Better

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Also, check out the Trevor Project website, it’s amazing.

9 Responses to “President Obama: It Gets Better”


  1. 1 Bleatmop Friday, October 22, 2010 at 1:19 am

    Just when I get bogged down in my criticism of this guy and start to wonder if there was a difference between him and Bushy, he goes and does something awesome like this to remind me of just what the differences are. 50 progressive points to Obama for one!

  2. 2 croghan27 Friday, October 22, 2010 at 3:58 am

    Warm words, BHO – now get rid of DADT and stop government bullying.

  3. 3 JJ Friday, October 22, 2010 at 6:22 am

    Bleatmop – Yes, somehow I can’t imagine George W doing a speech like this.

    However, croghan (below you) has a good point, and it’s actually the first thing that came to my mind before I even clicked “play” — DADT.

  4. 4 JJ Friday, October 22, 2010 at 6:29 am

    croghan – Great minds think alike, that’s exactly what I thought before I even hit play. Listening to this speech it also occurred to me that it would have been a great time to say “Here’s PROOF that the world is changing for the better — my administration has decided not to appeal the court decision that struck down DADT, and starting today, gay people can now serve openly”.

    That would have been awesome 😐

    But still, I give him some credit for paying attention to an issue that most presidents ignore.

  5. 5 Cornelius T. Zen Friday, October 22, 2010 at 7:08 am

    Good morrow, all!
    Now, let’s see some REAL cojones on the man!
    “Today, in the spirit of equality for all, I am endorsing the rights of people to marry other people of the same gender.”
    At which point, the sky opens up and a loud voice thunders downs:
    “ABOUT F@#!&%$! TIME, DUDE!”
    Not holding my breath – CTZen

  6. 6 Simon Friday, October 22, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    hi JJ…when I first started watching this video I felt like saying OK that’s nice, now how about signing an executive order to end discrimination in the military? Like so many other gay people have. But I couldn’t, because I must admit that when it was over I had tears in my eyes. Never in the fondest dreams could I ever have imagined a U.S. President speaking out against bullying. So yeah…I will get back to DADT soon, but not tonight…

  7. 7 JJ Friday, October 22, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    CTZen – That’s another thing that would have been nice to hear — repealing that idiotic “defense of marriage act”. But I expect that to happen even less than the repeal of DADT.

    Actually I do believe DADT will be repealed, but it would have been nice to see it repealed in time to mention it in this speech. Oh well, baby steps. The US isn’t on the leading edge of these issues 😐

  8. 8 JJ Friday, October 22, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Hi Simon – It is pretty remarkable, especially to someone my age. I can remember when it would have been unthinkable for a president to address the issue of gay kids being bullied. So, although the US sometimes seems painfully slow to catch up with the rest of us on social issues, steps are being made in the right direction.

    I’m sure DADT is probably on a lot of peoples’ minds when they watch this video. Also, a lot of soldiers have committed suicide while on duty in Iraq or Afghanistan, and I wondered if any of them did it because they found out they were outed and about to be let go under DADT. It has to be extremely traumatic.

  9. 9 Jim Terral Monday, October 25, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    It brought tears to my eyes too. It’s a small step. But when he says, “I don’t know what it’s like to be picked on for being gay, but I do know what it’s like to grow up feeling that sometimes you don’t belong,” I know he’s speaking the truth.


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,203
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


