Timmy Ho’s coffee, tailgate parties and a job that makes my feet tired

Haha, Margaret Wente there:

Before we venture further into this battle zone, you can calculate your elite status by taking this patented Elite-O-Meter test. See how you rate!

Safe in the knowledge that my elitist bona fides were impeccable, I took up the challenge.  Therefore it is with regret and a sense of failure so traumatizing that I may never leave the house, or even this room, again, that I report:

I am not a member of The Elite.

My supposedly secure elite status lies in smoking ruins because my job entails standing all day, I like a cup of Timmy’s and love a good tailgate party (especially when there’s a bonfire of such psychotic magnitude that extra beer is required for the imminent arrival of the fire department).   And that’s just three(3) points — there are (gasp) more, proving that I’m just a teabagger in elitist’s clothing.

Which makes me wonder:  If an unapologetic libtard like me isn’t an elitist, then who is?   Over to Mr. C:

Dark humour aside, Wente made a point that can’t be overstated:

Why do non-elites resent elites? Because they think the elites don’t understand them and don’t respect them. They can be right about that. They also tend to resent the elites of the liberal, nanny-statish variety who insist that they know better than the unwashed masses.

As a newly-minted non-elite myself, I can vouch for that.  Whether it’s smug and sanctimonious liberals getting on my back or sex-obsessed social conservatives humping my leg, I resent the attitude that anyone Knows Better than I do how I should run my life.  “Elitist” politicians ignore that sentiment at their peril, as Rob Ford proved.

11 Responses to “Timmy Ho’s coffee, tailgate parties and a job that makes my feet tired”


  1. 1 hemmingforddogblog Sunday, November 7, 2010 at 2:24 am

    Well…I blew it too. I went to the “other” Montreal university and live in a really small town. But…by the Blogging Tory “standards” I am a latte-drinking liberal! Go figure…

    (Who is Jimmy Johnson?)

  2. 2 Peter Sunday, November 7, 2010 at 2:55 am

    I can’t decide how real this divide actually is or where it’s going, but it sure is fun.

    Here is the story Wente referred to. I particularly like The San Francisco law would allow toys to be given away with kids’ meals that have less than 600 calories, contain fruits and vegetables, and include beverages without excessive fat or sugar.. Mmmm…spring water and vegetables! My Victorian grandmother would have been solidly behind this.

  3. 3 JJ Sunday, November 7, 2010 at 9:26 am

    SQ

    (Who is Jimmy Johnson?)

    Who knows. I had to google it, and there are lots of them. *shrug*

  4. 4 JJ Sunday, November 7, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Peter

    I can’t decide how real this divide actually is or where it’s going, but it sure is fun.

    It’s real 😐 I just hope it doesn’t become so amusing to make fun of it that left-leaning people have yet another reason not to take it seriously.

    EDIT: Oh yeah, that article. Well, what more can one say. Taking the toys out of happy meals to protect the little darlings from themselves 🙄 It’s beyond ridiculous.

    I seriously don’t get it. I grew up without all this BS, and I am healthy, slim and physically-fit. Yet half the teenagers I see every day, who all grew up with the shrieking nanny state trying to protect them from happy meals and slurpies, are OBESE. And because we are now supposed to love everyone *just the way they are*, they can’t even be shamed into doing anything about it and walk around wearing little tank tops with their fat guts hanging out. It’s mind-boggling.

  5. 5 J. A. Baker Monday, November 8, 2010 at 7:55 am

    (Who is Jimmy Johnson?)

    Just a guess, but that’s either the coach who led the Dallas Cowboys to two Super Bowl victories or (more likely) the NASCAR driver (who spells his name with an “ie” instead of a “y”).

  6. 6 J. A. Baker Monday, November 8, 2010 at 7:55 am

    I guess the above comment automagically knocks me out of “elite” status…

  7. 7 Peter Tuesday, November 9, 2010 at 2:49 am

    J.A. Baker:

    No way. Do you think all it takes is watching one NASCAR race or buying one double double to get you out of the elites? It’s a lot tougher than that. We have a whole vetting process that is very long and very thorough, and we’ll be in touch. We anti-elitists don’t let just anyone in, you know.

  8. 8 Bleatmop Tuesday, November 9, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    What I am finding surprising is how many people commenting on the article are defending the “elite” or even denying that the elite exist.

    Also, what qualifies as a small town in most peoples minds I wonder? I live in a place with about 1200 people that is actually considered a big town by some of the residents of the hamlets around me because we have both a hardware store and grocery store WITH a meat and produce department. Meanwhile my instructor in college used to say the city we lived in (~50,000 people) was a small town. Guess it’s all relative.

  9. 10 Peter Tuesday, November 9, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Here is my favourie comment from Bleatmop’s link, delivered without so much as a hint of irony:

    The problem is that most of us have absolutely no critical thinking skills. Without critical thinking skills, we fall victim to false ideas, like the idea that the problem with society is that the “elites” don’t understand the “real world”. The real problem is that most people, elites and non-elites alike, don’t have a clue, and can’t figure it out for themselves.

  10. 11 croghan27 Monday, November 15, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    JA – I think they are one and the same person … Johnson left football to enter his first love, NASCAR racing.


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 631,441
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


