Closing Time

You knew it was coming.

Thanks to everyone who read and commented, agreed and disagreed, linked and un-linked, and especially those who’ve hung in here over these past few erratic and troublesome months.  I’m humbled.  But I’ve become discouraged with the blogosphere in general and my own recent feeble offerings in particular — the bell has rung, for now anyway.

(Who knows, maybe as soon as I hit “Publish” for this post, I’ll think of something that I really really really want to blog about… but I seriously doubt it.)

Thanks again.

xxxooo

 

51 Responses to “Closing Time”


  1. 1 Scott Tribe Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    A blogger who always gets a lot of comments when she does post should not leave blogging – not forever anyhow. I hope you’ll reconsider.

  2. 2 smelter rat Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    What Scott said.

  3. 3 stageleft Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Blogging is not necessarily about the comments Scott.

    JJ, I hope that at some point you decide that it’s not a total waste and re-enter the sphere, until then I will miss your thoughts.

  4. 4 RossK Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    jj–

    Before we part for the moment, I want to remind you of something (that I’m pretty sure you, of all people, probably already know)….Which is what HST once said about journalism:

    “Journalism is a low trade and habit worse than heroin.”

    And you and I both know it was a habit, for good and very little ill, that he good never really kick.

    So, given what we both know about the blogging monkey…..

    Well…..

    We’ll read ya when we read ya, because we both know we will.

    Until then, I for one am sure gonna miss ya kid.

    OK?

    .

  5. 5 Pierre H. Vachon Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    What Scott, StageLeft and RossK said …

  6. 6 Mark Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    bummer for me, enjoyed the read…best wishes for you in the New Year.

  7. 7 B York Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    As a lapsed blogger, I understand. But I never had the gumption or gusto to give so much as you did, JJ. I’m sorry you feel you have no more to offer for the time being because it has been a swell ride through the years, checking out the major and everyday issues you posted about. You will be missed so much.

  8. 8 West End Bob Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    I – along with a lot of others – will miss you, JJ . . . .

  9. 9 Torontonian Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Dear JJ,

    I’ll miss you and I hope it’s just a passing mood
    that will go away when the flowers come up and the
    weather is more fair than it is in your part of
    the country.

    We, your followers, will miss your postings and remarks
    and I’m just hoping it’s a passing thing. Of course,
    it’s hard to write about depressing subjects like
    Harper and anti-abortionists–among others.

    Several things I do hope for you are that your
    cats and dog will look after you and help you back
    to your regular self. Certainly, your followers
    are expressing sorrow and wishing you well.

    Please let us know when you come back. After all,
    you do have our e-mails, don’t you?

  10. 10 Bleatmop Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 2:53 am

    I’m sad to hear this. Reading your blog that seemed oriented not to the left or right, but instead to reality and good sense has been a treat. Thank you for the time and effort you gave us all these past years.

  11. 11 croghan27 Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 2:58 am

    jj

    Sometimes ya gotta just stand back and get refreshed …. go-for-it.

    I have told you how, after I died in a hospital in 2008, they were reviving me and all I could think of was I must tell jj something (just what it was is lost now) because she is a better writer than I an can tell it better ….

    You were, are, have been and will be a delight … thank you for the years.

  12. 12 Peter Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 3:04 am

    Many thanks, JJ, and all the best.

  13. 13 900ft j Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 4:16 am

    usually when a blogger makes an announcement like yours jj, I say though you’ll be missed, take care of yourself before everything else.

    In this case, I have to say I hope you change your mind because the place just won’t be the same. It isn’t just the flavour you add, jj, it’s that you are fearless. Readership and comments do matter because those draw even more readers and we really, really need fearless voices of reason on the Net.

    Having said that, of course if there’s a health issue involved, that comes first, but you strike me as someone who will most likely pine away if you don’t blog. Can’t let all that spikie outrage simmer without an outlet!

    Anyway, we all know you will make your own decision and whatever you decide, Lady, best wishes to you.

  14. 14 Orwell's Bastard Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 5:27 am

    Hey! Are you proroguing? Recalibrating or something?

    Take the time you need.

    And then come back.

  15. 16 balbulican Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 8:55 am

    I don’t know if I know exactly what you’re going through, but I feel like I understand some of it. You’re smart and thoughtful and self-aware and self-critical, and whatever you decide to do will be the right thing. It may be time to quit. It may be time to take a break. You won’t know how a long a break you need until you’ve had it, so take whatever time it takes. And if you don’t come back, I will seriously miss you.

  16. 17 900ft j Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 10:34 am

    awww…balbulican is a genius in this, and right.

  17. 18 fern hill Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Awwwww. I’m so sad to hear this. You are my blogging hero and inspiration.

    I hope you’ll rest up and come back.

    We’ll all miss you.

    Best wishes for the new year.

  18. 19 psa Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    jj, you are and were always among the very best of us. you had the balls, the brains and the wit to chart your own course and in many ways i think you represented the conscience that i and a few others might lack ;^)

    i fade in and out of the sphere and i often find it too aggravating to contribute and too consuming to sustain. there comes a point where setting down to face yet another bout of political malfeasance, hyper-religious lunacy or just the nastier side of human behaviour is too taxing to bear. this is a volunteers sport for all but a very few so none can begrudge you respite. you done good, friend.

    if you don’t want or can’t shoulder the burden of a solo gig, consider the route i took and find a nice nest to nestle into where there are others to hold screed. any of the collective blogs would be more than glad to give you what space you’d care to occupy. in any regard, you’ve made the sphere a better place, even when you had occasion to box my ears. whatever you decide and how long you run quiet you’ll have all of our respects.

  19. 20 fern hill Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Oooh, psa, what a dandy idea! We’ll throw a huuuge party at DAMMIT if you’d like to blog with us, either regularly or occasionally.

  20. 21 Dave Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    If I say I know how you feel, it’s because I know how you feel.

    I also know that when you’re on form you’re one of the best. You have a knack for moving the fire under the feet of those deserving it most.

    PSA made a great suggestion. Don’t stay away. You’re good at this.

  21. 22 Mike Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    I understand completely. I left and have never looked back (not what some want to hear). Life is surprisingly relaxed when you look outside the blogosphere. No matter what JJ, I’m glad to have known you and been a small part of the journey

  22. 23 hemmingforddogblog Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Take an internet break! Come back refreshed…please.

  23. 25 Dr.Dawg Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    You do what you need to do, JJ: but I join others here in hoping, at least, that you’ll be back.

    Your leaving does make us poorer–your wit and wisdom has been appreciated, and I was pleased to blogroll you as one of the quintessential “riot grrrls.”

    Fare thee well, but you’re leaving a hole in cyberspace.

    Best to you and yours in this season and for the New Year.

  24. 26 Buckets Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Like the others I hope this is temporary. Keep well.

  25. 27 Bene D Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    JJ-you are an outstanding and gifted writer, adroite, plucky and sanguine.

    I’ll miss you. If you are in the mood to fire off a post anytime, get in touch, and if firing off some words isn’t your cup of tea with rra – it would be delightful to see you posing with some of your many friends above.

    Be well, stay well,I hope life is kind to you, and that someday the muse to blog on! graces us again..

  26. 28 Sungold Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    I’ve only rarely commented, but I’ve read your stuff faithfully over the past couple of years. Add me to the list of people who’ll miss your voice, and who hope you’ll enter the fray again sometime in the future. All good things to you!

  27. 29 sassy Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Add me to the list on many who read you and will miss you.

    Best wishes always

  28. 30 Dr. Prole Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Hey JJ I will email you when I’m next in your neck of the woods. Maybe we can have a drink or two.

    This sucks, yours was the only blog I was looking forward to getting back to in the near future. Best wishes to you for a happy and healthy 2011, lady.

  29. 31 Cornelius T. Zen Thursday, December 23, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Good morrow, JJ!
    Of all the blogs I have read, or to which I have contributed, yours has given me the most pleasure. You have cast illumination on the lowest forms of (political / religious / social) life and sent them all scuttling for cover. Without any particular axe to grind, you have cut to the chase (and sometimes to the bone) of any issue which has graced these pages.
    I could cite evey possible cliche imaginable…but not one appropriate to this sad, sad news comes to mind.
    Ave Atque Vale – CTZen

  30. 32 Rob F Friday, December 24, 2010 at 10:46 am

    I always enjoyed your blog, JJ. Hopefully you’ll be back someday because everyone here will miss you. Good luck to you in the New Year and in the future.

  31. 33 Kateland Friday, December 24, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I might not been a commenter but you have been in my reader for years. I enjoyed your posts even if I am across the political divide, although some days…

    All the best.

    Kateland Shoshana

  32. 34 Bill Sunday, December 26, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Sorry to hear of this. Enjoy whatever it is you are going to do and if decide to post an observation on the state of the world or poke a pompous ass in the eye from time to time you will have an appreciative audience.

  33. 35 ellroon Sunday, December 26, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Thanks for the excellent blogging, the laughs and the righteous indignation. I agree with earlier commenters, this is a wonderful way to hang with like-minded people and vent. May you come back refreshed!

  34. 36 Rev.Paperboy Monday, December 27, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    i know you’ve been down this road before and we dragged you back once already, but dammit woman, we dragged you back for a reason – a selfish reason, but still a good reason. You are too good at this to quit and those of us that come here enjoy your work too much to let you go gently into that good night. Rest up and as Mooselini says “don’t retreat, reload” There are arses out there that need kicking and you got the boots for it, sister! Recuperate and restore the vital juices (I think we’re low on scotch and dark rum around here, but your milage may vary) and come back soon, because we will miss you plenty.

  35. 37 laura k (L-girl) Saturday, January 1, 2011 at 11:50 am

    So sorry I didn’t see this earlier – my blog reading is erratic.

    Thank you for all you’ve given us. Despite the understandable clamour in comments, I hope you’ll only return to blogging if it serves you. Blogging should be a pleasure or a compulsion but never a chore, and certainly your own needs and wishes should come first.

    I know you’ll be fighting the good fight in whatever way you choose. All best.

  36. 38 J. A. Baker Sunday, January 2, 2011 at 6:36 am

    I can’t say anything better than what others have said, so I’ll megaditto them, and leave you with this line from the computer game Sid Meier’s Alpha Centauri.

    Please don’t go. The drones need you. They look up to you.

  37. 39 JJ Friday, January 7, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Thanks to all, I am really overwhelmed 😯

    I have been trying with all my might to stay away from this place, even to the point where I deleted the link from the bookmarks bar on all my browsers 😆 lest the temptation strike.

    And strike it does, often. The urge to beak off runs strong in me even in meat space, so this little soapbox became very addictive. But apart from giving me a place to express myself other than some sleazy downtown street corner, one of the best parts of blogging was the comment feedback — it is humbling, to say the least, that people enjoy *what I do* enough that they take the time to make their own contributions. And with a couple of notable exceptions (I’m looking at you, Jasper), I’ve been lucky to have an intelligent eclectic group of commenters who don’t always agree with me, or with each other, and feel comfortable saying so in this space. You have informed me, educated me, and sometimes even changed my mind about things — and that should be what blogging is all about, learning.

    Sigh. This is starting to look like a blog post, and all I wanted to do was say thanks :p

    Lastly, I wanted to clarify something: reading through the comments, I noticed there was a suggestion that my “closing up shop” might be due to a health issue. Since my regular readers will know that I’m a cancer survivor, I wanted to be clear so nobody worries: other than having the flu last month, my health is Top Drawer, at least physically 😛 I really just need some R&R and time away from blogging.

    And that’s it… for now. My heartfelt thanks again to everyone.

  38. 40 JKG Saturday, January 8, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    ack, I was away, and I forgot to check in, sorry. Although I just really recently jumped on this blog, still many thanks for your contributions, JJ. You will be missed, but I understand the need charge. I try doing the whole “interval-rest” thing like some sort of F1 car. It is difficult to maintain without a long needed rest. Enjoy your time away!

  39. 41 Frank Frink Tuesday, January 11, 2011 at 12:55 am

    Awwwww! Damn! See what happens when I forget to check in for a while. 😉

    All understandable and those commenting above are much more eloquent than I. All I can say is, “Thanks!”

  40. 43 Gen. JC Christian, patriot Monday, January 17, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Oh man. That’s a shame. I’ve been considering the same thing, but I think I’d feel lost. Hope you reconsider.

  41. 44 Scotian Sunday, January 23, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Sorry to be so late with this, but I have become such an infrequent blog person these days myself that I only just saw this today. I get why you are doing this, am very sorry to be seeing this, and like so many others hope it is not permanent, yet if it is I still want you to know how much I have valued your blog, your thoughts, and yourself over the time I have been here. Yours was one of my favourite blogs, which is why I still came by and commented from time to time even when I had withdrawn mostly from the blogosphere, and I will admit I will feel the loss of your work most keenly.

    Take care and be well my Lady, and know that you have enriched the lives of many of us, myself included, during your time among us, and that like others I will hope you may choose to return down the road and keep an eye out for that to be hoped for event.

    Seriously JJ, you really have been one of my favourites in my blogging life, and while I can understand your decision especially since I made a similar one (for different reasons as my health was being affected by the stresses of being Cassandra regarding the Harper government and approach/impact on Canadian political health in general) and have yet to return to blogging or even much commenting your departure is one of the ones I think diminishes the blogosphere most in all the years I have been reading it.

  42. 45 Kelsey Wednesday, February 9, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Hi there,

    I just stumbled across your blog and think it’s really great! I thought you might be interested in this organization that just started up in Canada: http://www.leadnow.ca Right now they are specifically working on a campaign to get people to share their stories on the website in order to build a mutual understanding and dialogue in Canada. Following this they will create a Declaration for Change highlighting issues that Canadians want politicians to move beyond party politics and work together on, and challenging politicians to do exactly that. They are also working to increase participation by new voters, particularly younger voters, and create public demand for progress on major issues.

    Anyway, thought you might be interested in checking it out, sharing your story on the site, and getting others to do the same,

    Thanks! Keep up the great work 🙂

    Kelsey

  43. 46 harpervalley Friday, April 8, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Geeze…I pop in for the first time in months and months and see the spotlight being swept away!

    I understand burn out…I haven’t exactly been posting away…being homeless takes up an awful lot of eneregy. But I have new focus and that’s cool….I’m gonna guess you have new directions too.

    Maybe someday , soon, we’ll see your beloved rants again 😀

  44. 47 paperbaghero Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    I’ve got a cool song that I’ve put up on Facebook, tongue-in-cheek version of the Arrest of Marc Emery by the DEA and, having received very few hits I need links, networks of like minded folks. You need content, links: I’ve got content and I’m looking for links and should therefore, eventually, become a link to somewhere. Give it a try, you might find it funny. And like Tony Rolletti used to say, I get enough orders I’ll cut a professional version (and then you’ll have to PAY for it?!). I can’t give you my identity since that would, you know, render the whole paper bag thing kind of silly. Which it is anyway, I get that. But still . . .

    Anyway, you’re closed so what’s to lose?! Here’s the link and stuff and if you’ve got a few minutes check it out. You might get a chuckle. It’s two parts because U-Tube doesn’t let you upload more than 10 minutes, so it’s long.

    THE BALLAD OF MARC EMERY VS THE DEA

    Thank you. PBHs

  45. 48 Extremely Extreme Extremist Tuesday, July 19, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    So, the hippy has went back to staying at The People’s Republik of Vancouver’s Insite drug injection site for good?

  46. 49 JJ Wednesday, July 20, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    “Has went”? First time I look at this blog in months, and what do I see: more spastic addlepated jabbering from Jasper.

    On the topic of drugs, I see you’re still slamming back the cooking sherry. Time to bottom out and have a Moment of Clarity. as they say.


  1. 1 JJ leaves blogging « The Words on What… Trackback on Friday, December 24, 2010 at 11:58 pm
  2. 2 JABbering Stooge :: Noooooooooooooooooooooo!!! :: January :: 2011 Trackback on Sunday, January 2, 2011 at 6:40 am

Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,838
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


