Can’t even go to the internet

…without having to see dumbass ignorant bigots, to the point that I literally have a hard time even turning on my computer to do something as simple as surf the net… And this is freedom??

And what about The Children, when they go to the internet??  Whenever they’re on the internet and see some ignorant dumbass bigots, I hold my breath in anticipation of awkward questions about how, in the 21st Century, some people can have one foot (if not both) planted firmly in the Dark Ages.  Questions I’m not ready to answer:

The same people who say I shouldn’t impose my morality on them, are imposing immorality on me and my children to the point that I literally have a hard time even leaving my home anymore to do something as simple as visit the park. And this is freedom?

At the pool this summer there were homosexual couples with children and, while I was polite as my own young daughters doted on the baby with two “mommies”, I also held my breath in anticipation of awkward questions – questions I’m not ready to answer. My young daughters are all under the age of eight and they are not old enough to understand why a baby would have two women calling themselves “mommies”.

[…]We haven’t been back to the pool for a couple of weeks, except once but it rained. The truth is, now I don’t really want to go back.

Afraid to leave the house because of Teh Ghey.

I’m speechless.

This is becoming more than a phobia with some people, it’s getting to be a form of psychosis worthy of a listing in the DSM-IV.

23 Responses to “Can’t even go to the internet”


  1. 1 Bleatmop Saturday, September 17, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    Seemingly this person hasn’t heard of the age old tradition of teaching their children what’s right and wrong according to the bible while in public. It’s really easy and I’ll outline the steps:

    1. When your children are talking to Teh Evil Ones (can be anyone from teh gay to teh whore), quickly run up to your kids, smile politely at Teh Evil Ones, and guide your kids very quickly away from them while making polite and transparent excuses. Things like “oh, my kids need to come eat now!” despite not having any food for them work.

    2. Start a loud conversation with your children about who Teh Evil Ones are and why they are Bad People tm for leading their sinful lifestyles.

    3. Pointedly look at Teh Evils Ones while having this conversation to make sure they know you don’t want them talking to your kids.

    4. Look around and make sure all the other True Christians tm have saw your selfless and holy example of how to raise your children.

    Problem solved.

  2. 2 Toe Saturday, September 17, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Yeah it’s true. This isn’t new as you know; I felt the same way in the 80’s when the kid was liddle, thank the deuces nothing was off the table to discuss. Somehow the ‘wash’ now is different, the neo-tards are winning the battle on social engineering. ‘Every tactic and strategy’ leaves me speechless!

  3. 3 evil is evil Saturday, September 17, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Most uncomfortable that I have ever been in a conversation where I was wondering “am I going to prison for this?”

    13 or 14 year old daughter of friends. I hadn’t seen her in person for five or six years, but she would call me up and ask me very pointed questions. Totally accepted when I said that I didn’t know, but as ruthless as a lawyer when she felt that I was shading something.

    When she got on to sex, I took her through the whole thing. Explained when she would start bleeding and what to do. Explained what relationships were physically and mentally.

    When I got really uncomfortable with a question about the way physically that sex was consummated, I finally asked, “Why don’t you ask your parents about this?”

    I couldn’t fault her blunt answer, “They lie. You don’t.”

  4. 4 The Arbourist Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Amazing what happens when you let magic take over in your life. Suddenly certain actions become ‘evil’ and tiresome to explain to your children as you realize you’re going to have to make up some sort sweet syrup to coat your bigotry in.

    What is this world coming to when we can’t have our comfy (discriminatory) majority views explicitly obeyed.

    *sigh*

  5. 5 JJ Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Bleat, looks like you’ve come up with the solution to this CMO7’s problems. Let it all hang out.

    Makes you wonder — if these people are so certain that they’re right, why the fake sense of propriety? If my children encountered bigots in the park, I’d have no problem saying “Ignore them, they’re just dumbass bigots”.

    Things that make you go “Hmmmm”…

  6. 6 JJ Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 9:46 am

    the neo-tards are winning the battle on social engineering

    Funny… to hear them talk, you’d think they were losing, drowning in a tidal wave of Sin and Immorality.

    That said, “social engineering” doesn’t sound like something I’d applaud no matter who was doing it. I’d much prefer people learn how to leave each other alone, at least when it comes to their personal business.

  7. 7 JJ Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 9:51 am

    A lot of parents do lie, I guess it’s easier that way. But kids are smart and perceptive, they can always tell. And once a kid knows you’ve lied, that’s it: they’ll seek their information elsewhere. They’re very unforgiving when it comes to being lied to.

  8. 8 JJ Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I think that might be the reason for the discomfort some parents have with explaining what you & I might see as pretty simple, basic, easily-explained facts of life. It’s hard to make a rational explanation of views that are inherently irrational.

  9. 9 Bleatmop Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    Hmmm indeed. Probably because that level of bigotry is deemed unacceptable by today’s society, including most christians. The follow up posts on that web page even support that, seeing as how she QQ’s about getting crap from not only atheists and gay rights activists but also other christians! Then she cried a bit about that and stuck to her guns. At least she stuck to her guns behind the armor of a blog. In public, she’s still acting with a sense of propriety I would guess.

  10. 10 Scotian Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    That might be why my pre Vatican 2 RC Irish Catholic parents were able to give me and my sister a sensible, broad spectrum, factual sex ed pre puberty without casting any of it in terms of good/evil (including sexual orientation which given I turned out to be bi was a major deal indeed and unlike almost every one of my contemporaries from what I have learned) but instead of good/bad ethics and the importance of consent issues and honesty between partners. I mean they managed it back in the 1970s, so it really throws me when I see this sort of idiocy in the 2010s. They chose to follow the scientific approach to sex ed and only did the moral/ethical elements in how you treat others in relationships, which I think is the best way to go, but then I am biased because I am very happy with what I got out of it, and given how sexually active I was from puberty through onwards this was something very helpful indeed, I never fathered any children, and the worst STD I ever had was an early case of crabs in my mid teens. Not a bad record for someone that was very promiscuous, very bi, especially through the AIDS years coinciding with my puberty and early adulthood. I hit puberty just as they were starting to shift from calling it GRID to AIDS, for some reason that always stuck in my mind.

    All I can do is shake my head and refuse to legitimize such thinking and debunk and counter it whenever and wherever the opportunity exists.

  11. 11 Susan Sunday, September 18, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    So the plot thickens….the following link is to catholic.org who uses this very same women for inspiration to convert! Take some time to read her background…clearly, she has issues.

    http://www.catholic.org/national/national_story.php?id=41853

  12. 12 JJ Monday, September 19, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Yeah I noticed she caught some flack from people who might otherwise be allies.
    People with such backward attitudes are a dying breed, an increasingly small and marginalized minority. If they can’t get with it, society will move on without them, and it’s clear that’s already happening. Boo hoo!

  13. 13 JJ Monday, September 19, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Hi Scotian!
    It sounds like your parents were ahead of the curve, especially in the pre-Vatican II context. Those were very doctrinaire times. Yikes, I remember fish on Friday and other crazy stuff like that, it was nuts. The Church moved on (somewhat) after VII.

    But there is a minority of Catholics who hate Vatican II and would love to go back to the old days, if not the Bronze Age.

    O/T, hope all is well with you and your health is good. Great to see you back again!

  14. 14 JJ Monday, September 19, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Oh dear, she does have issues. Wow 😯

  15. 15 Scotian Tuesday, September 20, 2011 at 6:52 am

    Oh yes they were WAY ahead of the curve, my godfather was gay, and they knew it when they selected him, and that was in the late 60s. And you aren’t kidding about how doctrinaire those times and many/most RCs of that period were, I too remember fish on Friday and pancake Tuesday and all that other lovely ritual stuff, I was even an altarboy for most of my childhood/teens and amazingly enough never molested by any priests throughout, I feel somewhat hurt by that, wasn’t I good enough for them? (yes that was snark and then some, I was glad I had left the church before that started coming out over issues/questions of faith of my own otherwise it would have left me extremely angry and poisonous towards the faith as well as the institution, which would have seriously impaired my relationship with my parents who while shocked, offended and disgusted still remain RC)

    Seriously, I am well aware of those RCs who hate V2 and would love to see thins go back prior to it, hell even prior to Vatican 1 for that matter. They are one of the reasons why I have such strong feelings about fanaticism and religious extremism and why I find religious extremism the most dangerous form of all because it has all the vices of extremism it has the added “bonus” of having the certainty of knowing whatever you do to advance it must be good/moral because God wants it and nothing God wants/requires is ever evil even when if it is done for any other purpose it is vile beyond belief (of course this is not what Christ said in the Bible, but that never stops these self proclaimed Christian fundamentalists who are this way now does it)..

    As to my health, it is holding out although the arrythmias still happen periodically (and still no pacemaker alas), I am not going to be back on a full time basis though, I am still more than a little angered with what happened in May and how it happened to come about. I also am not up to watching in close detail Harper dismantle so much of the nation and poloitical infrastructure my family helped build over several generations since Confederation, but I will try to be aware of the gross details if not the fine in no small part by continuing to read those whose opinions and views I know and can trust (like yourself JJ). I doubt I will be all that regular a commentator though for the reasons above (but who knows I may find myself compelled to despite myself, until recently I had completely cut myself off from all the political blogging community to prevent my doing so, I do not know for sure yet whether I can watch from afar without significantly including myself we shall see)

    Take care and be well JJ.

  16. 16 J. A. Baker Tuesday, September 20, 2011 at 7:41 am

    Shorter Stacy Trasancos:

    The icky gays are forcing me to become a hikikomori!

    Oh, and it gets better. She has two responses to the original post. One of which, “Accepting Evangelism,” is interesting because the post slug reads “accepting-martyrdom.”

    Yes, Stacy, t3h 3vil gh3ys are coming to nail you to a cross. 🙄

  17. 17 J. A. Baker Tuesday, September 20, 2011 at 7:42 am

    Ack! Forgot to close the blockquote tag!

  18. 18 Rob F Tuesday, September 20, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Dear Stacy:

    You wrote this:

    “At the pool this summer there were homosexual couples with children and, while I was polite as my own young daughters doted on the baby with two “mommies”, I also held my breath in anticipation of awkward questions – questions I’m not ready to answer.”

    Rest assured that pretty much every parent has had to answer awkward questions. It is a fact of life that bad things happen. I pretty sure that every parent has had to talk about difficult things, like death (if for example a relative passes away) I’m also pretty sure those are difficult things to do and that no one wants to do it and maybe they aren’t ready. But guess what? They do it anyway.

    Know why?

    It’s part of parenting. No one has an exemption from taking responsibility and talking about difficult things. And no one seriously believes that dislike of talking about something means we should outlaw that something. No one wants to talk about death, but this is no reason to outlaw dying. Similarly, your inability to talk about same-sex parenting is no reason to outlaw same-sex parenting.

    Talking to kids and answering their questions is part of parenting. The existence of same-sex parents in no way exempts you from you from talking to your kids and answering their questions. Indeed, Absolutely no one is preventing you from talking to your kids. No one except you.

    In short, grow a spine.

    Sincerely,
    Rob F

  19. 19 JJ Saturday, September 24, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    LOL
    Martyrdom = having to follow the teachings of Jesus and love one another.
    Very strange.

  20. 22 JJ Saturday, September 24, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    …I find religious extremism the most dangerous form of all because it has all the vices of extremism it has the added “bonus” of having the certainty of knowing whatever you do to advance it must be good/moral because God wants it and nothing God wants/requires is ever evil even when if it is done for any other purpose it is vile beyond belief …

    Exactly — that’s why people can fly airplanes into buildings with such certainty that they’re doing the Right Thing, yet few Christian fundamentalists would see the connection.

  21. 23 Scotian Sunday, September 25, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Sad and true, sad and true. I inherently distrust ANY extremism/fanaticism/zealotry regardless of focus, I just place religious rooted forms at the top of my fears for the reasons laid out already. I am by nature and temperament a moderate/centrist, I take what works and fits a situation best regardless of whether it is politically left, right up down or purple polka-dot, which is one of the main reasons so many over the past several years could not seem to grasp that I truly was a stop Harper person first & foremost, indeed only for the past decade and not the Liberal party stooge/operative/dupe that so many especially on the hard left clearly saw me as. I don’t do any ideology be it religious, political or social, because for me the moment you start to think that way you close your mind to things that are not going to fit within that framework, much the same as a computer unable to think past its programming limitations. It was where I disappointed my relative that raised/taught me politics because unlike her I could not do the “my party right or wrong” mindset.

    I can respect and value ideology for useful ideas and inspirations, but that it not the same as trusting, following, or believing in them solely now is it? For me it can be hard to understand why so many find this sort of approach to life so difficult to grasp or even to believe possible. I wish more people could do so, but I guess for many (excluding those that are literally incapable of doing so, that is yet another category of humans but since they have no choice in their limitations I have a different view of them) they are too afraid (or too lazy) to handle the effort of living in a world without comfortable certainties (regardless of their actual reality of course), and yes I know this sounds a bit harsh, but for me it is a reflection of my experiences in life. Too many people are simply are unable or unwilling for a variety of reasons to live in a world where uncertainty is the basis of reality as opposed to certainty, whether that certainty comes from religious convictions, political convictions, or social convictions.

    I accept and have since I was very young (even though I lacked the words then to express it properly) that existence/reality truly is a quantum not a Newtonian phenomenon, but then I am also someone that actually finds that the Heisenberg uncertainty principle makes sense, something not typical of most people I am given to understand, but then I always was outside the norm/average (which is not the most comfortable place to live I might add). That is also why I have such a strong aversion to those that would govern us who fail to grasp this important truth and would instead impose their own narrow preconceptions upon the whole supposedly for our/the greater good but in reality doing far more harm instead. I rarely question the motives of these people as being in their minds good and for the benefit of the whole, but you know that old expression about good intentions and the road they pave…


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,354
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


