Harpie’s Bad Move and the Wrath of Elders

It was a little like finding out your spouse is running around on you from someone in the cashout lineup at the grocery store.

Indeed, it was absolutely doubleplus-awesome of Harpie to save for a hectoring speech he delivered in luxo-lux Davos last week the fact that Canadian Seniors are the next target in his Mighty Crosshairs of Austerity:

Addressing the World Economic Forum, Prime Minister Stephen Harper signalled his government will bring forward “major transformations” to the country in the coming months — in areas such as the retirement pension system, immigration, science and technology investment and the energy sector — while making a forceful case for pro-growth economic policies over entitlements.

…or more accurately, “His Mighty Crosshairs of Austerity For Thee But Not For Me”.

It doesn’t seem possible that Harper the Brilliant Strategist could miscalculate this so badly.

Even though “retirement income changes won’t be sudden“, seniors being savaged by the state in any way just doesn’t sound good, and the reality of it is probably as bad as it sounds. And there’s no anger like Crotchety Old Person anger.

Anyone who understands electoral demographics knows this — seniors are the only demographic that votes consistently and conservatively: fuck with them at your peril.  The government that provokes their wrath can count on a reaction of unspeakable savagery at the ballot box, not to mention the donation box.

All of which doesn’t even consider the boomers slouching towards retirement:

With so many baby boomers near retirement age (myself included), this issue strikes close to home for many of us. Baby boomers live in those hard fought-for suburban ridings that the Conservatives needed to win to obtain their majority. There are political consequences for this government if they cannot turn this story around to their advantage.

And say what you will about Boomerscum, we ended a vile, brainless war, impeached a paranoid and perfidious President and forced government out of our wombs and away from our weddings: we know how to protest… Man.  Harper can’t even begin to imagine the cataclysmic fury of grayhairs forced to put down their glasses of Pinot Noir and rise from their La-Z-Boys® to man the barricades once again.

UPDATE:  That’s a good boy, Stevie.  Have a cookie.  Unfortunately for you, our memories haven’t faded so much that we don’t remember Income Trusts.

We are AnonySenior.  We are legion.  We do not forgive.  We do not forget (well, sometimes).  Expect us… to be watching your lying ass closely.  For the lulz!

(cartoon from Halifax Chronicle-Herald)

17 Responses to “Harpie’s Bad Move and the Wrath of Elders”


  1. 1 Kim Monday, January 30, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Lol. I love it! Rally the troops…

  2. 2 cityprole Monday, January 30, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Yes we ARE legion, and not to put too fine a point to it, but between threatening our OAS and our Beautiful Coast with that sludge from Alberta (no, not Emperor Steve, that other filthy oozing sludge from the tar sands on it’s filthy way to China) Harpo has crossed a line he never should have…he’s about to get an ass-whuppin’ like he never imagined in his wildest, sweat-drenched fantasies…and we are just the old fossils to lay it on him..I’m ready to ‘woman’ the barricades when called upon to do so..matter of fact, I’ll enjoy it!

  3. 3 Alison S Monday, January 30, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Too bad seniors forgot about income trusts in the last election, well not this senior. I wouldn’t trust these jokers to change a light bulb. Nonetheless, it is all about their ideology and their choices for spending; OAS or prisons, health care or jets.

  4. 4 Phatbiker Monday, January 30, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    With my luck, just as I am turning 65 they will change it to 67. It sucks being a “boomer” sometimes, your expected to pay off you mortgage, save for your retirement, put your kids through school and look after your aging parents all at the same time. And it’s all our fault the world is so fucked up. If the govt does this it wont be long before private pensions are the same. What they want us to do is work till we are to sick to, “retire”, linger in poor health for a couple years, then die.

  5. 5 fhg1893 Monday, January 30, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    Excuse me, but who got to win the house-price lottery? Who fucked around with near-endless starry-eyed Liberal governments and unfunded liability entitlement programs for decade, after decade, while not having enough children to keep the ponzi-scheme going? Who is it hoovering up medical care dollars brought on by years of sex, drugs & rock ‘n roll, to the point where the under-thirties can’t find a decent job causing a pervasive and systematic problem in the economy?

    I can’t blame you for livin’ it up while the living was good, but there’s a price for all that, and this is probably just the beginning. We’ve got crushing student debt, we bust our asses to find the most menial jobs imaginable, we put off marriage family-building and children for years, and years, and years further dragging down the economy, and creating the constant need to bring in immigrants who sometimes work hard, but sometimes don’t, and sometimes bring in elderly parents who further worsen our economic woes, and this is the same crowd that thinks 2 billion dollars on a feel-good long gun registry was money well spent? And now, they don’t want their share of the responsibility for the mess that they largely created?

    Fuck. That.

    To all you fucking boomers out there, yours is a cautionary tale for what NOT to do. My folks are boomers, and I swore throughout my childhood that I wouldn’t make the same mistakes they did when I had kids. I can’t count the number of times that I told myself that I wouldn’t be like my mother and father. I can’t count the number of times that I told myself I hated their rotten entitled guts. And you know what? It’s working. AND, I’m going to teach my children not to make those mistakes either when they have kids. I’ve got a long way to go, and I’ll be damned if I expect that the government is going to give me one red cent when my time comes.

    I’ll put my shoulder to the wheel and do my part to rebuild this country, into something I can be proud of. And I’m going to teach my kids to do the same. But I’ll be damned if I don’t tell them who is responsible for needing to rebuild the damn thing in the first place. I can only hope that this time, the younger generation will listen.

  6. 6 JJ Monday, January 30, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    Don’t hold back, fhg: tell us how you really feel!!

  7. 8 JJ Monday, January 30, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    I would have thought he’d have gotten an senior-sized ass-kicking after the income trust fiasco, but that didn’t happen, and it might not happen over this if the CPC spins it right. It’s amazing how people can be distracted by shiny things 🙄 😕

  8. 9 JJ Monday, January 30, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    Heh. Yes, its so fiscally “conservative” to cut back on some things only to turn around and spend the resulting surplus like drunken sailors on other things 🙄 Sir John A must be rolling in his grave.

  9. 10 JJ Monday, January 30, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    phatbiker:

    And it’s all our fault the world is so fucked up.

    Most generations experience similar responsibilities, I think. They just didn’t have to listen to all the incessant whining about how they were responsible for everything Bad, how they got to live it up when times were good, etc etc et-fucking-cetera. Yes, we’re responsible for everything bad… you know, like that horrible internet.

    You’re welcome, kiddies!

  10. 11 JJ Monday, January 30, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    BTW
    Just speaking for myself, I have never “expected” the pension to actually be there when I get there, and I have more or less prepared myself to that end. But I worry about the ones who can’t get by without it: it’s not like they’re BUMS, they’ve worked and paid taxes all their lives.

    A society that throws senior citizens under the bus after they’ve worked hard and paid taxes all their lives is a society that SUCKS.

  11. 12 fhg1893 Monday, January 30, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    I have no particular desire to throw seniors under the bus, and nor am I particularly interested in assigning blame, but I do not like this denial of responsibility. This game of sociopolitical/financial hot-potato is bullshit.

    You’re in BC, so I imagine you’ve seen house prices? Sure, we thirty-somethings can be dumb as rocks when it comes to houses, but the gross inflation of house prices in BC and Toronto and a few other places, well… And that’s just it, it’s this attitude that, “well, I sunk all of my savings into my house, and some young person will gladly buy at 500%-1000% more than I paid for it! I don’t need to save, I’ve got a huge-ass fucking house!” ‘Course, if we were smart, we’d stop buying houses, but we haven’t really clued in either. And there’s a lot of that kinda shit, and that’s just infuriating. It defies all sense of logic, and common sense to assume that this kind of thing is sustainable. What’s the government going to do for ya when every person under 40 is completely bankrupt trying to pay back bank loans they had to take out for over-priced houses, that they now can’t sell because the bubble has burst? Nobody wants that, but it’s exactly the kind of thing that’s looming just over the horizon.

    Who shall we force to do without? We all know that the seniors are going to screw the thirty-somethings. Again. And there’s not a god-damned thing we can do about it. And even if we could, nobody is really willing to do anything about it.

    So all I’m really saying, is that we’re in this shitty situation together, and it’s high time that we quit acting like a bunch of selfish entitled pricks, and accept the fact that unless we all do something together, we’re all complicit.

  12. 13 fhg1893 Monday, January 30, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Oh, and just one note. I don’t think that young people are entitled to buy houses or anything, I mean to suggest that young people buying houses is a strong indicator of a healthy and reasonably good economy.

    From what I’ve seen, very few young people can even think of buying houses, and thanks to the slumping job market, sooner or later, the bubble is going to pop. And when it does, we’ll, we’re all royally fucked. Then what do we do?

  13. 14 Phatbiker Monday, January 30, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    Thanks JJ. Canada is a wealthy country (although the 1% has a bigger share now, than anytime in history) and can afford to look after it’s seniors. The well off get their pensions clawed back in taxes. CPP and OAS for many is the only thing they got to look forward to.
    We all would have liked to be able to save up for our retirements, but shit can happen like:
    The company you worked for goes bankrupt and your company pension is no more.
    Your spouse leaves you and cleans out most of your savings.
    The crash wiped out any investments you had.
    You can’t get a job (after the company went bankrupt) because your to old, and have to live off your savings.
    You end up having to support your adult children because they can’t find (or don’t want to) work.
    I hope none of these things happen to fhg and spoil his plans for retirement, most of them have happened to me.

  14. 15 hemmingforddogblog Tuesday, January 31, 2012 at 2:16 am

    Fhg:
    Please don’t go painting all us boomers with the same brush. Some of us have put a few bucks away for retirement (would have been more if not for the f**ng income trust fiasco THANKS BIG STEVE). I am an accountant and the biggest whiners I see at tax time are seniors trying to game the Income Supplement. It is income based, not asset based. If you have $500k and a paid up house you can get the supplement if don’t take any interest on the $500k. Think about it.

    They need to rethink the supplement, not the OAS. Big difference.

  15. 16 fhg1893 Tuesday, January 31, 2012 at 3:45 am

    Please don’t go painting all us boomers with the same brush. Some of us have put a few bucks away for retirement

    I’m tryin’ not to. I know that there’s a lot of decent people who just tried to make do. I guess it’s a certain attitude that bugs me. This idea that it’s perfectly okay to bankrupt the young generation with sky-high house prices, but demanding that young bankrupt people pay their taxes anyway. Excuse me? That’s not reasonable is it?

    To us, well… I’m very serious, we can’t find the jobs that will allow us the income to keep the boomers in the lifestyle they presently enjoy. I’ve got a decent job, but it’s barely enough to afford the middle class lifestyle. If interest rates pop, if any “shit happens,” my family and I are pretty much fucked. And I’ve been looking every day, for something that will at least pull me out of such dire straits for the past three or four years. I thought that I finally had something last summer – it was pretty-much a perfect fit for me, and it was only going to be about $5000.00 more per year. You know what I was told? You’re a white male, you need not apply. And I’m reasonably well-off compared to my peers! That should concern people, but nobody seems to want to do anything about it! Don’t get me wrong, I’m making do with what I’ve got – I have some chance at three more jobs, maybe, but it’s very early yet – I probably have to beat 100 candidates for each position. We need to make money to be able to pay for your generation’s entitlements, and yet, a lot of us can barely make enough to feed ourselves. We’ve been left out in the cold, but we’re still expected to pay our fair share, and possibly more. What do we do? What can we do? Other than watch all of our prosperity slip away because we were all too selfish to try something different…?

    They need to rethink the supplement, not the OAS. Big difference.

    Old retirees sitting on a ton of money, with a paid-off house, don’t want to invest or save it, which would provide a pretty-decent retirement living because they can get money from the government…? Did I get that right? I wish I could say I was surprised.

  16. 17 Peter Tuesday, January 31, 2012 at 4:39 am

    “And it’s one, two, three, who are we fightin’ for?”
    “For us, and we don’t give a damn”
    “If we leave Gen Y in a jam,”
    “And it’s five, six, seven, close those Pearly Gates,”
    “Well, it ain’t no use to ask God why,”
    “We’ll never die!”


Wait. What?

Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 630,838
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives


