Good instincts

Think a knitting blog is an unlikely place to learn something about questioning authority?

Too many people automatically respond to the sight of a uniform with abject  and unquestioning obedience.  It shouldn’t be that way:  they work for us, not the other way around.  All of us, not just those of us who get fleeced for property taxes every year.

Good instincts, Zoom!

21 Responses to “Good instincts”


  1. 1 Beijing York Monday, December 15, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    That exchange is an excellent lesson for us all. It’s just to easy to be intimidated by the men with holsters. What an ass! Thinking that some citizens (property owners) had more rights than others, and that law enforcement officers had even greater rights than all the rest (“you might put my life in jeopardy”).

    I do hope the young woman they brutally took down is OK. It strikes me that police brutality is one the rise in this country. Not something I ever thought I would have to worry about 20 years ago.

  2. 2 JJ Monday, December 15, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    That was outstanding, I was impressed. Not because what she did was outrageous — it was clearly the right thing to do — but because so many people don’t respond that way, by at least questioning “Why? Is it against the law?”, they just knuckle down to these thugs. People should always ask WHY before obeying any command from anyone, especially these guys, who in my view are just civil servants with guns.

    Sanctioned brutality does seem to be on the rise, I also wonder about the unsanctioned brutality that was rampant back in the 70s (the Cherry Beach Express).

  3. 3 botcho Monday, December 15, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I can’t even begin to describe to you what reading that did to my blood pressure…

  4. 4 botcho Monday, December 15, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Easy Botcho…easy now.

  5. 5 JJ Monday, December 15, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Botcho, settle down there, buddy, easy, eaaaaasy. It’s okay… we’re here for ya… Have a nice eggnog and relax. 😉

  6. 6 deBeauxOs Monday, December 15, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Yes, knitknut is a great Ottawa blog, and there’s a lot more to zoom than good yarn.

  7. 7 harpervalley Monday, December 15, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    that was so awesome! ergh , can’t stand authortorians like that. big brother is getting ballsy but careless cause we have the technology and blogs, heh heh!

    hopefully one of these months i’ll post a vid i took of four penticton bicycle cops this summer . four, count them , four, who took a drunk first nations woman off a stage she crawled onto and was dancing on. the one cop fore-armed me twice , i think once was caught on the video. anyways, i told them to look for themselves on youtube…they got al flustered and the one said, ‘you can’t do that, i’ll sue you’. i said, ‘go ahead and try’. they rode off in a huff.

    then when the alberta parks cop tried to bust me and came knocking on my van door minutes after my lights were out i said, ‘i’m coming out now, i warn you i have my video camera on, everything you do or say can be used against you in a court of law’. oh man was he nervous!!!! learned that trick from the hawaiians who read MIRANDA to the cops and the judges in court. 😀

  8. 8 J. A. Baker Monday, December 15, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    I do hope the young woman they brutally took down is OK. It strikes me that police brutality is one the rise in this country. Not something I ever thought I would have to worry about 20 years ago.

    You guys think police brutality is bad in Canada, you should see what it’s like down here in the States.

  9. 9 JJ Monday, December 15, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    deBeauxOs – Yeah, it’s a cool blog. And I like it even more now that I know zoom has such chutzpah. Most people don’t.

  10. 10 JJ Monday, December 15, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    scout – Ha! Did you ever blog that story? If not, you should.

    They must just HATE youtube, eh? 😆

  11. 11 JJ Monday, December 15, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    JAB – We’ve heard 😦 I know, we’ve got it good compared to you guys, no doubt. Your cops are routinely whacking people with t*sers too, eh?

  12. 13 J. A. Baker Monday, December 15, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Damn, I forgot to close that tag.

  13. 14 JJ Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 8:02 am

    Holy shit! 400??? All from tasers??? And the cops are still using these things??? My mind is so blown…

  14. 15 KiaRioGrl79 Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Kinda makes me sad that this is how I had to learn about Zoom’s blog…

  15. 16 JJ Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 10:54 am

    KRGirl – Really, eh? It’s a good blog though, at least you found it.

  16. 17 Bene D Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Do we know how the young woman is doing?

    She is someone’s daughter, neice, friend.

  17. 18 Miss Vicky Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    zoom has asked for info on her status on her blog (where there are a ton of comments) but no answers on the young woman’s condition yet.

  18. 19 zoom Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Hi. Thanks so much for helping to keep this story on the front burner JJ, and also for the gentle discussion over here. (Almost all of the comments on my blog have been supportive, but I’m really not used to seeing any nastiness at all over there.)

    As for the young woman, I’ve heard that she was treated in hospital for her injuries, released into police custody, charged, and then released on her own recognizance. I’ve been told she’s okay, and I hope this is true.

  19. 20 JJ Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Thanks for the update, Zoom! I hope you do a post about it because a lot of people are worried about what happened to this young woman.

    Ya done good, kiddo, really good.


  1. 1 Ottawa’s Worst « More Notes From Underground Trackback on Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 12:10 pm

Wait. What?




Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 646,986
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives