Wheee

It’s snowing again! Woohooooo!

000_0825The snowflakes aren’t that evident, but trust me, they are there. And there. And thereandthereandthere.   It might even be Snowmaggedon (west coast version)!!!  (Arty shot of my truck though, eh?)

Here’s something a little warmer:

000_0823

Squeeeeee!

35 Responses to “Wheee”


  1. 1 Frank Frink Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 10:55 am

    We’re experiencing a pretty heavy dump in downtown VanCity. Been coming down non-stop since I woke up this morning.

  2. 3 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Aw, SHIT!!! 😉

    Actually, the snow has tapered off to very light flurries… I only have to work a short shift this afternoon, so hopefully I’ll get home before it starts coming down like a bastard again.

    Scott — Think this is funny, eh? 😉 😆 West coast weather wimps!

  3. 4 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I spoke too soon, it just started coming down like a bastard again.

    CRAP!

  4. 5 J. A. Baker Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Yay! Kittehs! And yes, kittehs are always good for warmth – that is, assuming you can coax them onto your lap…

  5. 6 Susan Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    JJ,

    I’m in Colorado and we’ve been having some wicked cold weather this week. It’s better today, but earlier in the week it was sub-zero (F not C)…So I can sympathize!

    Love the picture of the kitty-cats! They’ve got the right idea; staying in bed all cuddly and warm. I wanna come back as a cat in my next life!

  6. 7 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    JAB – They’re sticking close to the bed or the fire, either one. Except it’s only -1C (about 29F), so right now Mr. Black is outside because he was beating up Mr. Blue — he’s probably curled up in a pile of insulation under the house.

  7. 8 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Hi Susan – Oh wow, Colorado! This must crack you up, reading about the weather wimps up here on the west coast. The temps aren’t bad today — -1C, which is about +29F. 0 degrees F would be ARRRGGHHH!! Way too cold for me (about -20C).

    For sure, the cats have the right idea. Get someone else to go out and bring home the bacon (or cat food), and curl up on the bed all day.

  8. 9 Susan Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Hey JJ, No, not cracking up at you at all! I’ve been in that kind of cold before…not fun! That’s a “wet cold”….brrrrrr! We’ve got a nice, “dry cold”….and if the sun is shining the temp really doesn’t matter very much.

    I’m the original Weather Wimp! Can’t handle Hot & Humid or Bitter Cold….Put me in an artificially temperate environment and I’m a happy camper – pathetic really. And, I am deeply ashamed of that aspect of myself, now that we’ve dredged it up….probably wouldn’t be such a great outdoor cat, huh?

    Well, stay warm and watch out for falling icicles!

  9. 10 Beijing York Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    We have a very dry cold happening at the moment, day time highs ranging between -40 and -45 C with the wind chill. My kitteh has been spending loads of time on our bed, snuggled into the pillows and comforters. Smart guy.

    Speaking of kittehs, I love the lounging photo. So is Mr. Black a bit of a bully? Oh no, not sibling plotting for top dog position I hope.

  10. 11 Scott Tribe Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Heh.. hey JJ.. I’ve just seen one forecaster on the Weather Network predict this cold and such will stay around long enough to give Vancouver its first White Christmas in many a long year… not sure if his prediction extends to Vancouver Island yet though 🙂

  11. 12 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    GAH! I just got home… what a disaster area!!! It’s like a white-out, I couldn’t see much beyond the hood of my truck. The road is a friggin mess because the Island’s two snow plows are busy in town — even in 4 wheel I was spinning out on some of the hills (this freaking wet icy snow gets in your tire treads and freezes… ugh!) Dammitall!

    Susan – Yeah, there is a big difference between dry snow and this wet crap we get out here. Its way more slippery… plus we have all these hills and hairpin turns to drive on, very scenic in the summertime but when it snows it’s treacherous.

  12. 13 Scott Tribe Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    From Environment Canada:

    Total snowfall accumulations at select coastal sites up until 3 PM Wednesday December 17, 2008.

    Campbell River airport 17 cm
    Comox airport 23 cm
    Powell River airport 12 cm
    Vancouver international airport 6 cm
    north Vancouver 10 to 15 cm
    Surrey 10 to 15 cm
    Abbotsford airport 10 cm.

    Get Bing out! 🙂

  13. 14 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Beijing – 40 below!!??? Winterpeg, eh? I couldn’t stand it. I couldnt even stand it in Toronto a few winters ago when it was 30. 5 below is about as cold as I can deal with.

    Sadly, Mr. Black is kind of a bully. He wouldn’t try bullying Mama because, like most bullies, he’s a real momma’s boy, always curled up with her like a baby. But he’s really been giving Mr. Blue a hard time, and she’s only half his size. I finally had to throw him outside for the day for being an asshole and I just let him back in — is he pissed!! 😆

  14. 15 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Scott – S-s-s-s-s-s-screw B-B-B-B-B-B-Bing!!!

  15. 16 Frank Frink Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    We’ve finally had a break in the snowfall here in Terminal City but it’s cold. Roads are going to freeze over and with the lack of driver experience and expertise here.. well, it’s going to be ugly for those who commute in the morning.

  16. 17 Frank Frink Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Oh, yeah… making my home a Bing-free Zone 😉

  17. 18 auntie l Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Those are some big icicles JJ. I didn’t see any of those here today. Lots of snow – maybe 8 cm but it was Sunny and cold. Love it. We’re supposed to get a big storm on Friday and another one on Sunday. Both days I have to travel. Maybe I’ll get the old skis out!!

    The cats look nice and cuddly on the bed. I love Mr Blue. Send her to me.

    Hope the snow has stopped out there. You guys aren’t used to that kind of weather. Come here and get some practice.

    TTFN

  18. 19 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    auntie l – Did you get my email? We’ve got a BLIZZARD going on here, and it won’t stop! Its supposed to keep snowing right through Christmas 😦

    You’d love Mr. Blue. She is so dainty and tiny, only half the size of the other cats. I guess she was the runt of the litter.

    Sorry but I’m too attached to her, I can’t send her to you 😉

  19. 20 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    FF – Sounds like it’ll be ugly there tomorrow morning!!! We already had the temperature this morning go up to +1, and there was significant meltage — enough to form a nice sheet of ice under the snow when the blizzard started. Shit, it’s still snowing here and it’s supposed to snow all night. It’s supposed to snow all weekend too! And next week! Arrrgh!!

  20. 21 RossK Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    jj–

    I saw you over there at Mike’s place.

    Stop whimping.

    Because all their Snowmageddon’s are ours.

    (at least for a week, or maybe even two)

    .

  21. 22 Scott Tribe Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Gee JJ and Frank and other west coasters.. I’d think a White Christmas – which is once in a generation – maybe even once in a lifetime for the West Coast – would be a great experience for you all. Think of all the little kiddies who will never forget that moment – that memor, which they will treasure forever.

    For gosh sakes, people, think of the children! 😉

  22. 23 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Ross – It’s gonna keep snowing all the way to NEW YEARS EVE??? WTF???
    I don’t want all their snowmageddons, I don’t even want one of them!
    Waaaaahhhhhh!!!

  23. 24 JJ Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Scott – Yeah yeah, the children etc., nice, treasure, whatever.

    On the whole I’d rather be in Guadalajara.

  24. 25 Frank Frink Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    There have already been at least a couple white Christmases since I moved out to the wet coast. The novelty’s worn off. 😉

    We prefer our snow up on the ski hills which, come to think of it, are just minutes from downtown in the first place. 😉

  25. 26 Chimera Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Buried under all those piling-up snowdrifts is a blessing in disguise, folks: the cold will kill all the pine beetles! Which means that if we ever get our economy back up and running again, we’ll actually have some lumber to sell (or preferably, mill for ourselves), and the forestry workers won’t have to be retrained to flip burgers that nobody can afford to eat or fill gas tanks that no one can afford to drive.

    Is that Mama Cat sitting balanced on top of the bedpost? Or is that just a wierd camera angle?

  26. 27 JJ Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 9:06 am

    FF – I concur. This is starting to shape up like the Christmas of ’96, remember? When peoples’ boathouses were collapsing? I remember being up on my roof at 10pm one night, shoveling snow off it frantically because the roof was old and I was pretty sure it would collapse under all that wet snow.

    I put a whole new roof on the following summer, and when I first started working on it the old roof caved in in a couple of places (thus the idea to put in skylights), so it FOR SURE would have collapsed if I hadn’t shoveled off the snow.

  27. 28 JJ Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Chimera – Yeah, the pine beetle, you’re right… but this still sucks!!!

    To add to my misery, my power was out last night. That’s when I’m really glad I have a woodstove.

    In that pic, Mama has one foot up on the bedpost. The bedpost is too small to be comfortably sittable, even for a cat.

  28. 29 RossK Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    jj–

    Embrace the Snwowmaggedons!

    And then go outside and make an ice rink.

    Because we have the time and the temperature.

    It’s like the winter of 68/69 all over again (when as I 9 year old I watched the channel 10 thermometer – the big round one every night wishing for it to go down……!).

    .

  29. 30 JJ Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Ross – I might think about making an ice rink if I had skates. Instead I will go out and make an anatomically-accurate snowman.

  30. 31 RossK Friday, December 19, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Ha!

    Given the temps to come over the next day or two you might need some of that stuff the crooked-member folks are floggin’ that you mentioned a few posts up…..

    .

    .

  31. 32 JJ Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 6:29 am

    😆
    Not for Mr. Snowman, the colder it is the more excited he gets.

  32. 33 Susan Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    JJ, you MUST post pics of Mr. Snowman….no “shrinkage”, eh? 😉

    hope you are surviving the cold.

    happy solstice!

    Susan

  33. 34 JJ Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Susan – LOL, shrinkage. It’s too dark to take a picture now, and according to the weather alerts that are screaming across my TV screen (in bright red), he’s about to be buried alive in another 2′ of snow, while being blown to bits by 60mph winds.

    Something ugly is about to happen, but it hasn’t started yet.

    Unfortunately I will probably be the first person out on the road tomorrow morning, since I have to be at work at 6-freaking-30. ACK! Not pleased!

    Happy Solstice to you too!

  34. 35 RossK Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    RoC (you too subversive Seperasovereinartistas)….All your Snowmageddons ‘R Us!

    Lotusland’s I mean..

    .


Wait. What?




Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 646,984
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives