Dope & change

From the “WTF” file… Obama blotters:

Dude… that’s just full of groovitude.

(via boing boing)

19 Responses to “Dope & change”


  1. 1 Bruce Wednesday, December 2, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    I haven’t done blotters since the Seventies. Wow, it never occurred to me you could print them as images. Think of the possibilities, technology is so great.

    I wonder how many hits would fit in an inkjet cartridge?

  2. 2 Frank Frink Wednesday, December 2, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    I guess it really has been since the Seventies for you, Bruce (it’s been since the early Nineties for me). Images on lsd blotter has been around for at least a couple or so decades.

    Re: Obama blotter. A blog post here about Zane Kesey’s artwork. Yes, he is Ken’s son and he did ride on Beyond during parts of his childhood. Anyway, scroll about halfway down for ‘Obama Wan Kenobi’.

  3. 3 Frank Frink Wednesday, December 2, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    D’oh. Dope is, of course, for dopes.

    Did I really call Kesey’s bus “Beyond”?

    Before I’m forced to turn in my freak flag let me correct that. The destination board on the bus always read “Further”.

  4. 4 Shade Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Yeah, I missed the seventies entirely not being born until the eighties and all. Then again I’m boring, the only drug I do is caffiene.

  5. 5 DaisyDeadhead Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 5:33 am

    My favorite blotter-image (besides Mr Natural, of course) was Mickey Mouse as the Sorcerer’s Apprentice. 🙂 I loved that! (The acid wasn’t bad either.)

    The Obama acid probably comes at a high price, lots of intense build-up and flash early on… then only performs in a relatively mediocre fashion, leaving you with a ferocious hangover wondering what was I thinking?

    Afghanistan-shaped blotter next!

  6. 6 burpster Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Blotter was called “bar acid” when I was a kid. It was mostly very weak and not smooth. I would imagine the Obama blotter is about the same.

  7. 7 JJ Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Bruce – Yeah, I wouldn’t mind having a T-shirt with some of that blotter art. Some of it was excellent.

  8. 8 JJ Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    FF – Last time for me was about 15 years ago, enjoyed it immensely but… time to pack it in!

    My earliest memory of blotters (70s?) is of crudely-drawn peace symbols and stars — the most exotic one I can remember was the 3-eyed toad… nothing like they have today. Gotta love technological advances.

    ETA – Microdots! I couldn’t remember what they were called, but that’s what people were doing when I first started doing acid, before blotters… purple microdot, etc.

  9. 9 JJ Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Shade – Don’t worry, most of us probably don’t do it anymore (at least I don’t).

  10. 10 JJ Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Daisy – Funny, for some reason I don’t recall seeing a lot of blotter acid back in the day… “windowpane” was most popular where I’m from. Or maybe it’s just the brain damage 😯

    I did acid a lot back in the day, and I can’t recall ever having a bad experience with it. It always put me in a good mood — later on when my main drug of choice was alcohol, I would often do a little cid to put me in a good mood and offset alcohol’s depressive effects (and keep me awake longer). Some of my friends thought this was a bizarre combination, but it worked for me.

    Egads, I should be dead 😆

    ETA – I just re-read your comment and it finally sunk in… early flash, mediocre performance… 😆 Well done.

  11. 11 burpster Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Micro-dots that I can remember were called Orange Double Barrel, Pink or Orange Berkeley (personal fave) and Purple Haze. The Berkeley’s actually came from the campus down south in fruit jars of 5000-/+ hits. Thankfully those days are long behind me.

  12. 12 Janus Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Well, the lightbulb over my head finally lit up, and I just realized y’all are talking about drugs!

    😳 In my day, “blotter” had to do with leaky fountain pens and ink.

    I’m old…

  13. 13 Reality Bites Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Janus, you can just as easily claim you’re too young.

  14. 14 Shade Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Don’t feel too bad Janus I didn’t get it immediately either until I saw the bit down the bottom of the picture that said LSD. I thought it was blotting paper like you did at first.

  15. 15 Janus Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    It said LSD? Soonamagoon, so it did…

    I need new glasses, too! 😆

  16. 16 bleatmop Thursday, December 3, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    I was scared off hard drugs early on (in high school) when I met a friend of a friend’s dad. He was in med school and tried to make his own acid then fried his brain on it, or so the story goes. He was a charity case employee at the local pipeliner company ever since. I always thought that no high could be worth even the remote chance of that happening to me.

    Not judging or anything, just sharing my experience.

  17. 17 JJ Friday, December 4, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Whoa! Getting a contact high from this thread…

  18. 18 JJ Friday, December 4, 2009 at 10:37 am

    bleatmop – That’s good. Although I have no regrets (well, I have a few, but then again, too few mention), the Interior Voyage is not for everyone. There are better trips to take.


Wait. What?




Mac Security Portal
Rose's Place
Blogging Change

Incoming!

  • 646,986
[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]

Archives